Fiction logo

Bleeding Red

Fantasy

By Amber ZajecPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
5
Bleeding Red
Photo by Cassi Josh on Unsplash

As I was being dragged onto the plastic cover everything faded and I awoke to a dark eerie sky. I was unaware of where I was or who I became. All I knew was that I was surrounded by damp brick that stretched up to the starless night sky. I was laying on the ground as if I had fallen from the heavens. My body twisted and turned while pain blossomed in every joint. I turned my head and looked towards the light and saw that I was in an alley and I didn’t live in this city. And this city was unlike any I have ever heard.

It was filled with the sounds of music and enchantment. I tried to raise but a searing pain hit me in the gut the moment I tried to stand. My joints tightened from the pain that released from my stomach. But I pushed through and made my way to a standing position, my body fully leaning on the blue brick wall. Using the cold damp brick as a support, I made my way to the streets.

The streets were filled with people of different species. All dressed in vibrant colors and full skirts. Everyone seemed regal and important, not a single scuff on a shoe or a loss thread. But that was not even the strangest part, the people here had the blood of gold and copper. I do not know how I knew but I was able to see it through their skin to the very blood that flowed through them. Whatever they were, they were not human, at least not a normal human. Now, in the white light of the street lamp, I looked down at the pain in my stomach to see red seeping through my shirt and decorating the street with small red blotches. I was stabbed. But from what or from whom I do not know.

Not knowing the world or how I got there I walked to the street, sticking to the shadows. They must not know that I bleed red. The streets were lined with the lights of life. All the colors of the universe came here to light these streets. The consultations in the once starless sky danced among the blanket of black. Dancers on the street held fire within their palms and the children road waves of water as if it were a skateboard. People with great wings of many colors landed on the streets. People laughing, drinking, dancing, and flirting. The impossible was possible here, but how.

How, was the question. How was I stabbed? How did I get here? And what is here?

I walked through the streets admiring the small little shops full of trinkets, gems, and books in a language I can not comprehend.

My feet found their way to a red door. Which appears to be the only door on the street. Limping in pain I pushed through the door that vibrated and oozed the essence of something unknown. When the door fully opened I was greeted by a man. He was tall and built with white curly hair that balanced delicately on his broad shoulders. Which were decorated with military medals, that laid proudly on his uniform that was stitched out of blood red and fiery orange. His eyes were a frozen blue and sent dark chills down my spine and stopping in my chest.

“I was wondering when you would return.”

His voice was as cold as the eyes that looked down on me. That is when I started backing out to leave, then a hand covered my mouth. I would have fought but I was too weak, the world once again faded to nothing. And all my questions are still unanswered.

Fantasy
5

About the Creator

Amber Zajec

I have always loved the art of story telling. The magic of words and how they can create new worlds and people.

Please help me out with a tip or pledge so I can continue my passion for writing.

Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarzeabout a year ago

    I found dark and whimsical

  • Billie Zajecabout a year ago

    I want more to this story. LOVE IT!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.