Fiction logo

The Tangled One

A Rapunzel retelling

By Amber ZajecPublished 9 months ago 14 min read
1

"Rapunzel. Rapunzel. Let down your hair that I may climb the golden stair." (Grimms fairytales)

A phrase said by the many knights that have come to rescue the fair maiden trapped in the tower. All so naive as to why there is a tower in the first place. Dear Rapunzel is not trapped but is imprisoned in the tower, waiting for a knight to finally enter and offer her their blood so she can break free. And I, Sonne Hexenjäger, am tasked to protect the wondering knights from entering that dark tower.

My family has been guarding the tower for two hundred years. The first daughter of the Hexenjäger bloodline is gifted with the magic needed to protect the knights from the dark lure of Rapunzel. My mother often talks about why Rapunzel is trapped—a cautionary tale on why I should never enter the tower and why I must steer the knights away.

The story of Rapunzel starts as a child. More specifically, the golden child of the King and Queen of Das Ende. She was born with golden hair and enchanting green eyes. The child's beauty was said to be a sight to behold, enchanting many before learning the power of words. As the child grew older, her enchantment only grew. Drawing in other countries to witness this child's beauty. One night my great-great-grandmother, my Oma, walked past Rapunzel's room and said the child was using magic. And not the witchcraft that I was taught but dark magic. The child grew into an adult and formed great control over dark magic. The kind that makes kingdoms fall and rivers run red.

With this knowledge, my Oma notified the King and Queen of what she witnessed, and they refused to believe their golden child would do such evil. As the King and Queen dismissed her accusation, she came here. To the forest of Verloren, where started on the construction of the tower. One way in and no way out except if one carries the blood of a Hexenjäger. Once the tower was built, she waited and watched Rapunzel grow more and more powerful. She was patent, waiting for the perfect time to strike. Being influenced by dark magic, the King and Queen grew power-hungry. The once peaceful leaders are now going to war with neighboring countries that have been at peace for years. Rapunzel would lead these armies blood driven armies. Attacking with no mercy and returning with the severed heads of the fallen King and Queen grasped in her hand.

On the night of the blood moon, my Oma overheard the King, Queen, and Rapunzel discussing a great battle soon to change the world. The details of the words exchanged have been lost through the years, but my mother says that my Oma was terrified. She knew that if she did not end it that night, the world we know now would be different. The night of the blood moon, she choose to act. When the castle fell asleep, she kidnapped Rapunzel and locked her in the tower. The next day she went to the King and Queen to help them search for their lost child. But when they eventually found the tower, they could do nothing. The magic used to create the tower to strong to break. Rapunzel is imprisoned, preventing the darkness that she planned.

The story changes as the years turn to centuries, and the magic that contains the golden child grows weak. But as the first daughter of an Hexenjäger, I will protect those who wander close to the tower and yell those words. Protect them from Rapunzel and the dark magic that will be released, for all Rapunzel needs is the blood of a saver to free the chains of the tower.

"Hey, Sonne, staring at the tower again."

I look above me to see my brother, Regen hanging upside down from the tree. He's two years older than me and just joined the military's army to fight off foreign intruders. They have broken through the first lines and are now carving their way to the capital. And our little village is a pit stop to the capital, so guarding the tower is even more critical. His raven hair, once long, now short ready for his departure tomorrow. Despite his bulky form, he jumps down from the tree, landing softly beside me. "You know, technically, you don't start protecting the tower tell tonight, right?"

I look at the dark tower and the green light pooling from the windows. The thick blackthorn bushes are slowly eating away once lush grass at the tower's base. It's as if the tower cannot fully contain the evil it holds within its walls. "I know. I'm just excited. It's my first night by myself."

Tonight's the night my mother is finally allowing me to guard the tower without her present. It's a huge responsibility I've been working for for the past five years. And now, I have finally been given the opportunity to prove that I can guard the tower that my Oma has built to protect the world from the darkness that lives within. I will not fail.

The smell of garlic and herbs wafts through the air indicating that dinner is about to be served. Regen ruffles my hair, and I swat his hand away. "Come on, Little Sun, let's get you some food before your first shift."

I smile at the nickname he gave me when I was a child. He gave me the nickname cause of my hair. My entire family is all born with raven black hair. But I am gifted with red roots. Blood red at the roots, fading to the darkest nights at the ends. It's as if my skin is too hot for my own good. Being a fire witch would do that. I am from a long line of witches born within nature. Witches powerful enough to move mountains and grow towering trees. But I am the first to be born of fire. When my power awoke, I torched my classmates' hair because she was teasing me about my hair color. After that, my mom thought it best to homeschool me.

Going on my toes, I swing my arm over Regen's shoulder. "Do you know what's for dinner tonight?"

Regen gives me a playful smile before wrapping his arm around my shoulder. "I believe that mother is making your favorite."

My stomach smiles, and my mouth waters at the thought of my mother's homemade hazelnut soup and freshly baked bread. But before I can respond, a piercing scream breaks through the trees sending the birds flying into the air. The world tilts as the carefree air shifts into something more sinister. Darkness coils around my vision as Regen and I share a look. The shadows in the forest grow as a chill takes over the warm autumn air.

We take off, running toward the sound. The smell of smoke hits my nose all too soon. My heart is launched to my throat as we tear through the forest. Branches snapping under our feet like bones, breaking free of the last of the trees only to freeze in our tracks. Horror like no other has descended upon the small village of Verloren. Men draped in gold armor on white horseback waving the flag of Corona. Our foreign enemies. They have broken through the latest defense, and now my village is on fire. Flames lick high above the tiny wooden homes. Mothers scream for their children as they are ripped from their arms and thrown into cages.

The men and women of the village fight back, but none are true warriors. My magic hums beneath my skin, demanding to be used. I will melt the very gold that dresses King Midas's men. I see my father run out, sword in hand, as he strikes a knight killing him just before the knight takes the crying child. The kid runs to his mother, and my father returns to the fight. Trained with only the basics, he goes against the second knight.

This knight is dressed the same as the other, except he has chosen not to wear a helmet. His sandy brown hair is speckled with blood and ash. His dark eyes gleam with joy as he takes in the carnage around him. A single scar runs across his face. The scarred knight swings his broad sword, a joyful smile spread across his face, and a spray of red flies through the air. My father stills, and time slows as his head slowly falls off from his shoulders. A silent scream escapes my frozen body. Fire licks my hands as I call forth my flame. I march forward to take the justice my father deserves. But I am pulled back into the tree line and forced to my knees.

I growl at the enforcer only to see my brother. Fear has taken over his once calming blue eyes. They are now vast and brimming with water as genuine fear takes hold of his body. But just as fast as it came, it goes. Giving me my brave brother back, but I am not as brave as him. My chest shakes from the bloodshed that I just witnessed. I feel as if I have lost a limb. My kind father dead. Killed in the most brutal way possible. I will never hear his voice again; worse is that I can not remember the last thing he said to me.

"Regen, what are you doing? They killed father." My voice comes out broken as my eyes burn with the tears I refuse to shed.

Regen's grip on my shoulders tightens as he pushes me deeper into the damp soil. "I know." He shouts the words at me as the truth of every seep in. My life has changed forever in a manner of seconds. "Sonne, you can't use your magic. They will take you. They have a powerful sorcerer on their side." His voice though he tries to hide it shakes.

My curiosity getting the better of me, I peek over the bushes, searching for this so-called sorcerer forcing me to stay hidden instead of burning the knight that killed my father. My eyes roam over the white horses for the so claimed powerful sorcerer, landing on the one man dressed in dark robes, his hood covering his face. The only color on his person is the large purple stone at the top of his staff. My body grows cold, and my breath forms in front of me. Bone-deep shivers rack through my body as I witness dark coils of smoke pour from the stone, creating a horse made of shadow. It should not be possible. The magic of that caliber should have dead two centuries ago. Regen pulls me back down before the sorcerer sees me.

"Sonne, you have to run. Far from here." My brother's voice breaks through me, and I meet his eyes. Terror slowly creeps through my blood at the thought of running from my family, home, and justice. I need to kill the scarred knight. I am shaking my head no before I answer. "I can't leave you."

"You're not leaving me. I will get Mom and meet you by the Goldene Blume." Memories of Regen and me running across the Goldene Blume come crashing through me. Memories of us as kids running across the iron bridge decored with golden lilies. Us picking as many as we can carry and bring them home to Mama. It's as if my brain believes that this is my last moment with him. My arms wrap around him as he immediately wraps around me in a hug that feels all too finale. I pull back; tears finally betray me and trickle down my cheeks. Regen wipes away the fallen tears and rests his forward against mine. His words whisper, and I hold on to every vowel as the answer to life. “Die Wahrheit wird dich befreien.” Then he is gone, the sound of his sword begging released echoes into the depth of my soul.

I don't hesitate as I sprint deep into the forest. The forest takes me over jagged rocks and overgrown roots, but I've lived in the woods all my life. I know every single nook, cranny, and imperfection. My body grows numb with frostiness. It creeps out of my heart and reaches my hands and eyes. I feel the tears on my face freeze as the fire within me slowly dies. The burning fire that has been with me is gone, taken by that scarred knight. My feet carry me faster and faster with a destination planned within my head, but I'd never reach the Golden Blume. Instead, my feet skid to a halt in front of the tower. Its dark brick drinking in the remaining sunlight. My feet carry me to the hidden door at the back. Disguised as vines climbing up the tower, invisible to all those that don't have Hexenjäger blood.

I reach for the hidden door with shaking hands as I release what I am about to do. I am about to release Rapunzel, hoping her dark magic can save my village. Grief has taken hold of my body as I acknowledge that my brother, Mama, and father are now gone. I am alone as I look up at the twilight sky, frozen tears cracking on my cheek. "Oma, I am so sorry. Please forgive me."

I push open the door, magic kisses my fingers, and warmth seeps through me. My frozen tears fall free as the door melts away, revealing a set of dark stairs. I step forward. No going back now. My body trembles as I take the black marble stairs. The dark stone carries a green light that illuminates my way. I feel my Oma's spirit kissing my cheeks as I walk farther and farther up. Trekking the stairs to the imprisoned maiden, I feel no ill will or anger, only encouragement. A dark door with a giant dragon-shaped lock comes into view. I recite my brother's words as I reach for the handle. “Die Wahrheit wird dich befreien.” The truth shall set you free—strange words to offer someone when death has just been witnessed.

My fingers wrap around the dark metal, and a loud click echoes through the tower. The door slowly slides open, scrapping against the hard floor. My heart is pounding unevenly, and I push back my tears as I prepare to beg the maiden inside for help. I slide into the room before the door fully opens, and my jaw drops. The room is bigger than it appears from the outside. There is a large bed dressed in over a hundred pillows, all different shades of the forest. Murals of mountains, rivers, towns, and cities are painted on the walls. All so life like that I could walk through them. Dark armor hangs on the wall alongside many weapons on the other side of the room. Swords, knives, and bows and arrows. A guitar rests on the side by the windowsill with cushions as if one sits and plays while looking at the view. The smell of hazelnut tickles my nose. My eyes move to the small kitchen with pot stewing on the table with an enchanted flame below it.

I move through the room, careful not to disturb anything. This is not the room of an imprisoned maiden but the home of one. It's cozy, warm, and full of life, unlike the dark magic Mother has described and warned so often. The sound of some whistling carries from the back room, and I drop to hide behind the bed. The whistling gets louder as Rapunzel enters the room. I feel my heart rattle in my chest, and I try to call forth the flame that lives within me, but it is still too dim, too broken from witnessing my father's death.

I look up from my hiding place but can not see anything. But what I do see is that I have left the door open. The dark space the door gives is a black hole in this carousel of colorful paintings. I move to the door slowly, but Rapunzel moves again, pressing my body against the bed as she comes into view. My eyes play tricks on me as I see not a maidan but a man walk to close the door, not walk out. The man is tall with a brood tan back littered with white scars. Golden hair hangs past his shoulders in light waves. His black pants ride low on his toned waist, and his feet are bare on the lush green carpet. He shuts the door and turns to me with a smile on his face. His eyes glow green as he takes me in—an intruder within the privacy of his own home.

"Hello." His voice is deep, with an accent that hangs on the vowels. "My name is Rapunzel. What's yours?"

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Amber Zajec

I have always loved the art of story telling. The magic of words and how they can create new worlds and people.

Please help me out with a tip or pledge so I can continue my passion for writing.

Thank you

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.