Fiction logo

Beaux

A short story

By Chriss WambuaPublished 2 years ago 30 min read
Like

Beaux.

Copyright © by Ashley Benjamin Bomani 2019. All Rights Reserved. ®

Beaux is a work of fiction. The characters, incidents and dialogue are drawn from the author’s imagination and are not to be construed as real. While reference might be made to actual historical events or existing locations, the names, characters, places and incidents are either the products of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously, and any resemblance to actual persons living or dead, business establishments, events or locales is entirely coincidental.

—When twenty year old Beaux Merlin was just about to begin figuring out her life in the big beautiful city of New York, she's faced with different challenges-and also, the unexpected love interest. Question is, is Beau ready for them?

When faced with a daunting encounter, Beaux Merlin starts over, figuring her life out in the big city of Manhattan, New York. Although, in the midst of it all comes an “unexpected” love interest from Dion Robinson.

Table of Contents

chapter un. (2,000 words - posted on wattpad - @eastafricanbaby).

chapter deux. (1,700 words - posted.)

chapter trois. (1,695 words - posted.)

chapter quatre

chapter cinq

chapter six

chapter sept

chapter huit

chapter neuf

chapter dix.

chapter: un.

THERE WAS NOTHING MORE PRETTIER in life than the sight of a pale crescent moon.

How ancient it looked once it blended with the sky and the stars. How the dark clouds brushed past it and more importantly how deep it made me feel. The whole sky itself was a myth, one that was longing to be uncovered and it was the only one that I deeply adored. It had always kept me up in thoughts of life and how it would eventually turn on me someday.

It made me think about how everything would switch within time, beyond life and all its glory. Just like the cold, built city of New York. Architecture from side to side, narrow filled roads, hot yellow taxis, and business people bustling with loud murmurs in the streets. The smell of fresh air blended with the caffeine from bakeries. High fashion stores like Calvin Klein, Cartier, and Alexander Wang. The elegance of wealthy families, magnificent billionaires and spoilt teenagers. Lofts, and public parks. Yet from where I lived those highlights of the city were far away, however, the views of them were always present. Although, there was one thing that was something to remember from where I was. It was that nobody could fool you in these streets. And nobody was to be messed with.

My entire gaze was on the night sky. It gave me an abundance of feelings. A rush of nostalgia. “Go to sleep, Beau.” A familiar voice said in a raspy-sleepy tone.

My thoughts seemed to have quivered me away from the fact that I was sleeping with my sister tonight. The outside had always given me a magnetic pull. A pull to adventure, freedom, and love. I had a need for it. The desire to uncover it all.

I whispered, “I’ll be right back.”

Getting up from the squeaky bed, I dodged my sister's end of the bed, and walked over to the door and quickly paced up the stairs. The darkness was somewhat comforting and usual to me. Living in a one bedroom-bathroom home had its perks or so I thought. I opened the next door that lead to the apartment hallway. The place reeked of utter filth and dust; white lights dimmed; green faded walls were dirty. Those dimmed lights had shown the view of my pale brown skin to sight. But nothing crawled up inside of me yet. The brown carpet below was dusty, ragged and everything naturally smelt bad. It was like one of those horrific scenery views. Because this was where I started my life. I plunged over to the outside door, goosebumps tickling my arms as soon as I twisted the doorknob. With the less clothing I had, sweatpants and an old T-shirt, the season of cold weather had blasted through me with full force.

“C-crap,” I stutter a curse under my breath. It was freezing. But then again, at this time of the night, it was expected.

“Hello my little princess,” a mellow, masculine voice appeared as soon as I stepped out of the room. He murmured, sending shivers up my spine from his voice. From his tone I realised how it seemed as if he was almost waiting for me to appear. The thought sent shudders down my back.

“W-who are you? Who-o’s there?” I turned around and asked my breath rapidly increasing. The door slammed shut from behind me, causing a loud bang and frightening me. The dim light from the inside seemed unviable at this point and the only visible thing was two shadows, crammed against each other. The bronze-colored lamplights of the streets were blinking from time to time, making it even harder to see. My arms found myself covering my chest defensively. Because of the darkness, I couldn't work out who the man was. He was a giant, hovering over my petite self. The stench of alcohol lingered all over his metallic scent; a flash of disgust waved over me. His feature took a step closer to mine, causing me to move backwards. My bare feet were now in contact with the cold concrete street.

Still moving towards me, he growled in frustration. “Come to me,” he demanded.

“S-stay away from me,” I stuttered. I was terrified to my bones. The neighborhood was absolutely dead at this time of the night. No percent of screaming could get you help. And from that point, I knew I was in a load of crap. His huge hand seized over my wrist, yanking my entire body weight against his own. I shrieked out, unaware of how accelerated he was. His head dug deeper into the base of my neck, nostrils smelt my skin. I screamed out of the bottom of my lungs. The stranger was about to rape me. I could feel it. Retreating as much as I could, I attempted to launch forward, whilst he quickly dodged my escape, twirling me back and allowing my back to connected to the red bricked wall. It's still pure utter darkness.

I pleaded. “Please,”

His grip on my wrist tightened, a smutty smile lingered on his lips. I felt his body grind against mine disgustingly. His nails dug deeper into my shirt ripping it open, allowing the other hand to shoot up to my mouth. Hovering over it whilst I attempt to cry out. Tears swim in my eyes. This was it. He continued to tear out my shirt, the hem of the shirt now hanging towards the base of my stomach. He gently said emphasizing each word, “You are a very beautiful girl, Beau.”

“I've been watching you for a long time now.” He whispered again, his wet drunk lips connecting with my skin. I felt goosebumps form on my upper body which was now revealed to the darkness, the cold and to the man. Emphasizing on every bit of his words, tears spilt out of my eyes. He released my bleeding wrist, leaving me to clutch my hand when I could. His free hand clasped my shoulder tightly, tugging on my bra strap, snapping it open. Blood oozed out of my wrist. I felt powerless and fragile. My muffled voice didn't change the fact that a stranger was now actually going to rape me.

“Hey! Let go of her!” Another random masculine voice shouted. Out of the blue, came another random man, with good intentions, I secretly prayed. The man stiffened against me, only turning his head towards where the other guy stood, although all I could really see was his silhouette as the street lights blinked again. He stood there, facing the other guy that shouted at him. A ray of hope flashed over my heart.

He spat back, “What did you say?”

“You heard me. Loud and damn clear.”

Once the big broad man released hold of my mouth, his body turned towards the other guy—my rescuer. He rushed quickly towards the other guy, making my petite self-turn on the spot. Managing to balance myself, I watched the fight in front of me. Fists and growls appear into sight, but I refrain by covering myself with my hands quickly, hugging my bare skin with the piece of clothing left on me. My feet were stuck on the concrete ground, unexplainable how I couldn't move. This was my chance—to run. Paranoia struck over me, little pecks of deep crimson liquid destroyed the clothing I had. Hearing a slight amount of ringing in my ears, the bells rung softy then all at once like complete chaos.

● ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ●

Drip, drip, drip.

The liquid drips on my shirt. Black spots filled my gaze. The blood that oozed out of my wrist was an awful lot. I stood there until I felt nothing but a pang of my energy absorbed out of me. A feeling of sticky sweat trickled around all parts of my body, a feeling of lightheaded-ness and abrupt nausea waivers all over me. Until I notice, I'm shivering, bleeding, and only darkness waved my view. I’m only startled to awakening in a new environment. My body feels weaker than it was before. I blink several times to make out the room I'm in. This time I'm greeted with a loud beeping noise and wires stuck on my right hand. Bedsheets cover my arms and legs and I'm warm—warmer than before. My breathing is enhanced by a plastic see-through pipe through my nostrils. “Beau?” My sister said, her hazel orbs filled with sorrow in them.

I opened my lips to speak but no sound comes out of them. My eyebrows knit together in confusion, eyes stinging with tears. Before I realised it, I'm crying. I watch as my sister clutches my hand tightly, tears bursting out of her eyes. “I thought you died, beau.” She says as her voice cracks.

Lyra Bernadette Merlin was the most beautiful girl I had ever laid eyes on. She had wavy dark brown hair almost like chocolate, always slicked back tucked tightly with a hairband, her baby hair tugging on the bridge of her forehead curling in different directions. She often complained about them and always threatened to shave them off. Her skin looked kissed from the sun—brown by default and it always made her shiny, making Lyra someone naturally to look twice to. One thing that I adored about her physical features were her eyes. The piercing hazel eyes that were almost too identical to our mother's eyes. They glowed with hope and courage that would always get me so allured. As a child, I always looked up to her. She always had an alarming sense of bravery, confidence and grace.

I stuttered, “I would n-never leave you, Ly.”

The hazel eyes that were once filled with so much hope in them were now glaring at me. Lyra looked broken. Almost like it wasn't her. I couldn't identify this person in front of me. I was finally seeing a side to her that I really never knew existed. Lifting my hand up, I graze her face wiping her tears. She blinks and inhaled sharply once my hand touches her face, Lyra smiles sadly. Our brief moment of sentimentalism is short-lived once a middle-aged woman barges into the room. Dressed in scrubs, her vibrant red hair falls perfectly on the base of her shoulders, green eyes fixed on the notepad held in her hand. Noticing how it had a hospital emblem on it, I realised that she's a doctor. Squinting, I can make out from her nametag that her name is Doctor Charlie Greene. Lyra releases the grip on my hand and walks towards Dr. Greene. The doctor's gaze is fixed on me until she pulls Lyra’s arm to a small corner of the room. I can feel my palms begin to sweat.

The room is pure silence with hushed tones speaking and echoing amongst each other. For some absurd reason it gets harder and harder to make out what they are talking about. Silently, I keep watching wearily how Lyra’s facial expressions change as Dr. Greene chatters to her. My stomach drops instantly.

Is something wrong with me?

They finish their talking and finally return attention to me. Dr. Greene says nothing but flashes me a small sad smile and storms out of the room, slowly closing the door. Lyra’s attention is simply fixed on the white tiled floor. This worsens my insides. I feel a wave of nausea, followed by a slight sting on my wrist. The horrible images of that man flash between my eyes once I glare at my wrist. My brown skin is now tainted with a series of colours. Most parts are green and purple with minor slits of cuts from the heavy grip of that-that man that attacked me. I flinch at the sudden thoughts, alarming my sister and snapping her back to her senses. Her attention on me has returned fully now, she paces towards me cupping my face and stroking my brown hair.

Lyra whispered, “You're going to be just fine, okay?” Something about the tone in her voice felt off. “Is something wrong with me?” I said, feeling my hands tremble in fear. A part of me felt worried about the uncertainty in her voice. Gazing into my sister's eyes in fear, she kissed my forehead and I feel warmth waiver all over me once again.

“No, sweetheart. You're okay. I'm here.”

chapter: deux.

I WAS RELEASED FROM THE HOSPITAL six days after.

There were episodes of tasteless food, blue-turquoise scrubs, late-night vomiting sessions and insanely bitter aftertastes of pills. A wave of nostalgia wavered over me once I was told that I've been discharged from the hospital and that I could finally return to my normalities and daily life. Although, I only came to realise what I missed the most the moment I stepped outside. It was the sky. Stepping out of the hospital, I was greeted by the mid-afternoon sky. It was painted Mediterranean-blue accompanied by an abundance of paper-white clouds. The sun was glaring from behind a cloud, a tinge of yellow and orange splattered all over. There was always something about the sky that made my heart feel inner peace. “Ready to go home?” Lyra asked, disrupting me from my thoughts and gaze upon the sky. I nodded slowly flashing her a closed-lipped smile.

Lyra slinged her arm around mine and we begin to walk a small pace towards the sidewalk. It's a beautiful afternoon in Manhattan. Truly, it was already the beginning of autumn and there was a view of trees with a foliage of a comforting dark green. The atmosphere felt very warm. It made my insides bloom, and if anything, I loved walking on the streets during the day. There was always so much to see and I'd get to admire the beauty of it all. As we walked, strangers walked passed us and in front of us, bustling and muttering in different tones. We walked in a soft silence passing through local parts of the city with its growing sprawl of buildings. The architecture was always so exquisite—large aluminium windows and transparent doors. There was so much to discover.

“How about we go have dinner at Larri’s restaurant tonight? I’m buying.” Lyra murmured and nudged me with her elbow, shiny honey coloured eyes glaring at me with a mischievous glint.

“You've already done so much—the hospital bills-I mean-” I frowned, because it was true. Between all those days I spent in the hospital, there's no doubt she's spent almost half her salary on bills. I mentally take notes to make sure I pay her back.

“Oh-shut up. You know I got you. Let's just go, stop thinking too much baby sis.” Lyra answered with a nonchalant gesture.

The rest of the walk was filled with thoughts until I was once again surrounded by the green musty walls of our apartment loft. The familiar smell of dust, and utter filth flared in my nostrils once again. I was so used to the smell because we had tried to get rid of it but it still existed. I'm greeted with comfort once Lyra twists open the doorknob to our room. We owned this little place for quite a while now—the environment was our own personal space. We had one king sized bed that Lyra bought with her first salary at her workplace-a make-up store at a local complex. A small TV, DVD player & stereo and old 90’s movies sprawled below, posters of different musicians that we both adored, along with a dresser with a mirror attached to it. Our little kitchen counter. This was our home.

I barged in walking firmly towards the bed beside the glass windowpane, letting myself fall on it, letting out a huge thud, releasing more of the aroma of lavender and clean bed-sheets.

“Oop-” Lyra shrieks at the sound. I stifled a laugh, covering my mouth from her reaction of the loud thud.She whined, “Stop laughing at me.” This time I really burst out of laughter. Wiping off a fake tear, I sit up from the bed, gleaming at my sister. She crossed her arms frowning at me. “It feels good to be home.” I said, biting the inside of my bottom lip whilst she smiles slowly and sits beside me. Lyra entwined our fingers together, staring at them. “I'm so glad you're back home.” She said, I let out a small sigh, smiling sadly at her. “Now let's get ready,” She declared, releasing hold of my hand and placing her hands on her hips.

It was a Saturday night, a day I preferred above all others, a day on which one might do as much or as little as one liked, or, to sit alone and think about the events of the week and the state of the world. Larri’s was a good place to be, for several reasons. The diner was customised and designed modernly, fluorescent lights that gleamed above the crimson red carved armchairs, polished brown round tables had been placed around the sides, and at the very far end, on a small platform was a place for musicians and bands to perform live music along with a jukebox at the very end. Rich colourful tapestries and ornately framed paintings were plastered on the walls. Secondly, there was a wide variety of cuisine served at the diner. It was certainly the best place to be on a Saturday night. As we walked into the diner, the atmosphere was almost mellow and chill. Soft jazz played in the background below the soft murmurs of strangers. Lyra already envisioned a whole outfit for me before I could even comprehend. She had a way better taste in fashion than me, so I couldn't budge. She laid out a white long sleeve turtleneck, black skinny jeans, a thick pair of golden hoop earrings with a black coat to match the jeans. It was more comfortable fit than something scandalous or glamorous for that matter. I'd never really be fond of going all out with what I'm wearing. I always told myself that the key is to express not to impress.

I decided to finish the look with a coat of mascara and a dark red lip, along with my brown hair slicked back into a low ponytail, I was ready for the night. It was genuine nights like these with my sister that made me forget the little things that often occur in our life. Growing up, we never had the luxury to go out in restaurants or buy particular clothes-mostly because we had no financial basis or ground. Our parents passed away at a young age. We only had each other. From the corner of my eye, I see how Lyra’s highlighter shimmers in a golden colour. It's almost too beautiful. She's wearing a black dress that ends right above her knees, showing off her honey brown skin, paired with a dark red coat—matching the colour of my lips. Her brown curls fell perfectly on her shoulders, a pair of thick gold hoop earrings similar to mine hang on her ears. The restaurant wasn't as packed as I thought it would be. My eyes adjusted to the dim light whilst Lyra leads the way towards where we usually sit whenever we came here. As we sat down at our occasional spot-my gaze caught the site of was happening outside the restaurant through the windows. A large, silver-coloured car, a Mercedes-Benz, had drawn up at the roadside. The windows of the vehicle were slightly tinted, but you could definitely make out that it was a man at the driving wheel. The man initially stepped out the car revealing his frame. He was dressed in expensive clothes; he looked as if he was in his late twenties. I drop my gaze immediately as soon as he walks into the restaurant as well, searching for a table. Suddenly there's an unfamiliar voice from beside me, and I turn my head to see who addressed us. It was a waitress, a young woman whom I'd never seen at the restaurant before. “Good evening, my name is Danielle, and I'll be your waitress this evening.” She said, flashing a sweet smile.

“Actually we'd like to order the-” I block out my sister’s talking and keep my gaze towards the stranger. I knew my sister would order for me. Why was he so intriguing? This time he was settled. I could somehow properly see his features this time. The man had tousled brown hair, he seemed to be of average height, dressed in neat-expensive clothing. His eyes the colour of a stormy sea were staring right at mine. Shit!

“Admiring from a far distance, are we?” Lyra’s amused voice interrupted my thoughts. I shook my head, unwilling to meet her eyes. It's only a matter of a few minutes after my small incident that the food is served neatly on the table. We settled ourselves at the table, and the waitress finished with freshly toasted bread with a chunk of margarine. She briefly leaves after we both murmur ‘thank you’ to her. The aroma of the food is alluring, Lyra’s stomach rumbled with mine.

I said with a laugh, “It's your turn to say grace.”

“Very well then,” Lyra said extending her hand.

● ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ●

Halfway through finishing our meal, Lyra excused herself to the ladies' room leaving me to eat alone and in silence. In spite of its relatively broad size, the restaurant was oozing with customers by this time. A low hum of activity, punctuated with murmurs and soft chatter, I could almost hear music that I was familiar with play beautifully at the midst of it all. “Beau,” Lyra’s deliberately soft voice interrupts my examination of the room and its contents. “There's someone I'd like you to meet,” She giggles, this time I turn around full-frontal to piercing blue eyes settled on me, teeth gleamed and pink lips visible. Enchanting eyes of a stormy sea.

He glares at me and-I breathe him in. I find myself drawing my knees upwards now standing in front of him. I stopped short, dizzed by his scent. It's strong cologne—that seems familiar but I can't recall how it does. He draws his hand towards me gesturing a handshake, whilst I stare at it completely oblivious to this. All eyes swiveled in my direction. My voice cracked from stress and disuse. I cleared my throat.

I blinked. “And you are?”

“Dion. Dion Robinson,”

He withdraws his hand and I realise how indecent I looked. I held my breath, tucked in my stomach and felt a wave of nerves rush upon me. Dion’s eyes flickered to me, a small smile escaping his lips. He nervously rubs the back of his neck. I gasp in horror after my sister's next sentence. “Beau, this is the guy that saved you.”

chapter: trois.

THE FIRST THING I FELT WAS A burning sensation on my chest. It was a feeling that I was familiar with, one that I had encountered several times as a child and in my current situation too. The air inside the restaurant suddenly became filtered, almost too little, and suffocated to me, and I quickly pushed past between the two people in front of me, storming off the way towards the exit. I made my way around the tables where strangers were seated, having their meal. I couldn't help but notice disgusted-glares as I passed in a rush. Outside, I enjoyed the sting of the cold air that hit my cheeks and the somewhat wintry peace. It was the crisp-type of air that just hits your face full frontal. The lights outside blinded my eyes but they were still so alluring. Manhattan at night had never looked so gloomy through my eyes before. Usually the sight of pretty lights, strangers on the street and the rush of cold air from a fast car would comfort me. Though, my vision is almost too blurry now, my eyes fail terribly to adjust to the light-tears welling up in them.

Applying more pressure from my teeth biting the inside of my lip, I tried my best to resist the urge to continue crying but I've already started and I can't seem to stop. A reassuring tone pleads out softly to me, “It's going to be alright, Beau.” A large hand clasped my shoulder lightly. I don't have it in me to turn my back around to meet Dion’s face, instead I’m letting the tears fall, and I’m sobbing. It occurred to me how the whole scenario of that night was a big blunder. The big moment of realisation hit me. I could hear all the voices in my subconscious awaken abruptly and question themselves in agony why a sudden stranger saved me that night-or why was I being attacked-why I even went outside in the first place-all these questions floated around my head. I despised the mere figment of having questions without answers to them, oh how tough it was to fill in the blanks. That man clearly knew me well enough, or so I'd hate to believe that was the case. It bothered my insides to know that someone took the time to plot such a thing.

“You're stronger than this,” Dion cooed, reassuring my thoughts.

“But you don't know that-you-you don't know me.” I breathed.

In a flash I felt his hands now clasping both my shoulders softly turning me towards him. His glimmering blue orbs are now exposed to my view, filled so much feige of innocence and concern. His eyes seemed so mesmerizing to look at. “I may not know you, but I know that somewhere, somehow, deep down you are a very strong person. Even the sudden act of you coming here with your sister-despite being so shaken up after the incident and staying in the hospital for so long-that shows strength, Beau. You had no fear in coming here tonight, you had no fear meeting me either. Don't you see how the very act of courage you've done has made you appear as strong?” Dion said, his fresh-cool breath trickling on my collarbones.

For a moment I felt unable to speak. There were no words lingering on my lips anymore, lunging forward I bury my head on his chest, wrapping my arms around him under his jacket as tightly as I could outside the restaurant, in between bustling strangers. Dion’s scent surrounded me in a form once he mirrored my action, hugging me back, and cradling me. It was a form that made me feel inner warmth. I was assured that the minimum amount of makeup plastered on parts of my face were utterly destroyed but the sinking feeling that was stored inside of me had now disappeared. The cologne that he had on was familiar to my nostrils. It was grassy and sweet, with a waxen smell that reminded me of summer. It was really you all along. My peace was fearlessly interrupted by my thoughts after the moment once they wandered to how a person could be this genuine, especially with how the world is like today. It was a rare occasion to witness an act of kindness.

I attempted to recover myself sufficiently to speak but my words come out as a slur instead, tears still rushing down my cheeks. Sniffing loudly, I'm silenced once Dion grazed my hair lightly, hushing me completely. My eyes were still screwed shut overwhelmed by the darkness of my sight and Dion’s patterned thudding heartbeat. Within a matter of a few minutes, I released the tight grip of Dion’s body on mine and wipe away the tears on my wet splooged cheeks. My body felt as though it might come apart with a puff of wind.

“Thank you,” I murmured softly, keeping my attention fixed on him rather than darting a look around. Glancing down at his grey V-neck undershirt, there's a large ‘round puddle of wetness just above his mid-stomach. My eyebrows furrowed at this sight of mess I just made. Guilt waivers over me at the view of it. I part my lips to attempt to speak but Dion interrupts, chuckling softly yet remarkably, blue eyes never leaving mine. “I'll take care of it, don't worry ‘bout it at all-speaking of which, d’mind if I drop you guys off?” He asks kindly in a nonchalant tone.

Deep down, a big piece of me appreciated his concern for ensuring we were home safe.

The soft purring sound of the engine of the Mercedes-Benz was therapeutic to my ears. I felt like I wasn't in a car—especially with the heater on and the comforting dark leather seats. I basked myself on the front seat of Dion’s car—hugging myself and clenching my black coat tighter against me. My view of him is more contrasted. Dion was beautiful, there's no doubt about that. Already gliding on the concrete roads of a busy Manhattan, I could hear a familiar musical tune rise and hum vividly in the background of the car. “Is this Labrinth?” I asked testily. Dion affirmed with a nod. “I didn't know you listen to British artists,” Grinning shyly at the petite victory, the small talk between us ended and I shifted my gaze towards the view outside. Lyra sat comfortably and somehow quietly in the backseat, until Dion struck a conversation and they happily engaged into one with my sister. I blocked their chatter out, letting my thoughts wander in a bliss. What seemed to continue boggling my mind the most was that strange man. The words he spoke, the way he acted. It disturbed me in so many ways to know that there was someone who was after me this whole time. And how at that specific moment he caught me off guard and at the point where I was most vulnerable. Outside, at 2:54 in the morning, and when the door locked itself behind me.

I knew that I was overthinking it, the situation was already handled by the police even though I couldn't recall anything that happened right before I passed out. It was all a big blur.

“How about you tell us something about your family?” Lyra said, her tone snapping with amusement. I let her words replace my thoughts. She low-key sounded like a high-school teacher with such inquisition. Dion chuckled nervously, shooting small not-so-secretive glances at me that I could tell from the corner of my eye. “I guess, I could tell you that I have a sister too,”

I chimed, “How old?”

Dion’s face softened, “She’s turning nineteen in May.”

I nodded, bringing my gaze towards him. Now taking the time to stare at his features. First, it was evident that he was quite tall even while seated—with the broad shoulders of an athlete. Appearing despite having a jacket on. Creamy olive skin and straight, dark bushy eyebrows settled over a deep-set of blue eyes that touched with flecks of green. They were more vibrant and visible once the headlights of a car flashed on them for a second. He had a perfect jawline, set with a soft and sensual mouth, naturally having a picture perfect smile. I liked the way some parts of his dark tousled brown hair fell on his face, tickling parts of his forehead. Dion’s features were almost too perfect and eerily symmetrical. It was no doubt that he was very attractive. The more reason for me to tear away my held stare on him before it was too obvious.

“Take a left here,” Lyra said, and Dion drew in a deep breath, turning the car towards the place. I let out a tired sigh, watching the white headlights of the car splatter the view of the loft’s entrance. The Mercedes came to an immediate halt afterwards.

“Would you like to come in for some tea or something?” She asked kindly, whilst unbuckling her seatbelt and opening the door to step out of the car.

“Thank you, but I should probably head home, perhaps some other time.” Dion murmured, shooting her a polite smile.

I shrugged my shoulders, climbing out of the car and letting the night breeze hit my body swiftly. We shut the doors slowly in unison, the tinted windows now forming the shadow of Dion’s manly frame. I walked up to the doorway, watching Lyra shove her hand and fidget in her bag in search for our keys. Dion opened his side of the window, looking straight at us.

His eyes darted from Lyra to mine. He stared down at me, flashing a boyish grin. “I guess I'll see you guys around?”

“Thanks for the ride!” Lyra exclaimed whilst looking over her shoulder. Her wavy brown hair hit her face. I simply chose to wave and twisted open the now unlocked doorknob that showed the view of the loft’s hallway. The same green walls brought back to life. I can hear a faint sound in the background that I assumed was the Mercedes pulling out of the driveway.

● ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ◐ ●

THE NEXT MORNING SEEMED to appear like a blur. It was one of those blissful mornings where you simply couldn't remember how you fell asleep the night before—but regardless of that, it was a good night sleep. The sun was already out blazing through the cream-coloured curtains, A sky full of clouds scattered apart all over. I could tell from the unnerving and unsettling silence that Lyra had already left for work. My eyes find themselves searching around the room catching sight of a neon yellow post it note on our fridge. Same old routine.

“Time to start the day,” I murmured under my breath. Yawning and stretching tiredly towards the bathroom, I stripped out of my night wear whilst walking. Finally I hop into the shower, a light brush of the somewhat bronze metal, cold water sprays on my entire body, looking down on my now damp hair. I groaned. Now it's going to shrink. Closing my eyes, I lift my head up towards the shower head, pushing away the strands of my brown hair on my face and allowing it to clash on my face full frontal. I could feel everything around me spin so suddenly and go into slow motion, as I opened my eyes back to reality. Catching my breath heavily, I quickly rinse myself off finally hopping off along with a towel around me, walking towards the mirror in the bathroom to see my reflection, slightly unbothered of my appearance. I grabbed my toothbrush and toothpaste, at once, brushing my teeth. Finally done with my fresh breath, fresh body, along with my blow-dried hair and skin coated in cocoa butter mixed with vanilla lotion, undergarments on. I walked out of the bathroom, dressing myself in a short sleeved white shirt, briefly tucking it in with black skirt, I slung my burgundy-coloured coat over my shoulders, locking the door behind me.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.