Fiction logo

Ayyaiah

/a-yeh-yah/ (noun) the anticipation that is experienced upon seeing a hint of light after having been in prolonged darkness

By ReileyPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Neolomicro Challenge
5
Ayyaiah
Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

Perhaps they got it from butterflies.

This idea that hope could still exist, even after you've been convincing yourself that it doesn't. I hadn't believed in it, and I didn't want anyone to try to convince me otherwise. I cut myself off from people, stopped finding joy in the activities I used to like, and just existed in a useless cycle of days.

Now I couldn't fully explain why I felt this way, but deep down I wondered: perhaps because there wasn't anything to look forward to. Everything was expensive, people were becoming uglier to each other and the planet, my job didn't lead anywhere, and if I complained about it out of frustration, the older folks around me told me to grow or toughen up.

So I sank.

It wasn't until weeks later when my cat licked my fingers and curled inside my arm, waking me up. She'd stayed with me every day in the dark, still seeking my affections. Because she chose to.

I then chose to do my own seeking within myself, knowing that I didn't have to mold to a world that took away my joy. Beauty existed somewhere out there and somewhere within me, despite it having been consumed or hidden in darkness. It was an idea that I desired to share with every other broken soul who might not have had a cat to serve as their beacon.

Such a liberating sensation.

Perhaps they got it from butterflies.

Microfiction
5

About the Creator

Reiley

An eclectic collection of the fictional and nonfictional story ideas that have accumulated in me over the years. They range from all different sorts of genres.

I hope you enjoy diving into the world of my mind's constant creative workings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Alison McBain5 months ago

    A stirring story - congrats!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    What a great concept! Nice work!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Congratulations on the runner-up win!!!

  • I love how your story both starts and ends with the same sentence. I used to have a cat but he passed away 2 years ago. So thank you so much for sharing this story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.