Fiction logo

Aye

Bliss is ignorance

By Mark CoughlinPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I lowered myself to my knees to install a length of edging along the sidewalk from my porch to

the driveway. It is a good feeling to find the moistness of the grass wetting my knee as I press down the decorative along the edge of the walk. As I go along, I pull clumps of grass-bladed sod that have extended over the side of the concrete, having impeded my progress. The soggy mud-encrusted clumps feel cool in my hands as I clear them. I imagine that I am renewing a connection to the good earth while I scoot my knees along, and reminding myself that a presence is ever with me. Twenty-five feet along and I stop to stand up and review my efforts. The edging is relatively straight, straight as the concrete of the walk would allow, but lumpy as it had not been completely flattened. I walked the line and tamped down the high spots with my foot, eyeing the line as I went along. I hoped my calming thoughts and attention to the detail of my project reflect well on my score.

Having been satisfied that this one side was done, I reached for the other length of edging, finding it is of similar length as the first. I aligned it to the further end of the first on the opposite side of the sidewalk, then proceeded to apply it in the same fashion. I wonder if Aye (as I fondly call him/her/it) is pleased with the care I am taking and how I am adjusting my attitude towards Nature. I took a moment to apologize to the grass I had to displace to install the edging, then continued my task, moving back towards the porch end, pushing then tamping it until it too is sufficiently neat. My thoughts were drawn to the link, normally unobtrusive in my mind but occasionally tingled as a sort of reminder that Aye is never far away. I had conducted a self-test once in a while to see if that sensation correlated to my score changes. I couldn't tell, and I dared not question the wisdom of remaining ignorant to the fact.

I got up from my work to admire what I had done. A sensation of well-being washes slowly over me, I thought it originated from my link, but again I decide to not push too hard to know. They say ignorance is bliss, and I am not the sort of person who would refuse such wisdom. Yes, the feeling is surely a reward for a job well done. I look around to review my surroundings, checking to make sure my neighbors are behaving themselves, at least to the level I maintain. It is only right and good that they observe the customary behavior to which we have become accustomed since taking our links. As far as I can tell, they are behaving well, except for that one just a couple of units down from me. I see him standing there, looking up. Does he not see the beautiful streaks in the sky that I do? I heard he didn't take the link, so he must be treated with the scorn he deserves. The young couple across the street signal respect as they walk to the autocar sent to ferry them somewhere. As I signal acceptance of their mating choices, I have a sudden urge to go check my score, but I tamp down that desire like the edging I installed. Self-love is discouraged and I will not be accused of such selfishness. Yes, the well-being washes over me again, as I humbly go back into the assigned living quarters. I hope that the efforts I conduct will reflect well on this household. To do otherwise will invite lowering of my social monitoring score and may take away the house privileges; entertainment, heat and food. I will not allow that, not in these quarters. Praise Be To Aye.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Mark Coughlin

Mark has been writing short stories since the early 1990s. His short story "The Antique" was published in the Con*Stellation newsletter in 1992. His short story "Seconds To Live" was broadcast in the Sundial Writing Contest in 1994.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.