Fiction logo

Autumn in the Mountain Country

Autumn in the Mountain Country

By Faygath FyaharhPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Top Story - August 2022
49
Autumn in the Mountain Country
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

  In October, I took the opportunity of a long vacation to visit my mother in the mountains.

  On a crisp morning, we set off from Xi'an by car. We heard that the Xiping Expressway was open to traffic, so we got on the expressway with a feeling of appreciation and feeling. After the toll station entrance of Xianyang Airport is the avenue of Xiping Expressway, a flat and new avenue across the second loess plateau of Xianyang, the green belt on both sides of the road can not stop the red and yellow apples hanging on the branches, the glory of the red persimmons, can not stop the corn, pears and dates and various colors of the attractive fragrance of flowers. When walking through Liquan and Yongshou, the fog was so thick that it was hard to see ahead and to the sides, so the car slowed down and moved slowly in the autumn fragrance. Some people say that the sky is against us, not allowing us to feast our eyes, I say that the sky is afraid that we are intoxicated with the beauty of autumn, the fragrance of autumn flowers, and let us focus on the trip. After Bin County into Changwu, the fog slowly dispersed into a line of white clouds floating in the blue sky, the golden sunshine spread the wilderness, the breeze blowing refreshing.

  At noon to the bottom of the six mountains, was fascinated by its graceful autumn scenery. Stopped at the halfway point of the mountain, looking up at the staggered, layered hills, pine and cypress interspersed with golden birch, willow, and red and yellow between the unknown flowers and plants, the Red Army Memorial decorated like a painting, the peak of Liupan Mountain to the blue sky, the abrupt abandonment to the history; mountainside red, yellow and green layers of tumbling, interspersed, various colors of flowers dotted among them, birds, wild peaks for their food, trees, and plants in the breeze swaying The trees and flowers swayed in the breeze, as if welcoming guests from afar, sending a fragrance of flowers and fruits that refreshed the heart. After photographing the mountain peaks, mountain scenery, and mountain scenery, we reluctantly hurried on our way.

  When we crossed the mountain beam and pounced on our long-lost hometown, a fresh fragrance came to our nostrils, the smell of the mountains, the smell of the ravines, the smell of the soil, the unique smell of the crops. It was so kind, so long and so fresh in my mind. I opened my arms to embrace the fragrance of the mountains, the autumn breeze, the fragrance floating; I shouted, the mountains, gullies, and ravines, the mountains are open, the mountain breeze silky. The sheep path to school in the past is not known who planted full of prickly dates, have disappeared. The bare mountain cap is already green and lush, an oily black tarmac road from the mountain beam coiled down, the mountain is my high school alma mater, pink and white new, three neat rows of five-story buildings and a wide court, replaced the forest chaos of earth houses and only a basketball factory large playground. I would love to go inside and listen to my teacher's teachings, but with the replacement of the school building my teacher has changed and I don't know where he is!

  My old home was just a kilometer north of the school, under the southeast hill. My three brothers and brother together to create the earthen tile house replaced with the same pink brick house and neighbors, but the ridge is slightly higher style chic, which is typical of the triad. I slowly and gently walked into the house, and my mother, who had gray hair, was sitting cross-legged on the bed and peeling bean sprouts. After seeing me suddenly standing in front of her, she stopped the work in her hands and looked at me for a long time, her face covered with vicissitudes and weathered by the years showed a smile of joy. I did not say a word, clutching the rough, old, warm hands, weeping tears.

  My mother is seventy-eight years old, has six sons and one daughter, and is one meter seven, the typical northwest big, small feet. When I was young, she often told the story of her small feet, it was not only popular and mandatory, but every girl wrapped her small feet, from the age of three or four years old with white cloth wrapped feet, too painful to walk, do not wrap not give food, and small as the beauty, called the "three-inch golden lotus", but also from time to time lift the feet for me to see, there is a sense of pride. But the small feet brought her more than just walking inconvenience. She came to this small mountain village surrounded by three hills from the village below the northern mountains, and together with my father, who had been a "rightist" for twenty-one years, she worked day and night for decades to support my poor family and my seven sisters. Nowadays, although her body is strong, she suffers from high blood pressure and takes medication all the time, so as a doctor, I can't often treat her personally, but just give her some medicine!

  My mother is uneducated, straightforward, cheerful, and never cared about anything. She said I don't have to worry about it, now life is better and people are free, before planting hard and having to pay taxes, now there is a seeder to top four times, not only do not pay the grain and receive subsidies; medical treatment can also be reimbursed, I also pay pensions; boil water with solar energy, cooking with coal and biogas, no longer need to sweep leaves, collect firewood; tap water comes as soon as it is turned on, no longer need to hang water from the well and ditch water; TV receives more stations than your home, but some I don't understand. I just don't understand some of them; look at the new variety of corn bunches on the shelf, the ears are long and the grains are big for the first time I've seen them; when I go around, I pull the milk sheep to graze on the roadside, the small what p3 is really big, it can hold dozens of Qin operas; she laughingly took it out to show me.

  "Modern things you will also use"? "Do not underestimate your old mother, my grandson taught". That smugness is something I have never seen before.

  In the mountainous countryside surrounded by three mountains, the autumn leaves of various colors cover the pink courtyard, clear and quiet; sickle-like thin clouds set in the blue sky, fresh and sweet; silk autumn breeze sends wisps of fragrance, mixed with the fragrance of the earth and the yell of farmers farming.

  Autumn in the mountain countryside is colorful, bountiful, joyful, and full of hope. My mother's body is healthy and strong, and her spirit is scintillating. I was relieved to leave the countryside where I was raised and nurtured. In the golden autumn, the time of light, jade, fruitfulness, harvest, and sowing of hope.

Short Story
49

About the Creator

Faygath Fyaharh

I can love you to death, can not love you to shame.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.