Fiction logo

Arrival

Microfiction Magic

By MusePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Arrival
Photo by Fabien TWB on Unsplash

Consider how nature reclaims its place, making tombs of once-thriving cities.

I arrived after the war and quickly learned why men feared the dark. It’s why my father took me out at night. No fear in familiarity, he’d say, securing another trap. Then They devoured him too.

Something snaps along the forest floor. I can hear their ravenous laughter even at a distance.

One on the left.

Another to my right.

I sink deeper into foliage, the trap ready. Consider: a girl bargains with fate for one more day.

Growling on the left.

Teeth to my right.

Movement all around.

Sci FiMicrofiction
Like

About the Creator

Muse

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.