Fiction logo

Aromescence

Aromatic Presence - The smell associated with a new emotional state / the physical sensation caused by someone's smell.

By Conor DarrallPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
10
Ooga-chaka (ooh ooh) - Hooked on a Feeling

She affected me like atmospheric pressure at first, almost a tickle behind the ears and heart.

14 years since we had met in person. Our odd-hours, online reconnection as much a dissociated dream as a reality; as much a theosophical possibility as a tangible life-path. A concept instead of a thing.

They had to help me to the back of the aircraft, where my chair was being unfolded. I was a few days out of surgery, the plaster still a prison, instead of a second skin. Painful humiliation.

We met at arrivals, and I needed a moment after the kiss to catch my breath.

Of course by then, I had experienced it, without knowing. Later, in the apartment, after silence together, I could identify it.

Human in weight, but much more intrinsic; delineated. A sensation like passing near a great mass in space, almost like superstition. I became aware of her aromescence as she reached behind me to grab her purse. I was in the wheelchair, and her neck, or some soft stretch of warm perfume, brushed my stubble. Static crackled in the hairs of my nostrils.

She was in my system.

Pain had been my companion; sluggish and bitter, and now...sensation became something beautiful and narcotic, something revolutionary.

The wheel locks snapped undone, and life opened. Points of immolation erupted in me with the smell of pomade, and deep forest, and breathlessness. Liberating and imprisoning. Her aromescence cast shackles on my grateful heart.

LoveShort StoryMicrofictionExcerpt
10

About the Creator

Conor Darrall

Short-stories, poetry and random scribblings. Irish traditional musician, sword student, draoi and strange egg. Bipolar/ADD. Currently querying my novel 'The Forgotten 47' - @conordarrall / www.conordarrall.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so phenomenal! Loved your word and story!

  • The Dani Writer6 months ago

    Well done and what a way to appeal to the senses!

  • Lena Folkert6 months ago

    I never expect anything but amazing from you, but this... stunning! I LOVE this word. Perfection!

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    Great word! Great story! 😊💕

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Superb word and story!!! Love it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.