Fiction logo

Answered

A nostalgic experiment in microfiction

By Zack GrahamPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
7
Answered
Photo by Leonardo Yip on Unsplash

The first anxious peep long before the alarm; just eyelids to start, but eventually through the blinds. 2AM, three, 3:30, four. No sign of what was promised the day before.

Go to bed and stay there, you're gonna miss the bus!

The echo of when nothing else mattered--nothing but that one day of freedom. Leaning against the musty backrest of the couch, wearing my underwear inside out as a superstition, begging the black skies beyond the window.

Please, please just fall and cover everything in sight.

The cry of the indolent.

We've traded the hot chocolate for coffee but our desires haven't changed. The pressure builds up until the temperature breaks, bottoming out to turn the rain into a sleepy white blanket.

The effects of this ritual are endless, but there's one priority that clears the top of the list. We called them snowdays when I was the boy slumped against the couch and praying out the window. Now they're called distance learning days, and I'm a teacher instead of a student.

My hopes remain the same; to stay in my pajamas as the morning goes by, unburdened by nothing but the beauty beyond my door.

To drink something hot and rich while I look out the window, tracing the paths of those who wander.

To bundle up and let the flakes kiss my hair as I leave a path of my own.

All districts dismissed this morning due to weather--students and staff be safe and enjoy your day!

Canceled.

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Zack Graham

Zack is a writer from Arizona. He's fascinated with fiction and philosophy.

Current Serializations:

Ghosts of Gravsmith

Sushi - Off the Grid!

Contact: [email protected]

Facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    As a teacher, I used to love snow days. Bloody brilliant. A true gift!

  • Brannan K.4 months ago

    Snow days were the best. They were a God send. Now I dread them because it just means vehicle crashes all day long. I wish I could relive that innocence again.

  • Megan Russ4 months ago

    What a beautiful dream we all have some times. Winter gives us that break we need.

  • Snow days. It takes a lot of snow over a lot of days for us ever to tire of them. (Like a pandemic's worth.)

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    Ahhh, snow days! I was hoping for one today, but we just got freezing rain and a fire alarm that had us stood outside in the wet and cold for 45minutes!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Beautifully painted thoughts, my friend! Here in the northeast, I’m wishing for a snow day myself. Thanks to El Niño, it’s highly unlikely, lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.