Fiction logo

Angel and Baby Parker

How we told our family.

By Niecee MayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
The horn we thought was a stone.

When something magical happens and you live to tell the tail sometimes things aren't received as well as could be hoped.

After the wonderous magical world was reviled to us and it was finally time to go home for the night, we said our goodbyes and headed home. A part of me felt like we should stay in the woods with all our new friends. Angel insisted we return home and tell Owen, our little brother. He was going to be so jealous.

"I cannot wait to see the look on his face when he sees these!" She exclaimed as we walked home.

"I'm worried someone is going to cry." I said.

"Who? Momma? Oh she'll be happy to see us and she is going to think it's pretend."

"Well exactly and then tell us to stop lying and take them off and then cry because she hurt us trying to get them off us." I stated, staring at her like she should have thought about this too.

She stopped walking and I sat next to her. We sat in silence for a few moments and finally she says, "We will figure it out on the fly. We always do. Remember when we told them this is what we wanted?"

"Of course I remember that, it was awful." I groaned. "'How silly it is to want to be something that doesn't exist'" I said, mocking momma. "'How creative our children are Momma. Silly girls with their heads in the clouds'" I said, mocking Poppa. "Owen though, 'I want to be a dragon-dog if you get to be uni-dogs!'" and we both giggled at the memory and started running home as fast as our paws could carry us.

When we arrived we agreed not to say anything right away and see who noticed first or if at all. When we walked in the door momma was quick to greet us.

"My beautiful girls, go wash up for dinner and help Owen set the the dishes out." She said while still preparing the meat.

"Momma it smells amazing and I cannot wait to eat!" We said in unison and then giggled on our way to the wash room.

"So far no one has noticed Baby, when do we tell them."

"I know but there hasn't been a lot of time so we still wait."

"O.K. O.K."

When we got back from the wash room we did as momma told us and helped Owen set the bowls out for dinner. I honestly think they all saw at dinner and just thought we somehow upgraded our false horns we often wore to play. We had normal evening conversations. Poppa started it by asking what we played today.

"We had so much fun, we met a herd of Unicorns and..."

"Fairies and Pixies even too!" I cut in, and we continued like this for a good hour, telling our tale. I think even though the story was true, they all thought it was just another imagination game we played in the woods.

"Where did these costumes come from anyway?" Asked Poppa. "They look really expensive. Momma did you make these or buy them and I just forgot?"

"Oh no I thought maybe your parents did." She responded.

"No momma this is all real, when we found the horn and Angel cast her spell we really changed. What do you guys mean by costumes anyway?"

"Your fur looks painted like a costume." Said Momma, running her paws over us and sniffing. "But it doesn't smell like paint." She said scrunching her snout a bit.

"We really met real unicorns and fairies Poppa! We really grew these horns too." Angel was saying and Momma laughed.

"Wait our fur changed too? So cool!" I said with a giggle.

Owen said, "I'm so jealous I wish I could have come today! You could have made me a dragon-pup like I want to be too!" This made Poppa laugh to.

Then Angel said, " I have an idea we will have to go back outside..."

"That will have to wait until tomorrow. Girls go take off your costumes and get ready for bed. Owen you too, bed." She said and shooed us away.

"We have to make them believe Baby!"

"No, we wait, if your idea is what I think it is for Owen, then they will have to believe us tomorrow."

"O.K. I see your thinking! You are the best sister! Owen is going to be so excited when we tell him!"

"Tell me what?" Owen asked when he caught up to us.

"That we should still be able to make you a dragon-pup." I told him.

"Baby I thought it was a surprise?" Angel wined.

"Not from Owen just from Momma and Poppa."

"Oh right. O.K. Owen since you seem to know we aren't lying and that this is all real, are you ready to hear my idea to change you?"

"Am I ever!" Owen exclaimed.

We talked about our plans all night, or at least until we all fell asleep and dreamed of doing exactly that.

To be Continued.....

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Niecee May

I'm a Mom of two boys, and I have a love of literature. I'm an open book and love reading and writing. I started writing around age 10. I like the term Dragon Mom as I hoard Books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.