Fiction logo

An Ocean of Stars

A journey across the cosmos

By Aiero HansonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

Nothing was entertaining about Space Industries or the content they felt necessary to teach. A program in which individuals specialized in certain fields such as navigation, proper handling of hyper-driven equipment, and piloting, became a sort of galactic sailor out in the open, naked space that encompassed us, on the planet Ondaria. It was - if nothing else - ordinary. Watching Professor Mckulkin pace from one end of the classroom to the other was making me dizzy, although they strongly advise against motion sickness of any kind before enlisting.

I still couldn’t wrap my head around how I’d arrived here.

"Just passing the Anquarius Galaxy, Captain. Home to the Cosmic Security Republic's mining planet, Anquaria Prime!" The projection display blared clear across the room.

"Roger that, Lieutenant. Adjust heading to 7-5-Niner-Niner-0-2-1-1, and decrease sublight engine speed to 40%."

"General, incoming transmission from CSR Planetary Defense Legion. It's Commander Hewitt of The White Glare!"

"Put him through, Holk."

Static erupts through the piloting hub as a red-tinted screen pings an enemy nearby, affecting the dashboard with grim party lights. A clear image of a human commander appears in front of Asher Nova, a general in the Galactic Freedom Battalion and lead of the capital ship, The Star Hopper.

"GFB Star Hopper, you are entering CSR territory. Turn around immediately, or we will engage."

"This is General Nova, and no. Unfortunately, we have come to claim this area for the Galactic Freedom Fighters. I suggest you turn around, and we might let you live."

A screech from the back of the room invaded my ears and I couldn’t help but turn around. One of the space cadets, Warren, had yet again poked and teased the sweet, innocent Gwyn. Professor McKulkin takes one stabbing look at Warren, who in turn smirks an evil smile I’d seen all too often in the rundown alley behind the academy. His glinting, twinkling eyes reveal more mischief as he steals a look at me before returning to his seat in the middle aisle, Gwyn shaking and covering her head and ears in sheer embarrassment. It wasn’t until her panicked, attention-seeking murmurs rolled over me that I zoned back in on the film.

In the projection, Captain Holk mutes the transmission.

"SR-20 fighters are on standby and General Mu'usen is ready to jump on your signal" He bellowed in a grave tone before unmuting the transmission.

"GFB Star Hopper, you have 2 minutes to comply. Turn around now!"

"May the stars guide you, Hewitt!"

Captain Nova ends the transmission with a slam of his fist on the console.

"Crew, defensive positions, all forces begin assault!"

"All squadrons, this is Captain Holk! Begin assault, I repeat begin assault!"

Over two centuries ago, the Cosmic Security Republic took control of the galaxy, and up until a decade ago, the Galactic Freedom Battalion began to rebel against the corrupt, oppressive government which overlooked the galaxy, and the ones neighboring ours. Through stiff, unrelenting laws and undermining the control of these galaxies and their inhabitants, this aggressive force quickly dominated overall rule, promising safety and sweetened with promises of ease of living; an offer too many people - between honest politicians to bankrupt criminals - couldn’t help but lend an ear to. History books entail that a small group of commonfolk - people like you and me - wanted substantial changes to be made towards the governing bodies, and stood up to the corruption with skirmishes on patrols which harassed towns and small cities of relatively low income, thus creating the GFB and its respectable forces as we know them now.

“Major damage to the starboard hull General! Shields are down in that section, awaiting recharge! Incoming! Brace for--” cried a frantic engineer through the display at an alarming volume. Professor McKulkin darts his eyes at me as if to share a secret message, but all I had to give him is a discomforted eyebrow raise.

He knew my father.

A moment later, I could sense what’s coming. Professor McKulkin paused the transmission, gesturing towards me with the remote. I felt the anger begin to bubble inside me, my whole body trembling with the tremendous force of the emotion, paranoia seeping into wounds invisible to me as the hairs on my arms and the back of my neck stand upright. Whatever background noise had been ongoing before had stopped. The slightest shift of weight felt as if the whole room would move with it in unison.

“I understand this next part might be hard for you to watch, Cadet Nova. If you’d like to leave the room--”

“Play it!” I interjected, like venom spilling off the tongue, my stomach and head drowning in hostile thoughts all too familiar.

Taken aback, a noticeable click of the device in his hand played the projection as various explosions lit the room like an ugly carnival, the class watching in an overwhelming long-awaited lull.

“Star Hopper is down! I repeat, we have lost the Star Hopper!” An SF-20 pilot announced through garbled words due to heavy static noise. “Mu’usen, you’re acting commander! Orders, Sir!?”

“Continue the assault! We mustn't let their sacrifice be in vain!”

The projection flickered as the lights enveloped the room with startling flashes, McKulkin thundered over the sounds of unbridled catastrophe being replayed, with an assertive tone.

“As you know, cadets, the GFB went on to capture Anquarius. This battle helped secure a swift victory for the war as it cut off much-needed supplies for the CSR forces. That is why we’re all in this seminar today. Your father was a brave man, cadet, remember that..all of you.”

With that final line digging to the shattered bits of my heart, I stormed out of the classroom. I know, more so than everyone, what my father’s sacrifice meant for our civilization..for our way of life! I just wish I can live up to his legacy.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Aiero HansonWritten by Aiero Hanson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.