Fiction logo

Always Pay Your Debts

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
12
Always Pay Your Debts
Photo by Angela Wolz on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. The man in the mirror was smiling at me.

"What the hell?" I said.

"You should have paid the entree fee to the fair. I'm here to teach you a lesson," the reflection said. I stepped backwards.

"How is this possible? What the hell are you?" I asked.

"You were told you were cursed. I'm your curse, welcome to hell," The reflection said.

"I thought I heard that old man mumbling. What exactly did he say?"

"Vei fi bântuit de reflecția ta până când îți vei învăța lecția," The reflection said.

"What does that mean?" I asked.

"It's an old Romanian curse passed down through the generations. It means I'm here to stay until I teach you a lesson," The reflection said.

"I'm sorry. You have to understand, the hole in the fence made it so tempting to sneak in. It's not my fault they didn't fix the fence. Yes, I probably should have at least paid for all the food I had and games I played. I wandered off after eating and playing, not realizing one of the carnival workers was following me, or that he knew old Romanian curses. That's on me, I apologize. Can we move on?" I asked.

"What kind of lesson would that be? Now you're being followed by your own living reflection, and there's nothing you can do, except pay your due. Or die," the reflection said.

"What do you want me to do? How do I break the curse?" I asked.

"Return to the fair, pay your fee," my reflection whispered.

"Wait a second, I'm going to say no. You're stuck in the mirror, what are you going to do about it. You're just a talking reflection. I'm probably hallucinating, the carnie just slipped me some drugs after he cursed me," I said.

"You've been warned," the reflection said. His face mutated, his skin melted off and he looked horrifyingly hideous. Then his hand reached out of the mirror and grabbed me, slamming my face into the glass. I fell to the ground. The mirror shattered everywhere. I stood up slowly, and was in pain. I looked in a shattered piece of glass and I had cuts and bruises all over my face. A trickle of blood was running down my left cheek.

"Stupid reflection. Your mirrors broken, what are you going to do now?" I asked. The broken mirror parts that were scattered about started drifting towards each other, and the mirror started repairing itself, the pieces melting into one another.

"Oh, crap," I said. The reflection in the newly restored mirror smiled at me, then loudly shouted "I'm back."

Then the reflection crawled out of the mirror.

"You'll never catch me, I'll never pay your fee. You had no right to curse me. I snuck in fair and square. Please leave me alone," I said, turned around and started to run. The reflection grabbed my shoulder with a powerful grip. He forced me to turn around and face him.

"If you’re my reflection, how are you stronger then me?" I asked.

"When you go to sleep, I work out at the gym," The reflection said.

"Really?" I asked.

"No, idiot. There is no gym in the mirror. I’m a curse, not a normal reflection. Now come with me and pay your debt," My reflection said. He was now standing in front of me. His breath smelled like a can of old tuna. Did my breath smell, I wondered.

"I’m not going with you anywhere. I’ll stand right…” my reflection interrupted me, grabbed me by the hair and started dragging me back to the fair. I was screaming for help, but people just stared at me.

“Why is nobody helping? I’m being kidnapped,” I said.

“He’s on drugs,” I heard somebody say.

“They can’t see me, jerkoff. You look crazy,” my reflection said.

“We’ll, crap,” I said.

He dragged me to the entrance and said “pay the fee.” I took out my wallet and said “charge me for a ticket.” They charged my Visa $5.

“All this to save five measly dollars. Was it worth it?” My reflection asked.

“No sir,” I said. The ticket taker looked at me like I was insane, probably wondering who I was talking to.

My reflection then dragged me to all the vendors that I had stolen from and made me pay them too.

“Are we done? Please let me go now,” I said, and started to cry hoping to get some sympathy.

“One last thing,” the reflection said and dragged me to the old man who cursed me.

“Hey, I paid for everything. Can you remove the curse,” I said.

“What curse? I never cursed you,” the old man said.

“What do you mean? What were those Romanian words you said to me?”

“I don’t know how you recognized the Romanian language, but I just called you a jerk for stealing and sneaking in,” he said.

“Then who’s the…” I turned to look at my reflection and he was gone.

“Maybe it was your guilty conscience coming to life,” the man suggested.

Someone familiar in a uniform came walking up to me.

“There you are, Mr. Cromwell. I’ve been looking all over for you. Time to get on the bus and go back home so you can take your medications on time. You don’t want another hallucination, do you? Did you enjoy your day out?” He asked me and smiled. I nodded and smiled back.

familyYoung AdultShort StorySci FiMysteryHumorHorrorFantasyFableClassicalAdventure
12

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

  • When you go to sleep, I work out at the gym. I literally Lol-ed at that sentence! 🤣🤣🤣 So his hallucination was his guilty conscious coming to life and make him correct all his wrongdoings. That was brilliant!

  • The story is a gripping and captivating tale that keeps the reader invested in the plot until the very end. The concept of a cursed reflection is a fascinating idea that draws the reader into the story and keeps them engaged. The dialogue between the protagonist and his reflection adds to the tension and creates a sense of unease, making the story even more compelling. The language used in the story is clear and concise, making it accessible to a wide range of readers. Each character has a distinct voice, making them easily distinguishable and adding to the story's depth.

  • Dylan about a year ago

    This was an outstanding story! It was very engaging, thrilling, and had a little comedy too! I was very intrigued while reading this, the ending was an amazing twist.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.