Fiction logo

All A Father Could've Wanted

A Daughters Tale!

By Melanie MontgomeryPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Romance Adds Character.

As I rose from a sleepless night, tossing and turning. I sat up and moved toward the edge of the bed, wondering what the day would bring. A cool breeze slid through my toes as I slid them into my slippers. I made my way past my dresser to the bedroom window. I pulled the curtains back allowing light to fill the room. As I looked out the window, snow filled the ground and trees. Far back was an opening to the pond where I would lay, watching the clouds float by softly and sain. I could still feel the breeze on my skin. The pond was frozen over and beautiful as if it were a painting. I smiled.

Ready to begin my day I started by freshen up, brushing my teeth, washing my face, and doing a little dance as I listened to Whitney Houston “I wanna dance with somebody”, Loud on the bathroom speaker. “Who doesn’t dance in the mirror when no one is looking”. I giggled. I walked out of the restroom, and it felt like old times. Dad cooking breakfast in the kitchen and it lingered throughout the entire house, waking the dead out of their sleep. Shaking my head.I snapped out of it. Dad had been gone for over 14 years and he’d left the house to me. I wondered what kept me from coming back after all these years. Mom had moved on and was living her best life, my brother and sister had their own families; but they were all happy and I was happy for them. As I made my way downstairs there was a knock at the door. I stop and thought to myself, a wee bit confused ‘’No one knew I would be here’’. They knocked again.

I open the door and there stood the most handsome man I knew, and I hadn’t seen in over 7 years. My cheeks rose slowly and was covered in a chocolatey coated strawberry love ring. I thought to myself. "Are you blushing?" "Why are you blushing?" No man has made me do that in so long, but this wasn’t just any man. This was Lavelle Jenkins. My high school love. We had been torn apart due to my mom moving after my dad had passed. “Act causal” I told myself, but it was too late. He stood there with the most beautiful smile and when he opened is mouth and the voice of angel spoke through. “Hey, how are you?" "I drove past your house last night and seen a car here. I remember the last time you were here you told me your dad had left in his will that he wanted you to have the house. I knew it could only be you.”" Here, I brought you some breakfast”. He handed it to me. I sat it on the table next to the door. "Thank you”, I said. I asked, “Would you like to come in”. he said,“no, but would you like to take a walk”. “Sure”, I said.

I put on my coat and snow boots and headed out the door. I asked “where to”, as he begin walking towards the side of the house. He stopped and smiled. He looked at me took my hand and kissed it. “I’ve missed you and I knew you would come back after all these years. If I’m not mistaken your single right”. “Correct”, I said. Although still confused trying to piece what was happening together. He said "Okay, Follow Me!” I followed. As he heads around the corner, I’m a little hesitant. What was waiting for me? Was it old friends? I asked myself. I turn the corner and to my surprise. It was the most beautiful passageway leading towards the pond that gives me a sense of peace, even just thinking of it. He had shoveled all the snow from the trail and laid rose petals on it's pathe.

I asked “how did you do this? When I pulled the curtains, this wasn’t like this.” He says "Your bedroom doesn’t allow you to see this part of the house. So, I started last night. I didn’t know if you still got up at the same time each morning but I’m happy you do. I had a lot of help from our old friends, and I knew if you still got up at the same time each morning. I knew you still dance while getting ready for your day. Is that still a thing?” I laughed, "yes it is”, he smiled. "But why do all of this", I asked. He said "Follow me". I followed, he talked as we made our way to the pond."When you left all those years ago. I knew I couldn’t see myself with any other women. You were special and there isn’t a woman that I believe that could take your place in my heart. Soooo, I waited month after month, year after year. I passed by this house and remembered so many memories of us and how happy you made me. How happy we were? I lived my life now, don’t get me wrong. I just lived waiting for this moment every waking day since you left”.I MELTED!

We’d made it to the edge of the pond, and he asks for my hand."Do you trust me?” I said, “yes”. He said, “follow me”. I reached out and grabbed his hand. Mind you the last time I walk on this frozen pond was years ago. I began slipping and so much joy rose from my laughter. It felt like I’d never left. I looked ahead and I could see more rose petals and it was in the shape of a heart. I said, "you really went through a lot. I've missed you and thank you ,this is beautiful." He asked, if I trust him again. I said, “I don’t know are you planning on killing me and laying me in the middle of the heart”, he laughed and said, “you always spoke what you were feeling”. “Well, is that the plan” I said with a smile as I looked at the heart. He said “no” as he laughed, “but I do love your beautiful crazy”. Close your eyes we’re going to walk into the middle and I want you to count to 30, out loud then open your eyes." I said “okay”, and I closed them. He guided me into the center. I began counting 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9, 10,….27,28,29,30. I slowly opened my eyes and to my surprise the pond was surrounded by old friends and family, all holding candles in vases. I looked down and Lavelle wasn’t down on his knee proposing like I thought he would be when I opened my eyes. I looked around the pond to see if he was standing with everyone else, he wasn’t. I turned around and there he was down on his knee with a ring. The signs behind him read “WILL YOU MARRY ME?”. I looked down and he looked up. I then wondered "why I hadn’t I come back much sooner.”I wonder alot. "Yes”, I said shaking my head. “Omg. Yes!” he stood and Kissed Me. Everybody began cheering with Joy as we made our way from the middle of the pond. I believed this is what my father wanted for me and has been my guide throughout all these years. It took me to finally come back to where it all began. Where I was the happiest in my life and just because my father was gone didn’t mean that I should’ve stopped enjoying it. We only die once so why not live everyday!!

~D1V1NiTY~

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Melanie Montgomery

Creative Mind looking to express myself through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.