Fiction logo

After Nap Disaster By: Danyel Fields

After Christina left home to become a movie star. And what happened after she made it to Hollywood her life will never be the same. Story 2

By Danyel FieldsPublished 3 years ago 28 min read
Like
After Nap Disaster By: Danyel Fields
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Christina left home late Saturday night to make her way to Hollywood after receiving a phone call from a producer on Friday afternoon. They loved her interview and wanted her to come out to California to be the leading role in their up and coming movie series Danny Krueger. Her and her parent's shared the last day together and now she was on the journey of her life.

She was just over half way to California when she made her first real stop to rest in Phoenix, Arizona. The first thing she did was what she promised her mother. She grabbed her phone and gave a call to her parent's house. It only rang once before her mom picked up to phone.

"Hi, mom how are things going at the house?" Were the first words to come out of Christina's mouth.

"Hi, hone. Not much really. We got our running around done today since yesterday we didn't get much done. Other than that we have been just sitting around the house waiting for you to call and tell us how you are doing on your trip." her mom replied.

"It's going pretty good I have made it to Phoenix and going to take a nap for a couple of hours and then getting back on the road. I want to be able to make it there by morning or early afternoon. But with the time I'm making I should be able to make it there sometime in the morning."

"That's good sweetheart. Just don't forget to give us a call when you get settled in to your new place. We're glad you called and the trip is going well for you. Would you like to talk with your father before we hang up?"

"Yeah mom that would be great."

"Hey movie star, how is your car holding out with the long trip?"

"It's holding up really well dad. You make it sound like I am driving some beat up piece of junk!" she said with laughter in her voice.

"Oh no not at all but it's not like it has been on the road for hours on end before. I just wanted to make sure everything was good with it. You know I don't want you to lose your Focus driving for any reason. My little girl needs to make it to L.A. and become a movies star."

"I know Daddy."

"Well, we are going to get off the horn that way you can get some rest and then get back on the road. You are over half way and that's great. Don't forget to give us a call when you get to where you are going!"

"I promise I won't forget. Mom already said the same thing so it is pretty fresh inside my mind to give y'all a call before I lay down tomorrow."

"We love and miss you already, be safe, and we will talk to you tomorrow."

"Alright dad I love and miss you both too and I will talk to you tomorrow."

After they got off the phone Christina got comfortable and turned on some music over her phone for some background noise. Then she found something to lay over her eyes to block out some of Arizona's sun rays that were still so bright in the late afternoon. It didn't take long before she drifted off to sleep.

When Christina finally woke up the sun was beginning to set. She had about another six hours of driving before she was going to be in L.A.. Then it was all going to be the factor of finding where she need to go and meet up with James. James is the producer that she is going to be working with on her up and coming role in the movie series Danny Krueger. She has been wanting this for a long time now, ever since she was a little girl. So, to say the least she was very excited to make it to Hollywood.

She drove over to the gas station right down the road and filled up her car. She would need to make one more stop for gas before she made it to L.A. but hey at least she was going to make it there without an issue. She grabbed a couple of energy drinks and something to snack for the drive and paid for her fill up. That way she had everything she needed to make the trip without falling asleep before she wanted to.

Only six more hours is what she kept telling herself as she started back on her way again.

Six hours turned into three and three turned into one. Now she can see the lights of Los Angeles on the horizon. She knew now that she was almost there which brought total and true excitement in her because she knew that it would only be a little bit longer and she would be there and meeting James face to face for the first time. This is going to be way different than going to work at the plant where she was all so use to working at.

Her nerves were getting the better on her when she started to hit the freeways in this huge city. Nothing like West Texas she thought as she merged onto a four lane highway with exits on both sides and she had to make sure she was on the right side to exit where she needed to. Go figure she had to move through all four lines to hit the exit she needed.

Once she was to the stop light she had to make a right turn. Good thing she was already in the right lane because if she wasn't she wouldn't have been able to make the turn she needed. Down three blocks and to the left was her next turn. Then another four blocks and here she had to take a right. Then she had to make a quick lift into the studios parking lot. She was a little bit early so she sat in her car for about a half hour to rest from all the driving she had done in the last two days.

A couple of other cars pulled in while she was sitting there just taking it all in. Of course she didn't know who they were but the question was, was she going to know them? Were they other people that she was going to work with during or in the movie? All these things were floating through her mind as she sat there waiting for herself to be ready to go into the building.

She just couldn't wait any longer and she got out of her car and started walking to the front door. As she pushed the door open a cold blast of air hit her face. This place had air conditioning so cold you didn't have to worry about your ice cream melting on the hottest summer day. She past through the second set of double doors before she was standing before the receptionist desk. The lady behind the desk was on the phone at that moment and she held up a finger suggesting just a minute. A couple more moments and the receptionist hang up the phone.

"Hi, how may I help you today ma'am?"

"Good morning, my name is Christina. I am hear to meet with James."

"Oh, our new movie star! We didn't think you would be here until later this afternoon. Just a moment dear and I will see if I can get ahold of James real quick!"

The only thing Christina could think of to say was, "Thank you." before she knew it the receptionist was back on the phone, pressed a couple buttons and Christina could hear the ring on the other side. The whole time the receptionist kept her eye's on Christina with a smile on her face. After the second ring a man answered "Hello this is, James."

"Hi, James this is Ruddy at the front desk."

"Hi, Ruddy how may I help you at this moment in the day?"

"Well, there is someone here to see you and wanted to make sure you weren't occupied before letting her in."

"You know me there are things laying everywhere. Just give me a couple minutes and I will be out to meet them!"

"Okay, I will let her know, thank you."

"Well, Christina you heard him, he will be out in a minute." Just then Ruddy stood to her feet and leaned over the counter and reached towards Christina's neck and said, "that's a beautiful locket, where did you get it?"

"Oh, this old thing. I got it from my mother. See, she gave it to me for good luck on my trip. There is a whole family story that gets carried with it and my mom told me I had to take it. So, now I am wearing it for good luck"

"Well, keep it close because a lot of people like those antiques around here. This city is like nowhere you have ever been before. And maybe one day you will tell me that story that goes along with that pretty little necklace." Ruddy responded

Just then the door opened right behind her and out came James.

"Hi, James I'm"

You're Christina the star to our next movie. OH MY GOD! Please, tell me this is really real and I'm not dreaming this. Ruddy pinch me I want to know if this is real or not."

Just then Ruddy quickly reached out and pinched him.

"Ouch, what was that for?"

"You told me too!" Ruddy piped back.

"You're right I did but you didn't have to pinch so hard. Anyway, back to Christina. How are you doing? Did you have a nice drive here? I mean holy cow you came a long way. To tell you the truth, I really had doubts about that you were even going to come. I mean that was asking a lot out of you."

Christina had to cut James off, "Wow, you need to calm down! I thought I was excited about being a movie star but I didn't think that you would be, wow, just wow. Now you're scaring me a little more than I already was.

"Okay, you're right and I'm sorry but I am extremely excited with having you here. Well, since we didn't really have you planned until this afternoon. Ruddy I am going to need you to cancel all the appointments this morning. That way we can get Christina set up with everything. Now, Christina you said you were ready to be a movie star. So, first things first come with me. I have to get you a script. Then amazingly enough there are a couple other people you will need to meet during or before hand. That way when we are on set things will run a bit smoother. And don't worry about housing we have you covered in a suite right down the road. And also don't worry you won't be here all day I want you to get to your suite and get some good rest before we start shooting tomorrow."

Christina was walking kind of behind him kind of beside him. James was moving fast as he could. Now they are heading down a hallway with doors on both sides. Black doors, Christina didn't really know what was behind them but she did have a good idea that they were either all different movie sets or they were all different sets for the same movie. They were moving to fast for Christina to get a good look at the names on the doors. They walked all the way down the hall to the last door on the left.

As they walked through the door, she could tell it was dimly lit and she could see the outline of what looked like houses' that they were walking by.

"What is this?" Christina asked finally.

"This is one of the streets that are going to be in the movie. We will also be taking trips to different studios, where they have things set up to be used in this movie as well as other movies." James responded.

Christina had thought that they had walked a whole city block by the time they got down to the end. And there she seen four other people sitting in chairs. She could hear them speaking lines back and forth. OMG I am meeting some of the people that I'm going to be working with, was her next thought.

"Hey, ladies and gents, how is everything going this morning?" James said as we were approaching.

They all started speaking at once. "We are doing good!

One guy over spoke the rest, "We're just trying to figure all this out before the girl you hired is going to be here later. Wait, who is this you are bringing through right now, James?"

"This is her," James relied, "This is Christina and she is going to be the lead of this whole thing. Christina, this right here is Matthew, Matthew is the lead man in this movie. He will be standing right behind you and his is also your boyfriend in the script. Yeah, I know he is a little out spoken but that is what makes it believable. Jonny is the other guy, he will be playing the lead investigator in the movie. The girl to the left of Matthew is Stacy she will be playing the role of his sister. The girl to the right is Eva. Isn't she just a doll? She will be playing your sister in the movie."

Christina couldn't believe it. Eva the girl they picked to be her sister really could have been her sister. Like damn near twines. Just then Eva stood up and started walking over to her and the other's followed suit.

Eva reached out her hand and said, "I'm Eva."

"I'm Stacy."

"I'm Matthew."

"Last but not least I'm Jonny."

In turn they all reached out and shook Christina's hand.

"Nice to meet you all and look forward to working with y'all." Christina said as James was calling after her.

"Come on Christina, we want you all set up for tomorrow." James called as he was walking back down the street of fake houses'.

Christina took off after him in almost a run. She just caught up with him as he was getting ready to head out the door. "Wow, you're moving fast. Are you always like this?"

"Only when I'm surprised and have a million things to do before tomorrow. I still can't believe you are here and early at that. Right down here is the dressing room's and makeup. Once everyone is on the same page tomorrow you all will make your way down here and get ready for production. Oh, I almost forgot here is your script. You're going to need that. When you get to your suite I am going to need you to at least going over the first few pages. Like I said I would really like to start shooting tomorrow. Ruddy would you be so kind to drive down to the hotel and let Christina follow you. That way she knows where to go. Christina when you get there just give them your name and they will handle everything else. Make sure you get plenty of rest and we will see you tomorrow seven o'clock sharp."

"Thank you for everything and I will see you tomorrow morning at seven o'clock sharp." Christina said as she followed Ruddy out the door into the heat of the day.

"We are going to be making a left out the drive." Ruddy directed Christina, " And then just follow me and I will get you there."

"Okay, Thanks Ruddy."

"Yeah, it isn't a problem! I'm still getting paid." she laughed as she got in her car.

Only a little more driving and then I can get off my feet, Christina thought as she followed Ruddy. It only took ten minutes to get to the hotel from the studio. The red light took the longest to get through, with a sea of people moving a crossed even after it turned green. Finally she was at the place she could call home for at least now.

She waved at Ruddy as she turned around then shouted out her window. "We will see you tomorrow."

Christina shouted back, "See you tomorrow." Then she had to apologize to the bell hop that was standing right in front of her. "I'm sorry my name is Christina and I am checking in."

"That's fine Miss Christina, your room is already set up for you. Ruddy the one you just yelled at came in earlier and got it all set up for you. I will just need your car key and I will bring your things up to your room for you. All you have to do is go check in at the front desk and they will give you a key to your room and explain where it is in the building."

"Wow, thanks here you go and please be careful with my belonging."

"Yes ma'am I will take good care of your belongings."

She walked through the front doors and was amazed at how beautiful the lobby was. It seemed to be made out of complete wood, top to bottom. She made her way over to the front desk and said, "My name is Christina and Ruddy came and set up a room for me earlier."

"Yes ma'am she did. May I see some from of ID to confirm it is you please?"

"Why, yes you may," Christina pulled out her wallet out of her purse unzipped it and pulled out her Texas driver license. "Here you go ma'am."

"Okay, thank you here is your key. Go over to the elevator go to the top floor and take right. You will going past three doors and yours will be the fourth door on the right. I hope you enjoy your stay and if you need anything just call down here and we will see if we can make it happen for you."

"Thank you, is everyone this nice here? If you don't mind me asking?"

"No, I don't mind you asking and the answer is, no not everyone around here is nice. You just have to find the nice one's."

"Thanks again," Christina said as she started to make her way to the elevator. "Top floor fourth door to the right." She muttered to herself as the door opened.

She got in the elevator and hit the button for the top floor. There was a couple other people on the elevator. That just meant that there was going to be a couple more stops a long the way to the top floor. The door opened and then closed and the tiredness was starting to set in with all the excitement that she has had over the last couple of days. Finally she was the only one on the elevator and knew that the next time it opened it was going to be her stop. The door dinged one more time for the top floor. When she walked out there was a window just on the other side from the elevator. She couldn't help herself and took a peak out it. Building as far as she could see with what she thought was the ocean and then the skyline but she wasn't for sure about the ocean. It could just as easily been the sky with how blue it looked to her.

Looking down the hallway she could see the fourth door on the right. It was the last door there was to the right. So, that was the only door she could think to be hers. The feel she had before hand was that she was going to stay in one of those apartment buildings for low-income families but that was far from the feeling she was getting right now. Her key looked more like a credit card than a key to a room. Sliding the card down a slit, she heard the door unlock and pushed down on the handle and gently pushed the door open.

Walking through door she still asked, "Hello, is anybody here?" Without hearing any response she figured it was safe to go in. Taking a look around this isn't like any hotel that she has ever been to. She had a full bedroom with a master bathroom that included a jet tub and a shower. Her two suitcases and three boxes were already sitting on the couch in her bedroom but she didn't start unpacking yet. She made her way back out in the living room area and noticed she also had a sitting/dining room with the kitchen right beside it. There was one more door and that was closed. She walked over to it and opened the door. It was a studies/office with a computer desk and bookshelves that she wouldn't be able to fill with all the books at her parent's house.

That just reminded her that she had to call her parent's or at least her mother because her father was probably still at work. She made her way back to her new huge bedroom to find her phone to give her folks a call. There it was sitting right on top of one of her suitcases. She must have forgot it in her car and the bell hop brought it up for her. What a nice guy she thought as she picked up her phone and dialed her parent's number.

It only rang once before she heard her mother's voice, "Hello, this is Cathy."

"Hi mom, it's me. I made it safe and sound."

"That's great sweetheart, how is the new job treating you? I'm glad you made it safe and your dad will be happy about it too."

"It's going amazing mom. It is kind of like a dream. James the producer was crazy, like crazy excited for me to be here. He didn't even think I would show up, it was nuts. Then I briefly met a few of the people I'm going to be working closely with. One is going to be my sister and mom she really could be my sister with how much we look alike. The guy that is going to be my boyfriend and the gal that is going to play his sister. Plus, I met the guy that is going to be the lead investigator in the movie as well. Then I got the script and was told that I have to read and remember the first couple of pages tonight and get rest, for tomorrow."

"Wow, honey it sounds like you had a pretty busy day. Have you gotten anything to eat yet? Have you unpacked? Where are you staying? Is it nice?"

"Yeah, mom it has been a busy day that's for sure. No, I haven't gotten anything to eat and didn't even think of that until now when you said something, crap. I am staying at a hotel, in a suite. It's really nice, like if the study was a bedroom than it would, well is the size of your house. They might have room serves, I will have to call down and ask after I get off the phone with you. I don't even know if there is a balcony? You're coming with me mom!"

She pulled the drapes to see and "OMG mom I have a balcony. I can see all the lights for miles. Oh, and earlier getting out of the elevator I swear I could see the ocean. It is so beautiful mom I wish you could see it."

"Me too send me some pictures when you are able too and your dad and I have already decided that the holidays are going to be at your place. Get yourself something to eat you need it and get to work movie star. What did you think it was going to be less work?" Laugher between both of them rang.

"Mom it doesn't just have to be for the holidays. You two are welcome any time you want and can make it here. And no, mom it isn't less work! I knew and know that nothing is easy. I will get something to eat like I said right after we get off the phone. I will get you some pictures of the place in the next couple days."

"Okay, sweetie we love and miss you and just keep in touch and we will do the same. Good luck my little actress."

"I love and miss you both too. I will keep in touch because you both are making it to my premier. Talk to you later mom."

"Bye dear." was her mother's last reply.

Christina walked over to the room phone and dialed the number for the front desk. A different lady answered the phone. "Good evening, how may I help you?"

"Hi, yes I am new to the building and was wondering if there is any room serve?" Christina relied.

"Yes, Miss Christina we have room serve. If you go to your kitchen there should be a menu on the counter and has a number for you to call and talk to the cooks on duty. They will be the one's to talk to about your order."

"Thank you I found it. So, I just call the number and talk to a cook and then they bring it to me?"

"Yes, ma'am. That is how it works."

"Thanks again and have a great night," Christina said as she was hanging up the phone.

She started calling the number that was on the menu and this took a little longer for them to answer than what she has been getting lately. It was about the tenth ring is when she got her answer from the other end.

"Good evening my name is Max, how may I help you this evening?

"Hi, Max my name is Christina and was wondering what I can get out this menu at this time of the evening?

"Oh yes, Miss Christina I was wondering if you had already eaten! But now since you are calling I don't have to wonder. With me, you can have anything you like off the menu and I will make it for you. Just the way you want it."

"Okay, well Max we are going to be great friends then. Will you please make me up a half serving of baskets and gravy with four pieces of bacon and two over easy eggs. Plus, a bowl of fresh strawberries, blueberries and honeydew. For something to drink I would like to have a large orange juice."

"Yes, Miss Christina it will be at your door in about twenty to thirty minutes."

"Thank you Max." Christina replied right before hanging up the phone.

Christina went to her room and decided to put away some of her stuff before her food would be here. First thing she did was grab two of the boxes and brought them straight to the study. She knew form packing that some of the things would be going to be together and they will look great in the study. Then went back to the bedroom and started pulling clothes out so she could hang them up in her walk-in closet. Right in the middle of the bed she laid her stuffed puppy. This way she could always keep an eye on him.

She heard a knock on the door and figured it was her food. She even looked through her peep hole to make sure it was room serves. She slowly opened the door.

"Good evening Miss Christina, here is your order. And if you would please place the cart back out in the hallway when you right done then someone will be back by to get it. Thank you and have a great evening."

Christina was trying to dig through her pockets looking for some cash for a tip. Then the young man said, "You don't need to give me a tip, it is worked into my pay either way. You just enjoy your meal ma'am."

"Well, thank you and you have a wonderful evening as well."

Closing the door she wheeled the cart over to the dining room table and started to unload the cart. With lifting every cap off every plate as she placed them on the table, her belly started to make even more sounds than it was before. Everything was cooked just the way she had asked. Then she sat down to eat her breakfast dinner.

After dinner it was time for her to get to work. Christina already knew tomorrow was going to be a long day and figured she better be somewhat prepared for it. She headed to the study because that is where script for the movie. She also knew that it was going to be a lot to remember so she got right on it. She stayed in the study for about three hours going over her lines for the next day. She thought to herself the it was going to be so much easier with the crew than what it was in her own.

She opened up the studies door and walked out. "Wow, that is a lot to take in." she said out loud to herself. She walked over to the balcony doors and opened them and walked out to smell the Hollywood night air. She could see and hear the people below her and that was just something else she thought. After standing out there for about fifteen minutes just listening and staring out over her new life. It was time for her to hit the sheets. As she walked back inside and headed to her room to gather up her stuff for the bathroom.

After the long day and days, Christina to take a shower. She turned on the hot water and let it run for a few minutes waiting for it to warm up. To her surprise it got hot really quick. She even had to turn on some cold water to help even it out to where she could get into it. Once she did she just stood there for a moment letting the water flow down her body. She had to admit it felt wonderful under the water. She grabbed her luffa and ran it under the water to get the coldness out of it. Then her fruity body wash that she just loved to smell of so much. It reminded her of being someplace tropical for some odd reason. Anyways, she washed, shaved, and rinsed before she got out. She found her sleep clothes in the walk-in closet and continued on to go lay down after she got dressed. She put on some nature sounds to help her fall asleep easier, as she drifted off to sleep.

She slept peacefully until about five thirty am. Her nature noise was no longer playing and it seemed that the power was out in the building. She grabbed her phone which also had a flashlight on it and went to look around. She found the phone for the hotel use and she tried calling to the front desk to see what was going on but there was nothing. No answer no sound at all, not even a dial tone when she picked it up. So, she just hung the phone.

She walked over to her balcony and opened the doors to walk out. That is when she seen it all. The fires, the abandoned cars, and she could here screaming from places that she wasn't sure where they were coming from. She finally seen a couple of people running down the street and yelled out for them to stop and then asked them what was going on.

"The world is ending, satellites' are falling from the sky, and there are people running around hurting and killing other's right out in the streets. From what we have heard is that a lot of states have been bombed and a lot of people dying everywhere. Oh, and the power is out and isn't coming back on for along time, if it ever does."

"Holy crap, really?"

"Yeah sorry we had to give you the bad news."

"Well, thanks for letting me know what is going on in the world." Christina said as she backed through the balcony doors.

Christina barely made it to the couch in the living room before she clasped. "What is going on? I can't believe this is happening. My second day in Hollywood and now the world is ending. I have to try and call my parent's!"

She grabbed her phone that was sitting right next to her hand. She turned on the screen and even though it said there was no service she still tried calling. Nothing crap, she tried calling again and nothing. She sat on the couch and started to cry thinking that she wouldn't ever see her parent's alive again. Before she knew it the sun was all the way up and she was still sitting there.

Without even realizing it she was holding the heart shaped locket her mother gave to her in her fingers. Just rubbing it and wishing things would be different. Wishing now that she had never left home. "What was I thinking? How could I have left home? I really hope my parent's are okay!" Are some of her thoughts as doomsday began.

To Be Continued....

I hope you enjoyed the read and stay tuned for the next story to appear. Be blessed and have a wonderful day. Leave a tip if possible and Thank you again for you support.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Danyel Fields

I have fell on hard time's many times but the things that keep me going are the songs, stories, and poems that I write within. They can make me smile on dark days or they help twist dreams the dreams I have.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.