Fiction logo

Christina's Last Days at Home By: Danyel Fields

Small town Texas girl leaving home for Hollywood to become a movie star. A dream come true for now. Story 1

By Danyel FieldsPublished 3 years ago 27 min read
1
Christina's Last Days at Home By: Danyel Fields
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

During this early fall Friday Christina was still at work. With how loud it always was in the factory she couldn't hear her phone ring. When break finally came around she got the chance to check her phone. She had one unknown missed phone call, thankfully they left a voicemail. She couldn't think of anyone who would be leaving a voicemail, other than she had done an interview with a producer just this last Monday from Hollywood. She didn't check it right than, she figured after work would be better.

Christina could barely hold it together during the last part of the day at work. Her thoughts were racing from, "I finally get to get out of this place." All the way to," I really hope it's good news or I am going to have to come back here again." It seemed that the time was standing still or pretty much still as the minutes ticked away. She finally got her mind off it and got into a retheme and before she knew it the plant whistle blow. The race was on to get to the time clock, she wanted to be one of the first one's out today.

Once, she was punched out it was off she went running to her car. She wanted to be someplace that there wasn't going to be a lot of people. She just wanted to hear every word of the voicemail. She put the peddle to the metal just outside of town, just to take a quick left. Christina knew right where she was going, to lookout point by the city lake. Her serve was best there and if she needed to call them back she could. One more turn and she was there right on top of the highest hill for miles around. She turned the wheel shape hit the e-break, slid into a cozy little spot. Grabbing paper and a pen out of the glovebox and unlocking her phone, she hit her voicemail icon.

As she was going through the steps to hear her new voicemail Christina was getting hyper excided. Then there it was the receptionist of the producer she talk to on Monday say, "Thank you for the interview on Monday. They all loved you and would like to talk to you more. Please give us a call as soon as you get this. The number is!"

Right then her mind went blank Christina was fumbling over the pen and paper she had in her hands. Her nerves were getting the better of her for a few more moment. She had to listen to the message a couple more time's before she got down the direct number of the producer she talked to on Monday. Christina's nerves were so high from the excitement that she had to take a few more minutes to compose herself to be able to call and talk with the producer from her interview.

Once she had calmed down enough she dialed the number that she written on her piece of paper. She was just hoping she wrote it down right. The phone started to ring on the other end and some of the excitement came rushing back. It rang five or six time's before someone finally picked up on the other end and said, "Hello."

"Hi, yes I am Christina." she said "I had an interview Monday and got a call back today asking me to call you back."

"Hi, Christina. this is James the producer that you talked to during the interview on Monday. I wanted to tell you myself that we loved the interview and would like to have you here in California with us. We think you would make a great star in our upcoming movie series, Danny Krueger. The next step is are you ready to be a movie star and come to Hollywood?"

"Absolutely." Christina said without even taking a moment to think about it.

"Great." were the words that came out of James mouth. "How do you want to do this? We would like you here Monday no later than Tuesday so we can get started shooting!"

Christina didn't really know what to say so, she said the first thing that came to mind, "I'll drive. I have a couple of things I have to do before I go so, I will just drive and I will see you Monday in person. Just send me the address of where I need to be and we will work things out from there."

"Sounds great, I can tell you haven't checked your e-mail because that was already sent to you right after the voicemail was left. So, I look forward to seeing you Monday." James responded

"Thank you so very much and I will see you Monday James." Christina answered before hanging up her phone.

The whole ride home Christina just drove. No music, no sounds other than the air blowing through her windows and the tires on the road. She was just lost in thought the whole way. Thinking how am I going to tell my parent's that I am going to Hollywood? What all should I take with me? Am I going to have a place of my own? How is all this going to work out? Then she was finally pulling into the driveway at the house. She didn't want to go in yet! She was just taking in the site of the house and everything around it. Not knowing the next time she was going to be back to see it again.

When she decided to get out on go inside, she still wasn't ready to talk. She walk through the living room right into the kitchen to put her stuff away out of her cooler she took to work. Christina knew it was all about the timing when it came to talking with her parent's. She went to her room after putting things away. She was in there for about a hour when she heard her dad's truck pull into the driveway and figured this would be the best opportunity that she was going to have to be able to talk to her parent's together.

She entered the living room the same time her dad walked through the front door. Her mom was still sitting in her office area beside the dinner table. Christina was the front to speak out of them and said, "Mom, Dad we have to talk." They both just kind of looked at her in surprise. They 're not use to her being the first one to speak out and say they needed to talk. Normally that kind of thing only happened over dinner at the table. So, this was going to be a first for them in a while not talking over dinner.

Her mother Cathy was the first to speak after that, " Is everything okay? You're not pregnant are you?"

"No mom it isn't anything like that and I'm fine. I just have some news to share and wanted everyone to be together when I told you both, that's all."

"Well then let's sit down and you can tell us all about this news you have. First I'm taking these boots off and grabbing a beer." Mike her father sounded.

"Daddy don't worry you take your boots off and I will grab you a beer."

"Okay, sweetheart that sounds good to me."

When she walked out of the room both of her parent's looked at each other in wonder. By the look in one another's eyes neither one of them knew what was going on with their little girl. Mike broke the ice by saying, "This must be some big news if neither one of us know what is yet!"

Christina came back through the door holding two beers, one for each parent. She walked over to the table and set one in each of their places then said, "Well let's sit at the table and talk like we normally do!"

After the three of them were seated at the table. They sat quietly until Christina had her thoughts together again. She is the one who started out the conversation, since she is the one with the big news. "I had an interview this past Monday over the phone. Today I got the call back and I got the job."

"That's great news sweetie. We both know how you don't like working at that factory, we wouldn't like it either. So, what is going to be your new job and where will you be working." came at her from both her parent's in a jumbled mess of words.

Christina didn't really know how to put it, so she just blurted out, "I going to be a movie star and have to move to Hollywood, California by this coming Monday. This producer named James and his crew are making a movie series and want me to be one of the casting stars. I know it all sounds crazy. It sounds crazy to me as well, but anyhow I will be moving out this weekend to move to Hollywood."

Her mother was the first to speak after the big news, "I can't believe you didn't say anything to us about this! This is a big deal with our baby moving away and becoming a movie star!"

"Now come on Cathy, it is a big deal but you don't have to give her the third degree over it. I mean really we have always wanted her to make something of herself and now she is, give her some credit. I think it's great news sweetheart." Her father said with a smile on his face.

The conversation lasted just over a hour with each of her parent's going back and forth about how things were going to be different around there without her being there anymore. Christina sat there listening to them and answering a question here and there when they asked but other than that she just sat there. Then she said, "Mom, Dad you know I love you and this is going to be a long weekend to be able to make it there by Monday. I need to start sorting and packing the things I want to bring with me." Then she excused herself from the table and headed to her room to get things ready.

Christina knew she couldn't take all her stuff because not all of it would fit into her little Focus.

First things first she starting going through her clothes and seeing which one's looked best and which one's she should leave or throw out. By the time it was said and done she had two large suitcases full of clothes that she wanted to bring along with her. This meant that she would have to pack sparling on the rest of her belongings to be able to make them fit.

Then, slipping out the backdoor so she wasn't noticed by her parent's. Christina brought the suitcases out to her car and grabbed the boxes that she grabbed from work. Only one of the large suitcases fit into the trunk so, that meant the second one would have to go in the back seat. This also meant that she had less room in the car than she intended to have in the first place. "Damn, this means I can only bring three out of the five boxes I planned on." She went back in the house the same way she went out, through the back door. Hoping her parent's didn't hear her.

Back in her room she started going through her books and knickknacks and carefully packing them into the boxes. She was on her second box when there was a knock on the door. " Come in."

"Hi, honey." her mother said as she entered the room. "I know you have a lot to do before you take off for Hollywood but I wanted to come in here and talk to you and also I have something for you, to bring with you on your trip. So, would you take a couple minutes and come sit beside me and talk."

"Yes, mom. I know I have lots to do but I will stop so we talk. I know this has to be hard on you both as well. I know it is for me. I still don't think it has fully sank in yet." Christina responded as she crossed the room and sat beside her mother on her bed. "So, what is it that you have to give to me?"

Cathy sat there for a minute before she opened up her hand. Resting in her hand was a beautiful heart shaped locket. " I know it doesn't look like much but it is the story behind this locket that makes it special. This locket has been in our family for a very long time. Your great grandfather bought this locket for your grand grandmother on the day your grandmother was born. He gave it to her while she was still laying in bed recuperating after giving birth. Your grandmother gave it to me on the day you were born while I was still in the hospital laying in bed. It is a sign of ever lasting love between generations. Now, I sit here beside you and am presenting it to you and hoping one day you will give it to my future granddaughter."

"Mom Thank you but I'm not ready to have children yet!"

"I know your not but that doesn't change the fact that you are moving away and we don't know when you are going to come back. Or if you make it as a big movie star and decide this little town isn't for you anymore. So, just take it in love and know you will always be welcomed back home."

"Thank you mom, it is beautiful and I promise to cherish it with all my being. I can't believe it has been in our family for as long as it has, that's amazing. I also promise to give it to my daughter if and when I ever have one."

Just then her dad Mike came through the door, "You're making big promises aren't you? Then promise me we all will have lunch tomorrow before you hit the road on your new journey, my little movie star."

"Yes Daddy we can have lunch tomorrow before I leave. Well, that is if it isn't one of your tity bars you go to all the time. Let's go to that little diner right out side of San Angelo. You know that one with their amazing chicken fried stake."

"Anyplace you want sweetheart." her dad replied

"Okay then, well could I get back to my packing and then I will be out to talk some more once I am done and have things loaded to go. I know I am being pushy but this is going to be a long weekend already. My nerves and mind are racing with how today has went and all the news. Thanks again mom for the beautiful locket and I will keep it close to me the entire time."

"Okay fine we will leave you alone until you come back out to talk. Just always remember you are more than welcome to come home anytime you want." Her mother said as she got up to leave Christina's room. Her dad followed her mother out and closed the door behind them to leave Christina to her packing again.

Going through her photos she started to recall all the time's when she was a child always wanting to be a movie star. She found some pictures when she was all dressed up in some of mother's clothes and had make-up on. She was pretending to be Belle for Beauty and the Beast. Oh, and this one were she was trying to be Punky Brewster. She had to smile with all the memories flashing through her mind. She even had tears in her eyes by the time she was done going through the photos. She just can't believe over all these years she is really going to Hollywood to be a movie star.

It was almost midnight when she finally got done packing all the things she wanted to take with her. It took her about fifteen minutes to get her boxes loaded into the car. One of the three boxes had to sit in the passenger seat because she was all out of room in the back seat. Good thing it was only her going on this trip or the other person would have to ride on the roof, she thought and smiled to herself.

Once she was done she made her way out to the living room to see what her parent's were doing. Not to her surprise her dad was already sleeping in his recliner. They normally went to bed around ten but he was trying to stay awake until Christina came out so they could spend time together before it was time for her to leave. Her mother was sitting on the couch reading a novel and the TV was just some background noise for her. Once she realized that Christina was standing there she looked up from her book and asked, "So you got everything packed for your trip?"

"Yup" Christian responded, "I didn't realize on how late it was but I at least wanted to come out and say good night to you and dad." She leaned over her father and gave him a kiss on the cheek and said, "Good night Daddy I love you."

He muttered back, "Sweet Dreams Sweetheart and I love you too."

Then she walked over to her mother and gave her a huge hug and said, "I love you too mom and you should get some rest. Tomorrow is going to be a long day for all of us. And thank you again for the locket."

"Good night darling and yes tomorrow will be a long day but it will all be worth it in the end. I know once you get out there and you start, you are going to do wonderful. Just think you have been dreaming of this day ever since you were a little girl and now your dreams are coming true. I am so proud of you for taking the steps that will lead you to your dreams. And you are also welcome for the locket and I hope it will bring you tremendous luck along the way. We will see you in the morning."

"Thanks mom and I will see you both in the morning."

When Christina made it back to her room, she thought it would be easy to fall asleep, she was wrong. She laid there in bed tossing and turning for what seem like forever. The last time she looked at her alarm clock it was 3:45 am. Without realizing it she fell into a deep sleep and the next thing she knew it, her dad was knocking on her door. She sat up in a panic not knowing what time it was. She looked over at her clock once again and it was 9:30 am.

"Yes, dad?" she answered.

"Just wanted to make sure you were awake sweetheart. We will be leaving to go to lunch around 11 and wanted you to be ready to go by then. I know it can take you a while to get around at times."

"Okay daddy I will get up and start getting around right now. That way you won't have to wait on me to get out the door."

Christina got out of bed and grabbed the clothes that she already had sat out the night before because she wanted to make sure she didn't pack them all away. Then she made her way to the bathroom to take a shower and do her hair before they were to leave for lunch. All that seemed to run through her mind while in the shower was this was going to be the last time taking a shower in her parent's house. She didn't think it was going to be that hard to move away and leave her parent's house. Then she started to cry a little thinking about how she wasn't going to have anyone to lean on for support being so far away.

Then there was a knock on the bathroom door but no words that followed and then another knock.

"I'm almost done," Christina said as she heard her mother soft voice from the other side of the door.

"Hey, hone I was just coming to check on you. You have been in there a while and with only having one bathroom in the house other's like your parent's have to use it."

"Okay mom I will only be a couple more minutes, then you can have the bathroom all to yourself."

"Alright, I just wanted to check on you and I have to use the bathroom and then you can have it back unless your father has to use it." Her mom wasn't saying it but she just wanted to talk to her through the door because she also knew that it was probably going to be the last time she was going to be able to do so for a while anyhow.

Christina dried her body off and wrapped her hair up in a towel. Sliding her favorite sundress over her shoulders. It was a dress she bought a couple years ago that she hasn't really had the chance to wear. It was the color of sunshine with light pink and white flower's in little bouquets floating like they were all tossed up into the air. When she spin it really did look like some of them were floating. She gathered up all the clothes that she wore to bed and placed them in the hamper to be washed. As she walked out and said, "Mom the bathroom is all yours."

"Okay dear thanks for hurrying up. I will only be a few minutes and then you can have it back."

"Alright the only thing I have left to do is my hair and then we can head out for lunch."

"Okay dear just remember you should get some rest before you take off later this evening."

"I know mom as soon as we get back I'm going to take a couple hour nap and then I will be heading out after that."

Once everyone was around Christina and her parent's headed out for lunch. It was just a little after eleven so, they were pretty much on time for the family. They always seemed to run about fifteen to twenty minutes behind on everything so just a few minutes wasn't bad at all. It takes roughly forty-five minutes to get to the diner from where they lived. That meant they would be getting there right about lunch time and hopefully there was still seats available. The diner they were going to normally had a good turn out for lunch and dinner.

Just as they were pulling in they could tell that there wasn't many seats left in the little diner. They pulled around the packing lot twice trying to find a spot close to the door but the closest one they could find was pretty much in front of the door, just four cars between them. As they were walking up to the door a couple came out and got in two different cars that were parked right in front of the door. Mike was thinking about going back and moving the car closer but Cathy grabbed his arm and pulled him through the entrance.

"Honey, no need to go and move the car now. We are already parked and walking in, what's the sense in that? I could understand if we were on one of the far sides but really we aren't that far away anyhow. Let's just go in and eat so Christina can get a nap in before she has to leave this evening."

As they entered a hostess was standing there, "only the three of you?"

"Yes, only the three of us." replied Mike

"Right this way please, I hope you don't mind but we only have a couple booths available. Your server will be with you in just a couple of moments." The hostess said as she seated them and walked away.

They sat there looking at the menus for a few minutes before their server was there taking their drink order. "I will be right back with those and take your food orders when I get back." It only took the server a minute to go to the bar and get their drinks. They all ordered a Budweiser to celebrate all the good things that has and will happen for their daughter. As the server was coming back to the table, she heard them talking about Hollywood. As she approached she asked, "What is this talk about Hollywood?"

"Oh, nothing really just our daughter here is moving out to Hollywood to become a famous movie star." Mike said with excitement in his voice. "She is leaving later to night and we came out the celebrate her good fortune to her future."

The news spread around the diner like wild fires burning and to say the least they didn't have to pay for a thing for their lunch with all the people wishing Christina good luck on her new career. This is some of the biggest new a lot of them have ever heard so, they were more than happy to help a new and raising star reach for the sky.

After their lunch and thanking everyone that came and wished her luck. They were finally on their way back to the house. Once they were home both of her parent's gave her a hug before she was off to take a nap.

Her dad asked, "What time do you plan on getting up and what time are you taking off?"

"Well I would like to be on the road at or around nine. That way there won't be a lot of people on the road. So, I will be getting up at eight to do a final look over and see if I forgot anything last night while I was packing."

"Sounds like a good plan hone. I will make sure you are up by eight then, that way you stay on time for your trip."

"Thanks daddy, I will see you both in a couple of hours."

At eight o'clock her alarm clock started sounding and she could hear her dad knocking on her door. "Sweetie it's eight, time to raise and shine."

"Okay dad I will be out in a moment." Christina slowly looked over her room making sure she had everything that she wanted to take along with her. The only thing she missed was a stuffed puppy that she had gotten a few years back and has slept with almost every night since the day she got it at a fair. It was special for the fact that it came from her boyfriend at the time. He ended up joining the service and never came back from the war. So, she holds it falling asleep thinking of the love she once had and wishes she could have back.

As she walked out of her bedroom her parent's were both sitting at the table waiting for her to come out. They wanted to spend to last few moments they could with their daughter before she left home for bigger things, her dreams.

"Hey honey, did you have a good nap?" They both asked.

"Yeah it wasn't long enough but hey, it will have to do, right!"

"Your mother and I have been talking and now that it is going to be hard for you at first. So, we have decided to pull our change together and make sure you can get by for a little while. We know it isn't much but it is what we can afford at this time to help you along." Her dad handed her an envelope that seemed thin and when she opened it she was shocked to see that it was a check for two thousand dollars.

"Are you two sure? This is a lot of money to just give me."

"Yes, we're both sure. I even went out and looked at your car and made sure everything was full. We want to make sure you have what you need to make it there and get started without having to go borrow money from anyone else. Don't forget if you need anything please call us and let us know and we will do whatever we can to help you on your way the fame."

"Thank you both so much. It means the world to me that you were not mad at me for not telling you two sooner. I promise to get a hold of you as soon as I hit L.A.. It is going to be really busy once I get there and will call you when I get to the place I will be staying. I will cherish the heart locket you gave to me mom with all that is me and then some. Dad thank you for being the best Dad ever and thank you for being as smart as you are. As well as giving me everything I needed to make my dreams come true."

By now they all had tears in their eyes. None of them bad, some of them good, and most of them were simply amazing because the love that they all shared for each other. Her parent's always said, "she could be whatever she wanted" and this was all she ever wanted. They all embraced together in hugs. Hugs so tight she didn't know if her parent's were ever going to let her go.

Mom, Dad I love you but you really have to stop, you're hunting me. And I do really need to get going. I want to be able to get there with a little time on my hands so, I get lost I still have time to find my way."

"We know honey we just don't want you to go but know that you have to go at the same time. We love you so very much and we are going to miss you just as much. We will also be waiting on that call, day or night whenever or for whatever it is, it doesn't matter you can call us."

"Okay, just let me go and I will even call you before I take my nap tomorrow right before rush hour. Monday is going to come faster than any of us thinks. I love you and will make sure I call and check in and I will miss you both as well."

They both finally let Christina go. As she was walk to the door her parent's were in toe, they weren't saying anything. They were just watching their little girl walking out into the real world following her dreams. This is the day they have been hoping for and also dreading all in the same moments. Down the sidewalk over to the driver side of her car, they watched.

Christina took a long deep breathe, looked back and seen her parent's standing there. She gave them a soft smile and said, "I love you and going to miss you, and I will talk to you tomorrow." Then she slid herself in the driver seat and started her car then put it in reverse. "Onto knew in better things" she thought, as she backed down the driveway. When she was safely out on the road, she waved her last good bye to her parent's and then she was off to Hollywood.

Christina drove and was hoping for the best going down the road. All she could picture was that the future was looking bright for her. Not knowing what the future really held in the coming days. The moon was full and the stars were shining bright as she drive throughout the night.

To be continued

This story is dedicated to my wife. I hope you enjoyed the story and the next one will be coming shortly. Thank you for the read and if you can leave a tip it would be greatly appreciated. Be blessed on the journey's you are taking.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Danyel Fields

I have fell on hard time's many times but the things that keep me going are the songs, stories, and poems that I write within. They can make me smile on dark days or they help twist dreams the dreams I have.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.