Fiction logo

A window

šŸ¤

By TestPublished 8 months ago ā€¢ Updated 8 months ago ā€¢ 3 min read
7

In response to the challenge JBaz 'Silent thought' Challenge. You can read more about it below:

But I finally clicked when I read this. I can be incredibly, mindblowing dense sometimes. Check out Paul's emtry here:

I really didn't intend on writing this tonight but I had a glass of wine and it seemed like a good idea. No editing except right clicking of various coloured squiggly lines in word. Tomorrow, I will regret it. The wine. And the writing. And the not editing.

I donā€™t suppose It matters much really- All told- Heā€™s happy with whatever I put in front of him these days- Except that- None of that anymore- We used to be soā€¦Well- you know- Come on Clara- you canā€™t think like that- You knew what you were getting into when you said I do- Saw it with your sister-And it was a lovely wedding afterall- Everybody said so- Best wedding theyā€™d ever seen- I suppose theyā€™d have to say that- it would be rather uncouth to say anything less- but that cake- Marnie did a good job bless her soul- Now that was a funeral- such a lovely send off- Funny really how they just disappear and then- Well- you know-mustnā€™t think like that- canā€™t be morbid- Besides our Jerryā€™s coming down for tea at six- I told Brian to be back from the pub by 5 but I doubt heā€™ll make it - Never mind- Weā€™ve had a good life all in all- 5 grandchildren to speak of and another one on its way - You didnā€™t do too bad for yourself all things considered- Remember that Vera down road- Tough life of it she had- Husband left her and all that commotion -They reckon she met a fella- Michael Jones they call him. Havenā€™t seen her ā€“ Not since she upped and left that night- But I donā€™t know nothing about that. Not one for gossip am I really? Keep your nose out of other peopleā€™s business.-Thatā€™s what I say ā€“ But it was the most excitement weā€™ve had down here since Barbara Windsor left EastEnders Well that and the Coronation- But that was a long time ago now - Beautiful that was- I remember it like it was yesterday-And all them jewels- Being a kid and seeing all that- Never forget it as long as I live- Exquisite she was- A real princess- I still remember her shaking my hand like I was special- Born for the job she was- I didnā€™t expect her to go before me to be honest- Bit of a surprise really- considering I mean that husband of hers a silly fool but you couldnā€™t help it- liking him-The day he told that photographer to take the fucking picture- Thatā€™s what he said - Didnā€™t half make me giggle- Now him you saw coming- It looked like heā€™d been dead 10 years already before he passed- But her- Not on your Nellie- I never thought it- But thatā€™s love for you isnā€™t it- Broken heart thatā€™s what she had- I donā€™t know what Iā€™d do if Bryn popped his clogs tomorrow- No idea at all- But mustnā€™t think like that- Canā€™t let that kind of thing get in your head- Itā€™s like a maggot- innit? One of them- hundreds of them all chomping on your brain- Making you think things you shouldnā€™t be thinking- Besides- it would be better really if he went first- Heā€™d be lost without me- Heā€™d pickle his liver in a week- The thing about it is he likes my pies too much so he always comes home when heā€™s hungry - but what would he do if I werenā€™t here to make ā€˜em- Nothing I imagine- Heā€™d starve himself to death- And Griff would never get his biscuits- Itā€™d be a shambles- No better that way- Those begonias donā€™t look too healthy- Iā€™m going to have to start taking more care of the garden- Now Clara think about what your mother told you- The house isnā€™t going to clean itself and the men need to be fed- Theyā€™re the breadwinners after all-- And look at you here - sitting around thinking about nothing- Thereā€™s things to do- And you still need to go to Nancyā€™s to pick up the bake stones- You should have made them yourself- You know how Jerry likes them freshly baked- But- thereā€™s just so much happening itā€™s hard to keep up with it all and now our Sheila in the hospital- How she managed to fall on the ice- Iā€™ll never know- I need to take her some flowers later- Visiting hours- what time are they again- I think itā€™s between 12 and two- Iā€™ll need to check- She had a lovely bunch at her table yesterday- The scouts got them for her- Gorgeous they were- pink and red carnations- Maybe I should just take her a magazine- Right come on old girl- The pastry isnā€™t going to roll itself-

Microfiction
7

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.