Fiction logo

A Special Day

In The Making

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
26
A Special Day
Photo by Darius Cotoi on Unsplash

A chill runs through the air and I feel myself begin to condense, as do my companions. I watch them with envy as they begin their descent and have the honour of heralding the season that humans call winter.

So I watch in jealousy as my peers bring cheer upon the world below, while they paint it in a crisp pearly white hue. They create a chilly blanket that covers all the surfaces within my field of vision and I smile at the snowy perfection they have the privilege of creating.

I watch as animals and humans alike frolic in the newly christened snowy landscape. Small children dangle their tongues down to their chins to catch a few of my peers with a giggle of joy.

Finally, the day I have been waiting for arrives.

Golden rays of sunlight crest over the horizon and make my earthbound comrades sparkle in the breathtaking light. I admire them as my descent begins and I grow closer to joining my companions in this glorious, snowy landscape.

As I near the earth’s surface, the sound of church bells begins to ring. Voices sing a joyous hymn that floats through the air on the breeze that carries me to the nearest tree branch. As I come to rest upon it I can see round smiling faces pressed against the misty windows of a nearby house. In the background, I see a tree adorned with colourful lights that sparkle and fill my heart with Christmas cheer.

MicrofictionHolidayfamily
26

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! πŸ’šπŸ’™πŸ’œπŸ©΅

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Aww the tone of this piece is so sweet and heartwarming. I loved every second of reading it! And congrats on the top story too! ❀️

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³

  • This was incredible. I absolutely loved the perspective you chose to write the story from. So creative Donna. Your descriptions were vivid and came across well. This is by far one of my favs from the snow micro challenge

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    Beautiful. 🀩

  • This is a beautiful perspective, Donna. Well done! (Now, you should write one about those evil twins of his who feather down on the roadways spreading their treacherous intentions!) Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story, Donna!

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    I love the perspective! I love the visuals! I just loved it!

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    A great perspective to write from, H! Congratulations on a well-deserved Top Story!

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Ah, Christmas snowflake. I liked the way you took something that could have been twee and made it warm.

  • Pamela Walsh-Holte3 months ago

    Told from the heart of a snowflake, I loved this perspective! Congrats to you!

  • Alexander McEvoy3 months ago

    This was such a sweet story, Donna! I loved the sheer wonder and joy of my favourite season that you were able to capture here :) Congratulations on this most well-earned Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer3 months ago

    Back to say congrats!

  • Holly Pheni3 months ago

    Lovely piece, congrats on the top story! I adore the snowflake perspective, how very creative and sweet!

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    Even though I am not for the Christmas stuff...this was beautifully penned, Ms Fox. Well done and congrats on Top Story. Loved the joy in the snowflake providing the joy it gave to others and its life cycle. Stunning work, pal!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Very festive!

  • I'm so sorry D but I'm a tad confused πŸ˜… Who's the narrator in your story? I'm so sorry, I can be very slow sometimes πŸ˜… But your story was soooo beautifully penned, as always! I loved it!

  • Mark Gagnon3 months ago

    Sweet story, Donna! Have you tapped into your softer side? What happened to the murder mystery lady? Just kidding!

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Gosh you make me wish it was December again and we’re all getting ready for Christmas! Lovely!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    This has such a peaceful undertone, that lifts our spirits. So nice

  • Lana V Lynx3 months ago

    Delightful. Brought the Christmas spirit back to memory.

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer3 months ago

    This warmed the cockles of my heart and no mistake 😁❀️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.