Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Winter Wreck

Let's go sledding.

By Donna Fox (HKB)Published 4 months ago β€’ 1 min read
12
Winter Wreck
Photo by Jeremy McKnight on Unsplash

"Good M-"

"Shhh." My wife hushed me with a kind smile. Her eyes wrinkled in the corners as they met my gaze.

I cocked my head to the side in confusion as I paused in the doorway. I waited for an explanation in silence.

My wife's smile broadened, and her eyes twinkled with joy. Then she pulled her gaze from my confused form and nodded to something outside the scope of the porch.

I followed her gaze until I saw the young neighbour boys as they played in their front yard.

They were tightly bundled in head-to-toe winter suits with colourful mittens and boots. The two boys had built a snow ramp to race their sleds down.

I smiled at their creativity and quietly closed the door before I sat beside my wife on our front porch. I handed her a mug of coffee as we continued to watch the boys from behind the steam of our mugs.

We could hear the older one, Ralph, shout orders at the younger one like a misinformed drill sergeant. Until he was satisfied with the course they had built and they headed to the 'starting line', as they called it.

"Ready, Randy?" The older one asked.

"Ready." The younger agreed with an excited nod.

"Set go!" The older one called out, and they launched their sleds onto the snowy ramp, winding down their front yard towards the road.

Then, with the squealing sound of the tires coming to an abrupt halt, everything changed.

MicrofictionLoveHorrorCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Donna Fox (HKB)

Thank you for stopping by!! πŸ’šπŸ’™πŸ’œπŸ©΅

If you are interested in longer works by me, I have two books published on Amazon.

Jogger's Trail and Fox in The Hole.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Ouch! For them and for me, lol. Such an abrupt and dark end to a well-developed intro... So glad I read it!

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Oh, fuck. Did not see that coming. I guess no one does.

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    Oh F**K!!! That ending punched me right in the face! I never saw that coming. Great story-telling.

  • ThatWriterWoman3 months ago

    The tyres stopped because Ralph was an alien from Krypton with superpowers and he simply pushed the car out of the way, right? RIGHT?

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    Oh my god. I was like... what a cute story and then BAM!!!! ha! I wasn't expecting that ending! Great stuff.

  • HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA that ending had me cackling!! 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 I was like "Oh okay, two adults enjoying coffee while looking at those kids" and before I could finish my thought completely, you gave me the best gift anyone could ever give me! Hehehehehehehehehhe thank you so much for that! I was truly so pleasantly surprised!! Anyone reading my comment would be questioning what kinda monster am I 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 People, I'm the worst kind!! Hahahahahahahahahahaha. Loved your story so freaking much D!

  • Heather Hubler4 months ago

    I think my jaw is still hanging open and my mind is still trying to process!! AHHHH!!!! That felt like getting hit with a car. Great job!!

  • Brin J.4 months ago

    DONNA HOW COULD YOU?! I was not ready for such heart ache! This was me:😌-😊-πŸ₯°β˜•οΈ-THEN BAMπŸ˜±πŸ’” Do you see how there was no space for me to process before the horror? I'm deceasedπŸ’€ Lol, but in all seriousness, nice twist. It really got me... now excuse me while I go get my poor heart checked.

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Ooh, very spooky there at the end.

  • Alexander McEvoy4 months ago

    Oh no!! You done pulled a fast one on me, Donna!! 😱😱😱😱😱😱😱 This was so well done, it put a smile of fond remembering on my face. Then you swept the rug out from under me and showed off the horror beneath 😱 masterfully crafted!

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Oh no. Good but dark. πŸ™€

  • Dana Crandell4 months ago

    Oh no! This flashed me back to sledding my grandmother's house in Heber, AZ as a kid! There was a blind curve in a paved road at the bottom of the hill and we shot straight across it. We were so lucky!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Holy sheeeeeeeet Donna. Loved this. Dark as anything though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.