Fiction logo

A Slight Chance for Hope

A story of a time-traveler altering a historical event.

By Tiffany JoannePublished about a year ago 10 min read
1
Event 201 ("a scenario")

I woke up on a freezing cold, extremely dirty, yellow tile floor, my head pounding as if I had indulged in a night of some sort of extracurricular activity such as ecstasy. As I look up, everything spins, and my vision is still blurry. I see that I'm in a subway station. I look around, I definitely didn't dress properly for the occasion. It is freezing, and someone must have stolen my shoes because they are now missing. I quickly get to my feet patting myself down, everything else seems to be in order, whoever took my shoes must have needed them more than me. I need to find a store asap, I think I missed my mark, this definitely seems off. I pull out my phone and open up my locator, Boston, okay' Im not too far off, but what's the date? As I walk up the triple set of stairs leading out of the subway onto the streets, I see an older man reading the paper, I ask him the date, and he replies " uh, Tuesday, the 15th" I ask "what about the month and year?" He stares at me confused, "are you okay hun?" "yes, just a little cold" I reply shivering, "month and year?" "uhh, it's October 2019". Thank you I reply walking quickly away. As I walk shivering my ass off, I find myself in what seems to be a little china town, I run into the first store with clothing I see, it's a very cute quaint shop. The lady at the register looks as if she's 150 years old. And she looks at me as though I'm going to steal all her goods, I smile and wave to her, " Hi, I'm looking for a coat and shoes, "Oh Oh Okay" she says, then yells something in Chinese toward the back of the store, a younger lady walks out and up to me, " how can I help you?" "Hi I'm looking for a coat and shoes". She looks down at my bare feet and back up to my eyes. "Oh no shoes?" "what happened to shoes," she asked. Um I, I, my mind went blank for a second, not sure as to what exactly happened to them, "I gave them to someone who needed them more", I said. she smiled, "ahh you coat too?" I just smile back. She leads me to the back of the store, shows me the coats, and then points to the shoes. "thank you" I say. I find a very cool tan cloak that is totally my vibe and some cute little zip-up boots. I grab a pair of thick tights to put under my pants pay for them ask if I can use the dressing room to put on the tights and then I leave. Okay, I have three days until the Tabletop event. I need to get to New york and get a hold of my contact by tomorrow morning. Boy am I glad only my shoes are missing. I head back down to the subway station, time travel is still a very tacky thing, it's not perfect yet. I'm from the year 2052, I was born in The United States, September of 2020, during the "plan-demic" as my momma called it, My mom was a "theorist" who had no filter and a burning love for freedom. "The pandemic" was the start of a series of unrestricted biological, emotional, and mental violence. It was the biggest psyop the world has ever seen. It changed the world in catastrophic ways. 2020 was chapter one of the great reset, they started by releasing bio-weapons "viruses" on to the public, followed up with mass chemical explosions all over the world, which brought on World War III, which ultimately led up to agenda 2030, agenda 2050, and the onslaught of " smart cities" Which watched and tracked every moment of every person's existence. Privacy was completely evaporated and considered a terrorist threat. These psychopaths needed to be stopped. This week in New York they all sit down to play out what they call "Event 201" ("A Scenario") a scenario my ass, two years later this "scenario" becomes a reality. My mother always joked if she didn't have kids, she'd turn to a life of a sexy sniper, hunting down the psychos running the world, her number one victim, her most hated player, was the mastermind behind the biological warfare on mankind. The one the media praised for "predicting" the "pandemic". He paraded as a philanthropist, but he indeed is the evilest of them all. He and his wife had what they named " The Bill and Malinda Gates foundation" it was their shield, their funnel, their perfect little mask, this man is behind every GMO project on the earth, shoveling out billions upon billions of dollars into genetically engineered and modified food, into vaccines, into chemical aerosols in the sky aka "chemtrails" into "genetically editing" of the coral reefs the list goes on, anything having to do with altering mankind's DNA or the Earth as she sat in her perfection, he is in the foreground shoveling in millions of dollars. During 2020 Bill Gates started buying all the farmland he could, I'm telling you hundreds of thousands of acres of land, In my time, he owns nearly all agriculture, in 2052 there is no sun, ( they blocked it out) all the food is fake or, sorry, "genetically modified" there's no more gardens it's nearly impossible to grow plus you're not allowed to grow gardens, even the wealthy with their financial means can't grow. Very few plants still grow on earth, All the water is contaminated. All but what the "corporations own" of course. Time travel came into public view sometime in 2040, it's not used by civilians, but it exists. When my momma passed away, I vowed to live out her fantasy of taking down the "chess players". Having kids isn't a thing in the future. it's very rare to have children due to nearly everyone losing their reproductive capabilities, Thanks to foods and Vaccines. Only the very wealthy have children. My mom was very adamant about not allowing us to eat fake food, and she didn't vaccinate any of us. I was the only girl of three brothers. And tho my reproductive parts work just fine, I had no desire to bring forth children for the state to take control of. I worked day and night through my teens and 20s to get where I am today, it wasn't an easy feat, but I'm finally here. As I sat on the tram, I thought of my momma and how proud of me she would be. I alone was about to save mankind. It was about 3:30 AM when I reached New York. My contact was this Interesting Man named David, I met him when I was just a girl, back in 2030, he's the one that told me that time travel was a full-blown thing and had been for decades, if it wasn't for him I wouldn't be here. He was an older gentleman, with wild eyes, the kind that made most people very uncomfortable. He met me at the top of the sub stairs when I exited. I was so happy to see him that I squealed and squeezed him with all my strength. He laughed and said, "come on child". We went back to his place where he's been living for the past decade. He supplied me with all the things I would need, weapons, exact locations, clothes, and most importantly food. The best homemade meal I've ever had in my life. That's why he moved back in time, it was for the food. We sat and visited for the entirety of the next day exchanging information about the times, planning out my steps for tomorrow, and eating all the food I could handle. As night fell I made my way to the location of the "event". I have been planning out this day my entire life. The fact of that did not ease my nerves whatsoever, I don't think I've ever been this anxious in all my life. The plan was complicated, and because I'm alone, I have absolutely no room for error. As I approached the building I wore the outfits the workers inside had to wear to blend in. However, they have metal detectors and I have a bag full of various weapons and explosives. I was told to climb the fire shoot and use a door on the 7th floor, so that's what I did. I needed to make my way up to the top floor. As I walked the halls I was completely unnoticed, Everyone was so preoccupied with the event to even notice me. we were three hours out, I found the room the event was being held. To my surprise, it was completely unoccupied, I was so relieved, I quickly locked all the doors and got to work. This was a suicide mission, my plan was to blow this entire floor to smithereens. I have already placed a few explosives around the building on my way up here to the room. The explosives David and I put together are on a perfectly timed system. Once the first one goes off they will all automatically be triggered, and there will only be a few seconds in between each explosion. I make my way up to the table where all these assholes are planning to sit and place an explosive device under every chair, then proceed to place more throughout the room focusing on the "important players" suddenly the door to my left starts to raddle, my heart sinks and my hands begin to shake, I hide behind a huge curtain draped along the walls. A woman in a beautiful suit walks in with a man that looks insanely familiar, "these doors shouldn't still be locked, I thought I had ordered for the room to be opened up an hour ago." You did mam we have already spoke with the manager, He said the room was open and ready". " well apparently it wasnt". Everything looks good, make sure the projector is ready to go, and people can start being seated. About 20 minutes went by before the room started to fill up, I was so scared my heart started to pound deep and hard as I saw players of the "scenario" take their seats, one by one. Eventually, it was time. I took an empty seat when the room stopped filling up and the presentation began. To my surprise, Bill never showed up he chose to "zoom in" other words "work from home". How did I miss this crucial detail. This derails my whole plan. I start to panic, he is the mastermind behind all this he is the one that needs to go down, the one that needs to be stopped. What do I do? Do I run? My heart is pounding, and my palms dripping with sweat. Tears began to fall from my eyes. How could I fuck up so bad, and then I hear my mother's voice telling me its okay baby girl, don't worry, all is well that ends well, at least this will provide a huge message, this will most definitely prolong the plans, and the players will all be gone except for one. I take some deep breaths wipe my tears and wait about 30 minutes into the presentation before looking at my phone, it was now or never. I look around the room at all the innocent lives about to be lost, my stomach drops, I'll never know the outcome of this event. I can only pray that it all goes to plan. Such a slight chance of hope, especially now knowing that the one guy I wanted to stop the most isn't here, but it's all I have. I look back at my phone, which is connected to all the devices. Standing to my feet, I scream out, "For the Future"! I hear gasps and someone yells for security. I push the button on my phone to activate the explosives. The first one goes off and then one by one all the bombs under all the players go off. The fear I felt knowing my death was but moments away as the screams symphonized around me, was nothing compared to the pride I felt, knowing I had just single-handedly served justice to multiple generations and eradicated decades of pain across the planet. The sound of explosions and screams was the last thing I heard, not knowing how this will play out in the end, I die peacefully knowing my mom would be proud of the sacrifice I have taken for the rights of humanity.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tiffany Joanne

An all indulging artist just trying to free some thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    absorbing story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.