Fiction logo

A Gorgii Porgii Day...🌟🌟🌟🌟

Gorgii Porgii: Figuratively Gorgeous; Full Of Blessings

By Tiffany Gordon Published 6 months ago β€’ Updated 6 months ago β€’ 1 min read
21
A Gorgii Porgii Day...🌟🌟🌟🌟
Photo by Sixteen Miles Out on Unsplash

Leilani's hands shook as she reread each strip of notebook paper that she pulled from the "Blessings Jar" that she kept on her kitchen counter.

The first strip of paper read:

*$140,000 worth of student loans were just wiped away by the Biden Administration.

The second read:

*I just became first on Mercy Hospital's kidney transplant list.

And today, at 50, Leilani Pierce could add a positive pregnancy test to her "Blessings Jar". She could not believe that she would be becoming a mother after 21 years of trying!

The gist of the "Blessings Jar" is that on New Year's Day, each maternal grandchild receives an empty jelly jar from their grandma Herbert with their name on it to place their written blessings in. Throughout the year, each grandchild is supposed to write down their individual blessings on a slip of notebook paper, then place each blessing into their "Blessings Jar" until the end of the year. On December 27th, each grandchild is supposed to pull out each of their written blessings from their jar, then read them all at once to reflect on how truly blessed they've been.

Leilani had initially thought that "Blessings Jars" were mad corny but today, through the use of her "Blessings Jar", Leilani was able to tangibly see how many major blessings that the Lord had brought to her doorstep that year and boy did it feel good. She simply couldn't believe what a gorgii porgii day she was having.

Microfiction
21

About the Creator

Tiffany Gordon

I am a super-spiritual, fun-loving artist, writer, & peer-counselor residing in the Pacific Northwest. I am also an Institute of Children's Literature alumna who enjoys writing about the triumph of the human spirit.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    If we wrote them all down the jar would overflow. But we would have to pay very close attention, because every single day is a blessing...with extra ones which we tend to miss, while racing through our days. I should start that trend. Great idea. Hi T.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    I love your words , the story give it an amplified meaning πŸ₯°Blessing Jars are wonderful , it keeps you in gratitude of grace πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    πŸ‘πŸ‘That would sure would be nice Tiffany!! β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    I love the positivity in this. It actually made me feel good in the fact that we just don’t know how truly blessed we are! πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’–

  • Sara Wilson6 months ago

    Love this story and love this idea. I so want to create my own blessing jar for my family! I think with all the awful stuff going on in the world today, we need more things to bring some light. Great job :)

  • First of all, I loved the name Leilani! Second, that Blessings Jar is such a divine idea! Third, I love your word and story!

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    The Blessing Jar is something I've done. What a great story, Tiffany!

  • Antoinette L Brey6 months ago

    What a great idea. Loved the story

  • I think this is a Gorgii Porgii story. Well don Tiff

  • ✍️ Ms. Tiffany: I see you shining! Though I have been busy, I stop by every once and a while to see your lovely work such as this blessing. May you continue to write and be adored! πŸ™βœοΈπŸ’™βœοΈ

  • Gorgii-porgii, indeed!

  • I love this. That was wonderful.

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Such a beautiful, uplifting story. Well done.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    nice

  • I love this, Big sisβ™₯οΈπŸ“πŸ˜‰βœŒοΈπŸ’―

  • Diani Alvarenga6 months ago

    Amazing to read!

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    Amen. I love this Tiffany! It reminds me to count my blessings each and every day because his promises always come true. I was so happy for Leilani’s positive pregnancy test. Having a baby is a blessing we should never take for granted. Thank you for sharing this. πŸ’•πŸ’•

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Marvelous word & story!!!! Love this, my friend!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.