Fiction logo

A Dystopian Mirror

Image of an Alternate Reality

By Anthony ChanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Special Thanks to Nice M. Nshudi on Unsplash.com

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I couldn't believe what I was seeing. The image was distorted, twisted, and grotesque. It was as if the mirror was showing me a different reality altogether.

I tried to look away, but something compelled me to keep watching. The reflection seemed natural as the mirror's surface rippled like water. Soon, I was sucked into the mirror as if pulled by an invisible force.

As I was drawn into the mirror’s world, I realized it was terrifying. I saw images of unspeakable acts of violence and creatures that belonged in a dystopian nightmare. The images were so vivid that I was swallowed by human misery.

At first, I thought it was just a hallucination, a bad dream. But as I looked closer, I witnessed images entering my world. The mirror had become a portal between both realities.

I tried to break free from the mirror's grasp, but it was too strong. It was as if the mirror was alive and feeding off my fear. I knew I had to find a way out, or I would be trapped forever in this haunted mirror.

As the images continued to bleed into my world, I could feel my sanity slipping away. The line between reality and nightmare had become blurred, and I didn't know what was real anymore. The mirror had become my worst nightmare, and I was trapped inside it.

Days turned into weeks, and weeks turned into months. The mirror had become my only companion, and the images it showed me created my new world. I had become one with the mirror, and there was no turning back.

It was clear that the mirror had become a part of me. I was no longer Jonathan, the person I used to be. I had completely transformed into another person with a dark and terrifying personality.

Suddenly, the mirror shook without warning, and I could hear a faint whispering. It was like the voices of a hundred people talking at once, growing louder and more chaotic.

As I stumbled back in fear, I felt a cold breeze blowing across my face. The room was freezing, and I could see my breath crystallizing into thin icicles. The whispering grew louder, and I could hear screams and cries for help coming from within the mirror.

I knew I had to leave before it was too late. I turned to run, but I stumbled and fell to the ground. I could feel the cold creeping over my body as I lay there, helpless. It was like I was being dragged back into the mirror, into the terrifying alternate reality that lay within.

With all my strength, I managed to get back to my feet and run towards the door. But as I reached for the handle, I felt a sharp pain in my back. As I turned to see what had caused it, I saw a ghostly figure twisted, gnarled hand reaching out from the mirror.

With a cry of fear and desperation, I wrenched open the door and stumbled out into the hallway. I slammed the door shut behind me, and I could feel the coldness and the whispering slowly fading away.

I knew I had to get out of that house, out of that place, and never look back. It would take months, if not years, to recover from this ordeal. My only regret is that I couldn’t help any of the others trapped inside the mirror!

As I ran down the hallway, I could feel the presence of the haunted mirror still lingering behind me, waiting for its next victim.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.