Fiction logo

A Dystopian future

A Dystopian future

By Queen OliviaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
A Dystopian future
Photo by Patrick Perkins on Unsplash

There were only three of them so I wasn't sure they might come but knocking on the door meant something different. My sisters hugged within the corner of the space as I walked toward the door where the loud bang was loud. Gabriella holds the flowers behind her, unaware of the matter she is causing. I gave him an honest look but he only checked out the leaves that fell to his feet.

We had spent each day stumped which was only allowed a couple of times a year for the youngsters of the plaza. The Police people have given us this trip as a token day twice a year to enjoy it so we hope to urge back to our work plans thinking we will get what they need . Leaving alittle sandy area, where we were allowed to collect , we headed for home through The Policy, which still had trees and flowers. My mother told me before her death that folks in Polweni have property and as a result are ready to manage those that don't have it. He also explained that it had been not always the case but because the earth had less space and therefore the water level was rising there was less movement. If you probably did not have land before the floods you ought to have found differently to be a part of the upper class . My family lived during a plaza. The people that lived on the plaza didn't have an equivalent rights as those that were a part of the Policy. We had no land. We had no access to wash water. Rainwater are often stored in barrels and stored under our buildings. Our family owned alittle two-room apartment. My father worked long hours just to form ends meet. He turned to alcohol to flee his truth. He was often arrested for drinking publicly . On today , he was in prison. My aunt taken care of us nightly to form sure we had what we would have liked . He also made an agreement with the owner , who may be a member of the Policy, to figure long hours cleaning the buildings to urge rent.

The people within the Policy had big houses with big barracks round the porch. We could see their yards and delightful gardens sometimes when there was a car driving or a branch that had grown over a fence while we were on our thanks to school or work program. Especially on these beach days there was always a door left open by the landowner who forgot that the youngsters of the plaza would be walking faraway from the neighbors. Today was one among those days. My sisters, Gabriella, whom we wont to call Gabby, were seven years old, and Addison, who was four, wandered behind me once I saw glimpses of such a wide-open door on a powerful mansion. Peering inside I could see a gorgeous garden with flowers, lillies and dahlias. There was even a bird bath with a shiny fountain of water. the outline of of these flowers was a line of orange and gold Marigolds. I knew that Marigolds was the holiest of all flowers as they were considered "protectors". My mother taught us about flowers from picture books within the library. Gabby just loved to seem at the gorgeous colors. i might look and be amazed but I also understood that flowers represent just another a part of life taken from the people of the plaza. The flowers didn't grow on the plaza. there have been too many critics and there was no good soil. Also, the water was already so hard we couldn't waste it on the flowers. the sole one who might be Marigolds. Marigolds could get older with little water. the brilliant pink and yellow flowers give off a fragile , protective effect on plants like tomatoes and cucumbers. If you grow Marigolds, you'll protect some flowers and have an opportunity within the garden. If you grow Marigolds, you'll have more access to vegetables and healthy foods. My mother had several Marigolds once we were young. He planted beans and potatoes within the public space that wont to get on the farm before the land was sold to a different member of the Policy. At just one occasion , Policy people were selling Marigold but the worth was too high. Marigolds represented the trail of these at the plaza and therefore the people of the Policy know that it's better to hold close the plants than to lose any control.

When I saw the gate open, i noticed that I needed to act quickly with my sister. Addison was slow and straightforward to direct but Gabriella was fast. Before I knew it he was inside the gate and pulled the Marigolds straight to the basis . I complained to him but he wouldn't leave until he had three. He wanted one among us. I ran and grabbed her but she held me tight. I just knew we had to travel . I threw dirt over the now empty holes where the flowers were. As I held her arm she turned and checked out me "Elise don't be concerned . I'll plant them. We'll have a garden again. Like Momma!"

“Gabby let's go! they're going to follow us! We must stay together! ”

So he came with me as I picked up Addison and ran back to our small building on the plaza. For a short time it seemed as if there have been no worries as nobody came. My aunt brought us water for bathing and gave us pasta for dinner. Gabby hid the plants during a cupboard. My aunt took the scent and passed it on to the cleansing solution she had used before. I recently cleaned up and helped both Gabriella and Addison take a shower.

We had became bedding. Gabby was holding flowers and lecture them like her friends. Addison was already asleep and trying to observe while i attempted to figure on my homework at college . First, I felt the steps. Now as I approached and knocked on the door my twelve-year-old hands shook. I opened the door slightly to ascertain an enormous man and a lady who were clearly not appearing on the plaza the way they were dressed.

"Are you Elise Oliver?" asked the lady . I nodded and kept my eyes fixed on her. He wasn't young but not old. Maybe about forty. Her hair was neatly pulled and her clear skin marked the skinny lines round her mouth as she smiled softly expecting my response.

"Can I come in?" I opened the door and stepped back. He came in and wandered around a touch . Man

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.