Fiction logo

A Cruel Gambit

A warrior risks all for his one true love...

By Dr. Dick JonesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read

"You won’t be coming back. You know that, right? You know this is a suicide mission, right?" Suzanne’s voice was higher pitched than usual, but yeah, I know I am making a one-way trip.

I flex the finger joints on the left hand of my power armour suit, balling them up into a fist. She doesn’t see what I am holding.

"I mean there won’t be any recovery operation. No rescue if it all goes wrong."

I nod, and ask her to check the hydraulic level in my secondary leg servos.

"No medical services if you’re injured, or…or…", her voice trails off. I stop my ammo count and meet her gaze. Soft blue eyes. Why do you care? My heart is already pledged to another. If you knew the truth about me, just a fraction, would you be so concerned for my well-being?

"You can pretend to be sick, or there could be a malfunction in the main comp…please, Sebastian – "

I shake my head. I have a job to do, a promise to keep. I return to my armour’s pre-start check-up sequence. Is Suzanne crying? I try to avoid meeting her gaze again.

"Bastard! Why do you treat me so!?"

What does she mean? I don’t understand. What does this technician think she is to me?

I step away and shrug. My armour’s systems clatter noisily as they try to mimic an action they were never designed for. Suzanne looks at the floor, biting her lower lip. I turn away and enter the drop pod, flexing my neck joint to work the seals in, but they won’t be needed once I drop below 26,000-feet.

I look at Suzanne one last time. She is crying. I am surprised I feel something for her after all.

I open my mouth to say something comforting, but it is too late: the drop pod hatch slams shut and the capsule explodes away from the body of the ship. A few seconds of intense spiralling motion, and then it’s just the rushing of the air against the outer skin of the pod, the bright blue of Earth spread out beneath me. It has only been 10 years since we abandoned the planet to them, but already it looks like we were never there.

The pod drops to the correct height, explosive bolts trigger automatically, blowing the outer shell apart as the inner, ablative layers burn away with the last of the re-entry heat, designed to make any observer think I’m a meteor burning up in the atmosphere and hopefully obscuring me from anything below.

The parachute deploys – retro rockets would be my preference, but the heat signature after re-entry would draw their anti-aircraft like moths to, well, a flame.

The ruins of New Orleans rush up to meet me…how did she used to say it? N'awlins? I remember a hot summer day, a picnic, Spanish moss drooping from oak and bald cypress trees…and the gift of a simple, heart-shaped locket, a pledge of undying love.

I spot the shattered hulk of the river barge, rusted red iron amongst the now pure blue of the Mississippi, winding through the old city. I steer my armour towards the barge. Moments later, my suit smashes into the deck with bone-jarring force, driving the air from my lungs and hurting my legs, despite the servos absorbing the bulk of the impact. Couldn’t risk deploying the parachute earlier for a softer landing.

I remain crouched, catching my breath. All is still, quiet. I open my left fist, finally. The heart-shaped locket dangles on a thin chain, undamaged.

“Seb! Move!” Suzanne’s voice explodes in my ear, nearly giving me a cardiac arrest. “They are all around you! Converging on your position!”

I curse. I don’t have long. I head for a nearby doorway, guided by my suit’s computer superimposing a digital map into the corner of my vision via my implanted interface link. My right leg drags a little, something got busted in the landing. No time to stop and figure out what it is.

Despite my limping gait, I crash into the rusted metal door full-force, backed by the 900-lbs of power armour – the door gives way without even a hint of resistance, and I fall unexpectedly into the vessel. Worse, the metal stepladder beyond also collapses, and I slam face down into the hold. Outside I can hear their cries, their howls. Damn them!

I command full boost power from the suit, and rise as if I am dragged upright by cables.

“Target is 300-feet ahead,” reports Suzanne, but all I can see is her. I can feel her in my arms, rolling on the grass, soft lips meeting my cheek. She is all heat and hair, and all I want is to feel her again, to taste her sweetness...

The flechette burst takes me off-guard. I wasn’t concentrating! The steel darts patter off of my armour, turned from lethal metal spikes – capable of ripping a man apart at close range – to harmless flattened disks that resemble the old currencies we abandoned long ago.

A second burst patters from my helm like rainfall. I spot the launcher, and burn it out with a short beam from the suit’s las-canon. I’m so close now! Another door, this one intact and sturdy. I punch my fist into the steel and it splits. Beyond is the cargo hold, open to the sky. They have got here first, the metal charred and twisted.

Rows of lozenges line the cargo hold – refugee lifepods, most of them torn open or smashed…but one is intact amongst them, pale blue and green lights along its flanks indicate it still holds life.

“Sebastian! What are you doing!? Don’t stop – the target is still ahead!”

Two, three bounds and I’m alongside her lifepod, running my gauntleted hand across its surface, the locket held out in front of me, like a talisman to ward off evil. In my mind’s eye, Suzanne’s image fades and is replaced.

Something hits me from behind.

It is agony, heat, crippling pain. I feel myself falling, the floor coming up to meet me again, and this time I know I won’t be rising, boost power or no. The locket flies from my grasp, bouncing sideways across the floor, opening as it skids along the warped metal. I can see the picture inside, a tattered remnant of a photo, of me, holding her close.

My daughter.

I’m aware of Suzanne still screaming in my ear, but I can’t make out the words anymore. I try and twist to see what hit me, but all I can make out in the gloom is a hulking metallic figure.

It towers above me now. I wish he had left me alone, just for a minute more, but he is emotionless, looking down at me. He seems strangely familiar. Metal, curved lines…another power armour suit. One of them? Or is he me? A cruel reflection? Is there a Suzanne waiting for him, back at base, too?

I want to ask, but he just points that damn gauss rifle he’s carrying at my head.

Bastard!

Suzanne, I lo-

Adventure

About the Creator

Dr. Dick Jones

From within a concealed geodesic dome within the crater of Mount Erebus of Antarctica, I - Dick Jones - plan and plot my global domination!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dr. Dick JonesWritten by Dr. Dick Jones

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.