Fiction logo

A Bridge Between Two World

Finding Utopia

By Tyler Simmonds Published about a year ago 4 min read
1

The stars sparkled in the evening sky, silhouetting the skyline and engulfing the city in a magical, yet peaceful atmosphere. I stood on the roof of my apartment building, looking out across the sprawling metropolis, contemplating my purpose here.

I had been drawn to this place in the early 2000s, for some unknown reason. Maybe it was the open-mindedness, the bright lights, and the optimistic energy that force me here. I didn't know. But there was something about it that called out to me and made me feel like I belonged.

And now here I was, nearly 25 years later, still living in the same apartment, same city, and still searching for the same purpose.

I sighed an almost melancholic sigh, as I could feel the mysteries of the universe surround me - tight and complex. I breathed in deep, feeling the energy of this place, of the people, and of the night sky.

Just then, I heard a loud rumble, like a million explosions of electricity. I quickly looked up, and to my amazement, there was a gleaming, golden beast of a machine hovering in the air only a few feet away from me. The noise it made was deafening, but I was entranced by its shining beauty.

All of a sudden, the door to the machine opened, and out stepped a figure wearing a long, black trench coat and a top hat. I was about to back away in shock and fear, but something about this figure brought with it a sense of comfort and safety.

The figure stepped closer and spoke in a deep, encompassing voice that seemed to come from all around me, “Greetings, traveler! I am a time traveler, and I am here to take you on an incredible journey.”

I didn't say anything at first, but I felt myself being drawn to the figure and their machine. They reached out and placed their hand on my arm and said, “Come with me, and I will show you a world that you have only dreamed of.”

The next thing I knew, we were zooming through the night sky until we arrived at a beautiful and faraway land; it was clear that it was centuries past my time, and I was in awe at the reality of the beauty I had been brought to.

We wandered through the strange and wondrous land, culture clashing with modernity. Everywhere we looked, time seemed suspended in a suspended animation of sorts, with seemingly ancient architecture stretching towards a skyline meant for the gods. My newfound companion never strayed far from my side, and I felt protected behind his mysteriousness.

We soon arrived at a small village with a single winding cobblestone street, where children played in the street, and old men and women sat on their porches watching the day go by. My companion handed me a curious artefact to examine, which, though seemingly simple, seemed to resonate with a power that I had never felt before.

He pointed out a nearby building and motioned for me to follow, his long coat billowing subtly in the breeze. We traveled through the doors, and I was hit with a wave of nostalgia, though I had never stepped foot in this place before. I muse, mesmerised by the antiquated décor and the smells of spices and incense that wafted through the air.

My companion suddenly stopped, and I quickly followed suit, watching as he bowed his head and kneeled down in what seemed to be deep contemplation. I found myself nervously fidgeting as he sat in silence for what felt like an eternity. Finally, he lifted his head, and a curious light shone in his eyes as he said to me “It is time to discover your purpose.”

I hesitated, uncertain what exactly he meant by those words, but I found myself strangely compelled to step forward. He stood and rested an arm on my shoulder and said “You are the bridge between the two worlds, the one that will bring harmony and peace to the world and send it out into the universe. You will discover the paths in life that few traverse, and you will be blessed with the beauty of the beyond.”

I felt a sudden warmth spread across my body and knew in that moment that I had found my purpose. I took a step back, awestruck by my newfound knowledge, and looked back at my companion. He smiled at me, his top hat illuminated by a shaft of moonlight, and nodded in acceptance.

With that, he vanished, leaving me behind standing in the same spot, mesmerised by the discovery I had made. I turned around and slowly made my way back out into the village, sensing that my journey

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tyler Simmonds

Tyler Simmonds is an Award Winning Canadian Film Director and Keynote Speaker. Tyler is a writer who pulls from real life experiences. Combining fact with fiction, darkness with light. Using words to test the boundaries of fear.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    you have a new subscriber

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This is beautiful

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.