Fiction logo

7 - Silence 8- Web

30 Stories, 30 days

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

7 – Alone

We treasure those moments when we are left alone.

Left inside the house, left to your own devices,

The trouble comes when you are left with your own thoughts.

You may be surrounded by people, voices jumping out in every direction,

But the mind can be a dangerous place.

The thoughts can niggle their way through a good time, stop you in your tracks,

Reminding you that people are with you presently, but everyone is alone within their mind.

The suspicions and doubts try to worm their way into your brain,

Mushing all possible reasoning,

Juicy minds seem the best to control, fleshy skin and untamed minds ready to mould.

The most delectable is always the vulnerable.

Once was strong, know rotting from decay.

When we are both alone together, I can burry deep inside,

I will tighten your screams as they try and let loose.

You can try to beg, you can try to ask for assistances,

But truly,

we both know,

I am the only one for you.

Signed,

ALONE.

8- Web

The following story is set out like a conversation over a message dating app.

Ben: Athena, that’s an unusual name, where is that from?

Athena: I don’t know, its just a name.

Ben: Well, it’s beautiful.

Athena: Sorry, can I stop you right there, if you’re going to start off with all this, I’m off.

Ben: No! I mean, I’m sorry, start again?

Pause.

Athena: Ok

Ben: Hey, how are you?

Athena: Honestly, I know it’s a bit personal, but not great.

Ben: Awe, how come?

Ben: Scratch that, forget I said anything.

Athena: It’s fine. Bad luck seems to follow me everywhere...

Ben: What do you mean?

Athena: Are you sure you want me to tell you? It’s a bit deep...

Ben: I’m all ears. I know you cant see me right now, but my arms are open wide.

Athena: Okay... bit weird.

Ben: Sorry, too cheesy?

Athena: A bit.

Athena: But its all good. Weird is good.

Ben: Most Definitely.

Pause.

Athena: My mum died.

Ben: I’m sorry… that’s awful!

Athena: Thanks ...

Ben: Can I ask what happened?

A few moments pause.

Athena: It happened this morning.

Ben: Oh my god! I’m so sorry! Is there anyone with you?

Athena: My dad, but its just so hard seeing him like this.

Pause.

Ben: I lost my dad, a few years ago.

Athena: I’m sorry.

Ben: I know how you feel. It doesn’t make sense, even now.

Pause.

Ben: But it will get better Athena, I promise.

Athena: Let’s chat about something happier...

Ben: Alright, its up to you? What do you want to talk about?

Athena: What do you like to do, you know, in your free time?

Ben: The usual really, listen to music, jam on the guitar...

Athena: You play guitar? Damn, that’s cool.

Ben: Thanks, I can’t play that well mind you. What about you?

Athena: Oh, I can’t play anything, I do like music though... I’m much more of an Artist.

Ben: Oooh! What do you paint?

Athena: I don’t. I make sculptures.

Ben: Any I’d know? Only joking…

Athena: I’ll send you a link to my website if you like.

Ben: Okay, that would be great.

Pause for several moments.

Athena: www.outlivethespider.org

Athena: There we are, you can just click it.

Pause for five minutes.

Ben: Erm... Athena...

Athena: What’s up?

Ben: Are you sure you sent me the right link? This is just a black screen with the website name in the centre with a picture of a black widow spider... I’m confused?

Athena: Outlive the spider, yes that is correct.

Ben: But where is the sculptures?

Pause

Ben: Hang on...

Paused for several minutes.

Athena: Ben? Are you still on?

Athena: Ben?

Ben: I think you’re websites glitching… static just keeps appearing every moment I blink...

Ben: It’s getting faster...

Athena: Oh, Benny boy...

Ben: Do you know what’s going on?

Athena: Can you hear that?

Ben: Yeah... where is that coming from?

Athena: There will be a phone placed inside the spider’s web, click it.

Ben: And if I don’t want to? This is sketchy as...

Athena: Click it or I will.

Ben: What? I don’t understand. Who are you?

Pause.

“Hello Ben.” A video from both sides of screen appeared in the middle of the web.

Athena, an older woman, looking drained and bloody smiled unnervingly at Ben who was sat in frame sat upon his bed under the covers shaking. On top of Athena’s lap was blood. Everywhere bloody, her sheets, the walls a shade of Scarlett, teeth pointed like daggers, with the body of a woman on her lap.

“Who is that...” He nervously said.

“The fly.”

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.