Fiction logo

<3 Shaped Lk+

From the Log of Dr. Artu Dittu, A Scientist

By Sara MammanPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
A hopeful outlook

Wed, Jun 30. 12.02pm Lake Pontchartrain.

Given the sequence of events that are rapidly unfolding, it is time for me to initiate my Doomsday Plan.

Fire and Brimstone? Check.

Locusts (ew)? Check.

Panic at the Disco? Check.

The world seems to be, quite frankly, falling to pieces, and I seem to be the only sane actor in the chaos. I am enough of a scientist to know that THAT cannot possibly be the truth. If I am the last sane person that I can find, that only means that Doomsday is upon us, and that all the other sane people have traveled to Ship Island. Clearly.

So, I embark on my vessel, the good ship Notus.

I do not own it in title, but in spirit, as its owner, the recently deceased Andy Wimley was a dear compatriot of mine. He would fondly refer to me as First Mate, though I never wanted to be the Skipper. I would offer to bring passengers, but everyone around me seems to view me as a threat or a lunatic.

It is not really my place to negotiate the survival of anyone other than myself. If they would rather face the Piper themselves, so be it. I just know that I have no interest in watching needless suffering, much rather succumbing to it myself.

I choose the journey to the unknown, laced with possible death.

I choose not to subject myself to a worse quality of living than I have had.

I choose to sail from Orleans Marina, NOLA to Ship Island, Mississippi without having a day's worth of solo sailing experience.

I channel the wisdom and guidance of my dear friend and former skipper, Andy, who taught me everything I know about sailing.

And I submit myself to the will of the Universe on whether or not I succeed.

----- **** ----- **** ----- **** -----****-----

Wed, Jun 30. 2.05pm Lake Pontchartrain.

After some aimless maritime wandering in Lake Pontchartrain, I collect my thoughts enough to focus on a Plan.

Here are the facts:

- I need to arrive at Ship Island before noon on July 15, 2021 because that is when my access code (<3 Shaped Lk+) will expire.

- I am only a fair-weather sailor.

- I will need to recharge my electronics every 2 days under normal circumstances, and I can extend battery life an extra 2 days if careful.

- I have enough medication to last me 2 weeks.

- I have enough food for 3-4 days, and scavenging for food will take at least a day unless I figure out how to fish. I have an infinite supply of fresh water.

The weather today was sunny, with some transient summer showers. I had to get the bilge pump running already in the last couple of hours because Notus has taken on some water from the errant rainstorm. A healthy easterly was blowing, and I was keeping a close reach towards the side of the shore.

The target today is to get to Northshore Beach by sunset, with a plan to anchor offshore. I do not plan to leave the ship, but I like the option to disembark if possible.

Then:

7/1 - Early start to traverse the Rigolets, with an intention to dock at Grand Island by the end of the day. Rest and recharge; stock up on supplies

Either 7/2 or 7/3 - Depending on how much rest I need and how arduous the journey has been, this will be the final push. Assuming perfect conditions, it will take 10 hours from Grand Island to Ship Island.

Additional stops, if necessary: Heron Bay, for safe haven from bad weather. Henderson Point, if I have to stay close to shore. Gulfport as a final city dock (food/supplies/pick up passengers/etc) before directly sailing out to Ship Island.

----- **** ----- **** ----- **** -----****-----

Arriving at the Gate

The pages from my journey were lost due to inclement weather; I will have to recreate them once I am safely inside. It was an intense escapade, filled with near misses and lucky bounty. Sailing through the rainstorms took far more resilience than I ever imagined, I am permanently altered as a human being. I also learned when to push my limits, and when to play it safe. Taking a three-day break was necessary for my arm to heal before I could get back to captaining the sailboat solo. Also, I never thanked the heavens so much as when that fish flopped into my deck. It took me a minute to gather my wits, but I was able to bludgeon it to death and then cook it with my JetBoil. That saved me a three-day resupply spree, and heaven knows I cut my time down to the wire. I arrive at the Gate with 12 hours to spare.

It is not what I envisioned. I was given an access code, so I thought it would look a little more.. futuristic? It reminds me of a prop from a 1980s science fiction movie, but who am I to judge.

I walk up the steps, and.. knock? Three times for good luck, as I was taught.

"Who goesit"

"Er. Dr. Dittu? I was told by the Guild to come here by July 15 if I wanted to join the expedition to Mars. Is that not what is happening here?"

"No, is happ'nin. Where'sya lockit?"

"What locket?"

I was flummoxed.

"I have an access code? "<3 Shaped Lk+". Is that what you mean?"

"No'mam. That wuz before when we'z thot we had time for fancy door. Ain't no time, had to stick with de ol' skool version. Dese standard if ya gonna be Martian."

"Okay. Well, how do I get in?"

Mr Doorman let out a long, belabored sigh.

"Das de one milyun dolla question, innit? Why din'cha check yo mail before ya left home?! We mailed ja da damn lockit!"

I felt nauseous, my hands searched for steadiness to ease my weary legs.

"Let me get this straight. Y'all mailed me the key by USPS, which I needed to present to you here to get past the door?"

"Yup yup yup yup yup"

There were suddenly two Doormen Yipping and Yupping in unison.

"Well, I don't have it. What else can I do to get in? There has to be someone else who got stuck out here like me."

"Dey mostly went home, decided to face the Piper. To be fair, most of dem flew. Youse took de hard way by boat."

Internal groan. I was definitely not getting back on Notus, as good a ship she was. Dr. Artu Dittu only goes forwards, even when she has made a mistake.

"Alright, my friends. Help me understand what I need to do to get in. I don't have the key, can I bring you something similar to count?"

The two Doormen Yipped and Yupped unintelligbly at each other.

"Jus needs to be a hart-shaped lockit."

Alright, then.

I scramble back to shore, yelling over my shoulder that I will be back. My first stop is to ravage Notus' deck, looking for anything I own that might be vaguely heart-shaped or locket-esque. I never wear any jewelry, so this is a pointless endeavor.

I do find some twine, which will have to make do.

Should I just cut out some paper into the shape of a heart? Should I whittle some from soap or wood? Does it need to be personal, should I write the name or number of a loved one inside the makeshift locket?

Should I go back and ask the Doormen for help? Or will they penalize me?

The hopelessness coupled with dehydration and sun-sickness from my two-week sailing trip overpowers me. I stretch out on the shore and I give in to the delirium that I have been fighting for days. The colors bleed together, the shapes begun to throb. I hear voices of angels, and heaven calling my name.

I feel at peace, and I feel loved.

And at the end of the reverie, I feel like I can do no wrong, as long as I try my hardest.

So!

I sit up.

I find the closest rock that looks like a heart.

I wrap it picturesquely with twine and tie it around my neck.

I march back to the Gate and yodel for the Doormen.

They yodel back, which makes me smile.

I take the locket off my neck.

I put it in the slot.

I pray.

"Good nuff, doc. Welcome aboard."

The Gate yawns open and I breathe le sigh of relief.

Adventure

About the Creator

Sara Mamman

Former emergency physician, reincarnated writer.

Classically influenced:

-Poe

-Dostoevsky

-Christie

-Atwood

-Orwell

-Hemingway

-Verne

-Wells

(and the only woman who truly saw me)

-Arundhati Roy.

Attempting the Next Great American Novel. OBO :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SMWritten by Sara Mamman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.