Fiction logo

3. "critical times"

Section Scarlet's Pulseless Heart

By Shyne KamahalanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3. "critical times"
Photo by Zetong Li on Unsplash

THREE YEARS AGO: A CASUAL HANG-OUT

Nova twirled her index finger in a strand of her hair flirtatiously, as if she didn't have an audience, and the scene was unaccepted by my vision. My brain couldn't process it no matter how hard it tried. I don't want to say that I can speak for all of us, but I'm dang near to certain that I can.

Compared to the way I've seen her just moments before, she appeared as an entirely different person. She spent a good portion of the morning on a rant when she picked us up at the airport -- she had no fear to express that she was mad then, because Ryan was running behind us. Around him, she was an angel, but he's the only exception I've seen so far.

To drag on our tease that she asked him out in the group chat that's been dead for months, and to make fun of her for not getting a proper answer from him for the same reason, we all showed up to see her in person to go on the so-called "date" together with them.

Yeah. It was an accident that brought the group back together again, but this time, in Australia. Nova's mistake could take all the credit for that, entirely, because with the way life was going for the last couple of years, I doubted that we would see each other ever again.

But now that Ryan was here, sitting among us, she wouldn't take her eyes off of him, and those heart eyes we saw years ago were still there as if they hadn't left for a second. The girl was capable of being a total monster, but only in the times she wanted to be, and with Ryan, who had no confirmation of returning her very-open feelings, was that switch able to be turned off.

"So," she started to speak, without batting an eye, unless you count the way they fluttered when she sat across from him. She picked up a fork and poked at the food on his plate until she got a good amount, and took a bite. So much for taking us to the best restaurant in the area if she wasn't going to let us eat. "What was your major like -- studying film?" She attempted showing personal interest in him.

"It was -- you know -- cool," Ryan replied, clearly feeling strange. The man could be the confident type if he felt he was allowed to be, but around her, he didn't have that natural flowy-nature, and it seemed to me that was all the answer the woman needed. She didn't stop though, in any form, and it made me wonder if she genuinely couldn't take a hint, or if she was trying to push it far enough that he'd change his mind. Either way, she was insane in the most miserable of ways.

I felt bad for him. I already let them be at their first meeting, and it was only now it was hitting me that it was possible if I would've stepped in he wouldn't have been in this situation. Because of that, I had this agony in my gut that told me I owed him.

"It was fun," I entered the conversation despite not being invited to. I had the most potential than anyone to break into this conversation because I knew about it myself -- I've experienced similar things that he must've, and while I talked he would be able to take a breather. Obviously, by the color of his face, he hasn't in a while.

The rest of us have each been silent the entire time, and since we were here, no matter how pissed she was at us this morning, we all had right to talk. She could complain, and I bet already -- complain she will. Every front eventually disintegrates, and hers had to be coming up.

Before I said any more words, I prepared myself for that on the inside. Clearing my throat, I forced myself on despite knowing I'd be looked down on for doing it.

I got the chance to ramble, and I took it. That's how I tried to look at it.

"If it's not different in Europe, we took a course called 'motion pictures and television' and we were able to work with professionals in the industry doing hands-on assignments. From directing, producing, shooting, editing, designing, writing -- we did it all. It felt good too because that feeling that we get from the movies we love, we get to create it for somebody else, even if our audience was a whole lot smaller than what the Hollywood stars get. It's the best kind of satisfaction I've ever known, I wish I could've gotten a bigger taste of it. Imagine someone smiling because of you. Fantastic, isn't it?"

Nova rolled her eyes, and once she was done with the initial part of her attitude, she was near-to transitioning to the thunder of it. Glaring me down like she did Jayvee years back, I felt small. Witnessing and falling victim to it were incredibly different things, and I can say that with conviction. I felt for Jayvee back then, sincerely.

"I don't care about your major, Lexoni. I was asking him for a reason," she blurt out, her image breaking down, just as I expected.

For the first time since I've seen him today, Ryan started to laugh. It was gentle, as he didn't intend to rub the facts in anybody's face despite everything he had to go through, but he couldn't help but to let out a quick and quiet giggle. He covered it with a cough, as smoothly as a human could, but that didn't mean none of us noticed. We knew, and that included Nova. Her angered expression fading to neutrality proved it.

"Didn't you hear him? We share the same major," he said in a near-to monotone. The proud smile on his face looked good on him, for the sole reason that it was evidence that his confidence was being fueled back into him. It might sound messed up that the only time I saw that look on him was when Nova and her ego were being squashed to the soil, but in their own scenarios, in my opinion, they both deserved it.

"No offense, Novs," he continued. "You're a pretty girl. I'm just not ready for a relationship right now. I have a lot on my plate."

Her cheeks flushed red, and she stood up, but she couldn't get herself to walk. She just stood there in front of her chair, fists clutched at her sides, and despite being taller than us, and despite her looking down at us from her higher height when we were still sitting, it was her turn to feel two feet tall. Without anything to come out of her mouth, there was silence at our table. That is, except Jared, and to my surprise, Jewee as well, who did everything they could to hold back from saying "Ooh! Burn!" or "how embarassing," or whatever it is they would say.

"Anyway," Jayvee perked up, of course being the one to break the muted period. "Who wants to go camping? I heard there's good spots around here, right Nova?"

Everyone stood up after the part we had to empty our wallets, as word that we were in, and we went on our way.

Nova did too, lagging a bit at our backs, but she left her sass behind.

Her lips were zipped.

Series

About the Creator

Shyne Kamahalan

writing attempt-er + mystery/thriller enthusiast

that pretty much sums up my entire life

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Shyne KamahalanWritten by Shyne Kamahalan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.