Fiction logo

27,890 ft

Snow Micro Challenge

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
12
27,890 ft
Photo by Theodor Lundqvist on Unsplash

Breath has always been mine without thought, but each frigid inhale is all-consuming here. I check my oxygen tank—there is enough to summit. I breathe to full capacity, yet I am not satiated. Every minute feels like a slow suffocation, a drowning on dry land. The more thought I give to the act of breathing, the more lightheaded I become. My heart pounds a deafening survival anthem, and suddenly, I have a sickening feeling that I will die here. Panic whips over me like the thrashing snow beating against my goggles.

I cannot give up this dream!

Ignoring every warning signal my body sends as it pleads with me to turn back, I take the next calculated step on the narrow trail; my boot catches ice, and I crash to my knees. Frozen bone hits rock, sending pain coursing through my body.

Ananda, my sherpa, turns to ensure I’m ok, and I slowly offer him a weary thumbs up. Truth be told, I’m grateful for the throbbing sensation. It reminds me that I am, in fact, still alive.

Ananada nods and points to a cave off the trail where the remains of a crumpled body attached to a pair of green boots lie motionless in the blowing snow. I feel a twinge of guilt as this sight instills hope within me; his death marks the elevation of my achievement. I silently offer my respects to the trail marker as I come to my feet.

The summit is in my grasp.

MicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
12

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Dulcius ex asperis!

  • In case anyone would like to read about the tragic story of Green Boots: https://www.greatnepaltreks.com/green-boots-everest/ https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Boots

  • Breathtaking!

  • K. Kocheryan3 months ago

    I understand, but then I don't when it comes to the idea of climbing Everest. Anyway, great job!

  • Teresa Renton3 months ago

    I love all the questions this gives rise to …. Who was the body? Why has it not been removed? Why was the narrator on this mission? What is the back story? Nicely done 😍

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is both exhilarating and terrifying. Excellent work, my friend.

  • Mohammed Darasi3 months ago

    I honestly don't understand how people can do stuff like this. I'd prefer sitting in a nice warm place with tea in my hand. Climbing through cold and snow is too scary 😳. Great story Kristen 👏🏽

  • Not me thinking sherpa was a cute slang for german shepherd 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Luckily I Googled it hahahaha. Your story was so powerful! I loved it!

  • Grz Colm3 months ago

    Nicely compelling! Great job Kristen!! 😃

  • Real Poetic3 months ago

    Great entry! Very intriguing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.