Fiction logo

175 Nunsuch — Part 1

For Sunday, June 23, Day 175 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 6 days ago 2 min read
"Psst...it'll never last."

Catholics call seven the "Age of Reason," when we're old enough to tell right from wrong; to know when a sin's grievous enough to be a mortal sin--bad enough to go to Hell.

We were taught we're all sinners. Even when we're babies. And Jesus died for our sins.

"Jesus, can you do me a favor?"

Sure.

"Would you die for me?"

Why?

"For my sins."

You're seven.

"Hey, I don't make the rules."

I was talking when she had explicitly instructed, "No talking," so Sister Lillian, my first-grade teacher, slapped the shit out of me while lined up for First Friday Mass.

We were taught making the Sign-of-the-Cross earned three years' "indulgence." The Catechism said it. I could knock three years off my time in Purgatory, which was just as bad as Hell--with all the burning alive stuff--except you leave after you've paid your time.

Ever been burned? Burning hurts. Three years less being burned alive sounded smart.

Instead of recess, I made Signs-of-the-Cross. And then--with holy water--it'd be seven years! Now I dunked my fingers in holy water all recess. I could make 900 Signs-of-the-Cross--over 5,000 years of Purgatory, commuted.

Sweet.

I asked Sister how many years I'd get in Purgatory for a small lie right after I told her a small lie. She told me even a small sin would mean millions of years in Purgatory. I wasn't really into long division to see how many recesses crossing myself were needed for millions of years, but I figured recesses were better spent running with other kids.

"Jesus, how many years off for you dying for my sins?"

Doesn't work like that.

"How's it work?"

Go my way--and there's no arithmetic.

I hated arithmetic. Whatever way Jesus was going, I was following.

I heard Nuns wear wedding rings as Brides of Christ. I also heard that Sister Lillian left the order, got married, and had some kids. Was some type of divorce involved? Divorce is a mortal sin; was she going to Hell?

Suddenly, talking in line wasn't so bad.

Still, I specifically made a single Sign-of-the-Cross for her, to get her three years knocked off. I don't know why.

Maybe it was sarcasm.

__________

AUTHOR'S NOTE:

Amen! For Sunday, June 23, Day 175 of the Story-a-Day Challenge

366 WORDS (without A/N)

Title-accompaniment photo was AI-generated but the plenary indulgence was not!

---

There are currently three surviving Vocal writers still participating in the 2024 Story-a-Day Challenge:

• L.C. Schäfer, challenge originator

• Rachel Deeming

• Gerard DiLeo (some other guy)

Read them. Support them. Pray for them. And watch accrue the years off Purgatory!

SeriesSatireMicrofiction

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dana Crandell4 days ago

    I agree with John. This would make a great standup routine!

  • Do nuns really wear wedding rings? Sorry, I don't know much about Christianity 😅😅

  • John Cox5 days ago

    I laughed so hard at this my eyes are wet. You could do this as stand up comedy and people would laugh so hard they would be falling off their seats!

  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    This is great! I love the POV from a child. And how ideas about God/Jesus/Hell might have formed.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.