Feast logo

Yum yum food

Food

By Kelly VedderPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Yum yum

Food

When traveling, one thing you get excited about is the food. When I went on a cruise, I couldn't wait for every meal. I never ate so much, or so well, before.

First was the flight to Florida. You get cookies, pretzels, and a drink. When we got on the ship, we went to a buffet area. I never had an omelet until that day. I added the ingredients I wanted. I added potato, bacon, sausage, and a variety of veggies. I went to the buffet section to grab some fruit and other items. I couldn’t believe how good the food was, and how polite the staff was.

As we proceeded to set sail, I couldn't wait to go into the beautiful dining room. I remember one night, dinner served as corn beef and cabbage for St Patrick's Day, and we had a lobster on a different night, which was very good. Each night, there was a different menu item to choose from, which made it a mystery and always exciting. We had two servers that waited on us. Some nights they even had singing or dancing entertainment by the staff.

One day, on one of our excursions, we walked around and enjoyed a meal at Jimmy Buffett’s Margaritaville. I'm not a drinker, so I chose soda and a taste of home. I am a “chicken wing” girl, so I went for those. Every eatery cooks wings differently. They have different flavors and some add different seasonings. All were still very good.

I remember going to the hotel restaurant to test our wedding meal. It was a new experience. New restaurant and steak wrapped in bacon never tried. Was delicious and a hit. Never had salmon before, another hit. I can get the steaks wrapped in bacon from Omaha Steaks. Great ideas for an anniversary dinner when you can't get out.

If my husband mentions something he wants to eat and I have not tried it, he makes it with me. He helped make pork tenderloin with pepper and onions. He did the grilling. I cut the veggies. He made fried squash which was a first for me. To put more flavor into steak he showed me how to press the steak seasoning into the raw meat and cook. Then after if you wish for spice. If you can marinate your steak in the fridge for 3-4 days in a bag or a bowl. It tasted really good.

The holidays are always fun. Even the food tastes better. Bob Evans Restaurant made it easier. My father-in-law liked certain types of food for Thanksgiving. Instead of making all different dishes, and being so pressed for time, I bought Bob Evans Bowls. We even saved money, too.

Dinner tip:

One of the hardest things to do is keep food warm when you're traveling. Gravy is one thing that is difficult to keep warm. If you're traveling for the holidays or dinner, the best way to keep the gravy warm is to keep it in a thermos. One way to keep your meal hot, you can place them in an insulated cooler. The insulated cooler will keep the heat from escaping. You can stack hot meals together. A few meals my husband taught me to make that I can't get enough of our green bean casserole, corn dogs, and stuffing.

Breakfast is always different, especially living on a farm. In the early morning hours, you can pick up the eggs the hen laid. You can milk the cows or the goat. It's like going out for breakfast every morning for free.

Time with family is important. The experiences are timeless. The new meals and dishes are mouth-watering and delicious. You can make it on your own to relive the great times. Sometimes, being on a trip, you always go for something new That you normally would be able to have at home. Be Adventurous.

By: Kelly Vedder

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.