Feast logo

Watch and Learn

Shows to Better Your Life

By Savannah Lee SumrallPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
2

Here's the thing, my whole world evolves around food, so even when talking about television it'll still be in relation to food. There are three shows about this subject that I want to call attention to, because not only are they entertaining, but I think they would be beneficial for anyone to watch; not just people who want to learn new recipes. These programs were essential for me on my journey to loving food and also helped develop a deeper respect for the culture and the people behind the worlds cuisines. There is this wealth of information that can literally improve your quality of life on a real and philosophical level. When we eat well, we feel better, and by that I am not advocating for anyone to follow any sort of diet; in fact quite the opposite. What I mean by eating well is food that makes you want to close your eyes and ears, because you don't want anything at all to interrupt your experience. These three shows, I think, are wonderful foundations for building knowledge of a gloriously prepared meal. They are also an invitation to alter what one believes about another person's culture, and to develop respect, rather than fear or hatred of those who are different from us.

Nigella Bites, was a cooking show by food author Nigella Lawson. It wouldn't have picked up popularity in the U.S., because it is a British program that aired in the 90's, but, it's one that I want people to find out about. What an impact these 22 minute episodes had on my whole philosophy of food, changing my entire approach to eating even after having worked in kitchens for several years. The intro credits are very dated, and a shining example of the aesthetics of the decade, but the substance of the show is timeless. Nigella's stance on food is that it should be all about pleasure, every part of it: the preparation, the presentation, the devouring. That was such a contrast to what I learned about food growing up in the U.S., which was that it was first and foremost for fuel. My culture and family taught me the most valuable thing about a meal was that it gave you the "ideal" body, and nothing else was as important as that. Food was something you had to watch, and food that was for pleasure was the kind of food you needed to avoid unless you were celebrating something; and even then, don't over indulge. What a horrible and heavy load that was to bear, to constantly be on watch about what it was I was eating because it might have fat in it! Bleh! My life now is dictated by taste, and bland ass diet food with no fat can suck it. That attitude and change, in large part, I can thank Nigella for. In almost every episode the words food and pleasure end up in the same sentence at least once, and I thank her for that.

The entire show takes place in a kitchen, and Nigella is quick and carefree about her preparation; she doesn't, "Fiddle about," as she would say trying to be exact about everything. In this she also gives the viewer ownership of the recipes; you make it to your specifications, not her's. That is so unlike most cooking shows, which have more meticulous preparation steps. I do not snub following a recipe, especially if you are new to cooking. If you can look at an ingredient list, though, and see the amount of, say dill, it calls for - and if you do not enjoy strong dill flavor - being able to know you can adjust the ingredients to match your palate is such a great skill to have. Yet, so many people I know just don't know how to cook at home, and stepping outside the bounds of the recipe makes them nervous because that isn't how they are shown to cook. For all cooks out there, seasoned or new, I cannot recommend this show enough. I feel it can really improve how you approach home cooking and how you eat, and also give you the confidence boost of trusting your palate.

The second show I think anyone who wants to do any work in a kitchen, even if it is just at home, needs to watch is Salt Fat Acid Heat. It was fairly popular one season series on Netflix in 2018, but one I don't want any ground to be lost on. It is based on the book of the same title by Chef Samin Nosrat, and she takes the audience around the world to further examine these elements of cooking. There is no way to convey sufficiently the joyfulness that is this wonderful human; I'm moved to tears when I hear her speak about her love of food because you can see how happy it makes her. So many celebrity chefs maintain an element of inaccessibility with their their work, and where others can hold to the classic pretension of food, she delivers curiosity, joy, elation and delight. This is more than just a cooking show where the chef just has you follow recipes they've designed, this show gifts the viewer with the fundamental knowledge of what makes a dish complete. Salt, fat, acid and heat are the integral elements needed for making any dish in the world, perfect. What Samin gives us is a breakdown of the parts these components play in a dish. With this knowledge, you can go back to the kitchen and not be beholden to an exact recipe. This insight gives more than that though, it allows the recipient the ability to CREATE recipes. Here, in these four episodes, Samin takes us beyond being able to adjust a recipe so that we like it better, but gives us the know how to build something of our own from scratch. She makes anything in your kitchen possible.

For a professional cook, like myself, these elements of food creation are pretty much known by most in the field. With this wealth of information there is something I can do that I have seen friends, partner, roommates unable to accomplish . For me, when it is time for a meal, and I walk into a kitchen I can walk out with something that will leave me full and satisfied, and will taste like it's been heaven sent. Honestly, I don't know how to describe it, so I'll give you this story.

The other day I was hungry, it was lunch time. I walked into my kitchen and I decide I wanted a sandwich but there is no deli meat, tuna, lettuce, cheese, cucumbers, avocado in sight; the standard building blocks for a sandwich. At this point, most people I know would just reach for the old bag of cereal, something microwavable, or maybe a box of mac and cheese. A freezer meal? I even had some of those things, bestowed upon me ages ago. Pass. In my fridge I did have zucchini, a red pepper, and a tomato so I grab all three. The red pepper I can cut off a large flat chunk, and char the outer skin in a hot cast iron pan to easily remove it and bring out the sweetness of the pepper. If I'm charring the red pepper, then I might as well make a hot toasted sandwich, so then I'll grill the zucchini and tomato in the same pan. The tomato will add some tartness, but it's a roma so it will also be pretty sweet. Zucchini brings a earthy bitterness to the party, but since I'm grilling it I know it will also add a nutty note. Now I inventory, I have two items that will mostly bring sweetness, and one bitter and nutty. So now I know I need something sharp, sour, and something savory and fatty. Oh, and definitely some salt. Salt goes in all the dishes. I always keep green onions growing on my window sill, there is my sharpness! In my fridge I also have mayo, the savory and fatty. There are a couple options for sour; on my counter are lemons, I can put a little juice and zest in with the mayo, OR, I have a Louisiana hot sauce in the cupboard (Louisiana style hot sauces are known for having a strong vinegar taste). I go for the hot sauce because I think the spiciness will be great against the sweetness of the tomato and pepper. Once I have the pepper charred and cooled, the zucchini and tomato browned I salt them all and then toast my bread. I know if I toast it in the pan, it'll bring out a richer flavor. I do that. Once everything is on my cutting board I put mayo in a bowled, add in thinly sliced scallions and the hot sauce. That concoction is slathered onto BOTH sides of the bread, I pull the skin off the now soft pepper and place it down, lay the zucchini, and top with tomato. One of the best goddamn sandwiches I've ever sunk my teeth into.

It is this know how that Salt Fat Acid Heat bestows upon those watching. Even when you lack the conventional ingredients for a quick meal, you know how these elements work together and you can create something when there seems like nothing. Everything I described to you above, I had to think about when writing this piece, but in the moment, I didn't have those thoughts; it honestly happens so fast. It took me just a few minutes to make that sandwich. If you don't want to rely on boxed food, or want to make that boxed food better, or don't want to have ingredients waste away because you bought them for one recipe and now don't know what to do with them, watch this show. Multiple times. Also, maybe buy the book.

The curtain closer is Parts Unknown, by Anthony Bourdain. I don't know if there is any series of television that has affected my perception of the world more. For white people especially, this show is a must watch. We have this attitude that food cultures coming from white origins are the most elevated in culinary achievements. What Anthony does is destroys those beliefs, and brings to light the equal footing cuisines across the globe have, that white Americans for so long have looked down upon; he was humanizing those we, in this country, see as inferior. The entire production is Anthony traveling the world and just eating food with locals, and having conversations with the people who live there. We hear about their lives and their food, and why their food is important to their way of life. They share what it is they love about their cuisine, and therein their culture and country. Food is the epicenter of all human communities and I think knowing the food helps you know the people; and hopefully changes how you think about them (especially your subconscious thoughts). Though food is the center piece to this show, the substance is the people. My naive white mind was really changed by this series. From there I began going to more Ethiopian, Persian, Lebanese, Peruvian restaurants (And more). Going to these places and getting to know people who are from other countries, the stereotypes that our parents and social circles instilled in us begin to dissolve.

I started writing this before what is currently happening in the United States. With many uniting and fighting for black people in America, I have to call attention to the lack of black representation in food entertainment. Type into google, "Celebrity chef" and you will see a long list of white faces. There are two black people! We completely ignore the contributions black people have made, and still make, to American Cuisine. Below I have listed some websites you can check out to further understand the importance of black American food culture. Also, I hope we all call for more representation of BIPOC in our food channels, networks, magazines, restaurants, wherever food is being represented.

http://blackfoodie.co/the-humble-history-of-soul-foodhttp://www.blackculinaryhistory.com/black-food-studies

tv review
2

About the Creator

Savannah Lee Sumrall

Knife Knife is a food education and entertainment company. Our goals here are to give people a solid foundation of food knowledge, encourage everyone to treat themselves well with good food, and to erode food and body shaming culture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.