Feast logo

Tips from a girl "learning to cook"

By: Trinity Schmidt

By Trinity SchmidtPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Tips from a girl "learning to cook"
Photo by Edson Saldaña on Unsplash

I remember always being teased growing up, because I hated cooking. I would always be the butt end of a joke because of course, me being the oldest girl in the family (I'm 27 now and still living at home), you would have expected me to be cooking meals just like momma, or grandma. I think what my problem was, was the fact that I always liked observing and sitting in on the conversation while my mom or Step-dad was cooking meals instead of being pushed to cook them. My step dad has been making these amazing meals ever since he got medically retired from a heart condition a few years back. He would always crack jokes about me burning food, or not knowing how to boil water, which was fine, I have a thick skin and I can handle a little criticism. But I don't think he realized that while I was conversing with him, I constantly took note of the things he was using to cook these meals.

One day, I remember having a really stressful time at work. That just comes with the territory of being a Security supervisor, you win some days and you loose some. All I really wanted was a hot meal and some quiet time with a glass of Leelanau 'Witches brew' wine, my absolute favorite. So I asked my family to pick me up some steak from the store so I could cook it when I get home. Of course my Step-dad went on his usual escapade, joking about me not knowing how to cook it, and how he wasn't going to cook the meal for me. Okay, no problem, I planned on cooking it anyway.

It wasn't until I got home that night, that my view point changed on cooking. My parents were up in their room, while my younger brothers were messing about in the den as they usually did that time of night. I had changed from my uniform and got everything out to cook my meal, and for everyone that knows me, they know that I love buttery and savory foods. So, I start cooking using little tips I've learned from my Step-dad. I sautéed minced garlic in a shit load of butter, adding Rosemary and Thyme to it so it makes that beautiful aroma that just fills the house, and I seasoned my steak with that Cherry-wood smoked salt from Cherry Republic (I freaking love that stuff. 11/10 would recommend). To my own surprise, the meal that I had just created was the best steak I've had in years. Cooked to a perfect medium rare. By accident of course. I honestly thought it was going to be to salty to taste between the salt and the garlic. Nope! This meal didn't even need A1 steak sauce.

I was so impressed with my meal that I had to have everyone try it, including my Step-dad who had joked about me not being able to cook a few hours prior. That was my 'HA-in-your-face' moment. It smelled and tasted amazing. There was a lot of things in that moment that made me realize a lot of things I hadn't before. Cooking takes time and focus. I was proud I finished something that had a good result, and it took away that negative feeling I had a few hours prior, with a little help from that glass of wine. From the day to day struggles we have at work, focusing on something else when we get off can be uplifting. Since then, I have looked up countless recipes that were easy for beginners, because I don't want to get to far ahead of myself, and I liked the feeling of doing something other than cleaning or worrying about the job the next day.

So coming from a girl 'learning to cook', here is some of my tips for those people out there who don't like cooking about as much as I do.

Cook.

It's hard, I know, but trust me. Over the years, I have struggled with Anxiety and Depression, and the little things that would inconvenience me often upset me. But the satisfaction over finishing a simple project, especially a warm meal can be uplifting even when you feel your lowest. Observe the task. Start that move. Baby steps. You may never know what you will find that you may be good at, and I have to say, I'm glad I found out I can make Crock-pot chicken tacos really well.

By Luisa Brimble on Unsplash

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Trinity Schmidt

28 year old from Michigan, just looking to see my thoughts and ideas out there to make a difference!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.