Feast logo

The Traveling Foodie

Journey to the end of the plate

By Goosey Q.Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

My journey with food is somewhat of a roller coaster i would say. Growing up I was stuck with the family style of food. The "culture" of it all if you will. From the farm to the plate food has been so much apart of who I am. Having different meals in various ways in separate places allowed me too appreciate food and.

Human Garbage Can is a title that I never wanted nor I had imagine adopting during my adolescence. Growing up I always was used to eating rice and beans and chicken as a default, a staple if you will. In my upbringing that was always something we went back to. No matter the occasion we would always went back to that because that’s how my culture was in terms of food. But that’s not to say I have always eaten this food. It’s just that having rice and beans with chicken every other day allowed me to appreciate what I have and respect the food that I’ve been given.

Coming from where I came from in terms of food I always enjoy food. Adventuring out to different restaurants, eating stuff like sushi & bubble tea, understanding what it means to eat Ramen versus eating pasta, and even telling the difference between a salad fork and a dinner for. I was open to our whole world of food and the concept of consuming me aside from Joe’s eating because you’re hungry or just eating because of social adverse.

Food has not just become a whole world of what to eat or how to eat something but it also opened up a social aspect to it all. Going out with friends or family even strangers is a great way to communicate, learn and have fun. Enjoying good food & finding our food favorites helps connect us in a way that gives us insight to one another.

From the people we’re with to the people who even serve us, the service staff, servers, and even the bussers they have an impact on our food experience because they make sure that our experience is the best they can be even if it’s burger and fries. A burger and fries is pretty good actually.

One thing that experiencing food as in adolescence and experiencing food with other people when you’re older have in common is the food itself. The five senses helps us to experiencing food at a level that some are unable to know.

From hearing the sizzle of a steak, to the smell of Korean BBQ our senses can bring us back to a time where we first ate a dish. How we felt, who we was with & what we experienced. The feel of breaking down a lobster to get to the good stuff & the taste of a soft & creamy soufflé. Food allows us to experience the world & the many cultures around us.

Throughout this journey of food I have been fascinated by the normalization of food. Now of course we need food to survive but I’m referring to the idea that every country and place around the world there’s a delicacy or special dish that comes with the place. Pasta is spread out throughout Italy. Very well known for the types of pasta and kinds of dishes made from a string of dough. In some places there is rice as a common ingredient and in most cases a dish.

Generally food is an important concept that is pivotal to our existence as a society. Bringing people together, all of the animals & creatures alike who value food in a way to not waste but to preserve it. I venture to many places and subtle with classic favorites to enjoy the experience above the plate. Now as a lover of food I travel to experience & learn of the people & cultures behind the food now as a traveling foodie.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.