Feast logo

The moment I almost cried when my husband made me try three exotic mystery meats, including kangaroo

The Hendersons go wild (pun intended) on Eating Through the Alphabet!

By Bryce and Val Marie HendersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
The herd is coming, or so my husband says (side-eye) in this taste bud adventure

This week on Eating Through the Alphabet we took our taste buds on a journey through the wild for the letter E!

There were a few exotic meats on the menu for the letter E, including kangaroo, camel and ostrich.

For the record, none of these were my idea. The idea for our video was that Bryce would make all the food by himself and I would taste test his meals. I guess I should've taken him more seriously when he said exotic meats, but I never thought he would've given me kangaroo.

Out of the three - kangaroo, camel and ostrich - I was most upset by the kangaroo and almost cried. They are such cute animals and all I could think about was, "Am I eating a Joey?" I mean who knows, but I can't even lie to y'all, it was so good. And I feel so bad saying that, but it's true. The kangaroo burger that Bryce made was topped with a sweet tomato sauce and apple coleslaw. It may sound disgusting but the flavors were heavenly. It reminded me of a sweet BBQ sauce on a beef burger. Out of the three meats, the kangaroo did taste the best. It didn't resemble beef and it definitely had its own flavor.

Moving on to the camel burger. This was probably the closest to a beefy taste out of the three. It was pretty good too and Bryce kept it basic with mayo, onions and cheese. I also was super shocked that I was tasting camel. I had heard of people eating kangaroos before but not camel.

Had Bryce given me an egg and was like, "Babe, this is an ostrich egg. Try it," I probably would've been like, "Okay baby, sounds good." However, that was not the case. He gave me an ostrich burger that was marinated in balsamic vinaigrette and topped with caramelized onions and provolone cheese. I'm not a fan of balsamic vinaigrette, especially not on my burgers. It didn't make the burger taste bad, but it was vinegary. The ostrich meat itself had somewhat of an odd texture but it wasn't unbearable. I hate food with weird textures (i.e. mushrooms), but the ostrich wasn't that bad.

During the video, I had 30 seconds to guess what meat I was tasting and I only got one answer right: camel. When I was guessing the first mystery meat - kangaroo - I thought my husband was cruel enough to feed me opossum. I mean I'm not sure if you can even eat opossum, but it was a part of the multiple choice. I don't put nothing past him. I had that same feeling when it came to the ostrich burger. One of the multiple choice answers was pigeon and in the background, Bryce says, "Pigeon, New York City style." And I just knew, he wasn't that brave to give me pigeon (lol... but seriously).

There was a fourth mystery meat that I got to try, and you'll see it in the video briefly at the end, but that video will be aired for the letter R. Just know that it's a reptile and I was NOT happy. Disgusted is the word that probably describes that particular moment the best. I honestly can't wait for it to be shared because it was an epic reaction!

So definitely check out our YouTube channel this week here for some priceless reactions! And tune in next week, same time and same place, Thursdays at 11:00 a.m., for the letter F, which will explore a West African cuisine!

Don't forget to like, share and subscribe!

social media
2

About the Creator

Bryce and Val Marie Henderson

Bryce Shache and Val Marie are dedicated community leaders in the tri-state area. They are YouTubers with a focus on culinary entertainment, community impact, health/beauty and family fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.