Feast logo

The Frist Thanksgiving

how mom saved the day

By James Sedgley BurrPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

When we think of thanksgiving the first thing that comes to mind is food, the next thing we think of is football or perhaps a parade down main street with some funny floats and balloons. Most of us it seems put family last we forget that this is a time to be grateful for every thing you have in your life, and that includes friends and family. However in my house it has always been family first on thanksgiving. Today I wish to share with you a story of a thanksgiving that could have gone wrong, but thanks to the help of family turned out to be one of the best thanksgivings I will remember.

Thanksgiving has always been a big deal in our house, and every year we go all out. However there is one year that stands out in my mind the best. I had just bought my first home and was over joyed. This year I had told my friends and family that thanksgiving was on me. Not knowing what I had just gotten myself into I rushed to the store to get the items I would need. I can still remember the pride I felt as I walked up and down each isle grabbing the items I had seen my mother get in the past, turkey, the pies, and all the other wonderful goodies I would make the family. This was my time to shine and I did not intend on wasting it. As you all may have guessed at this point I was getting in way over my head, and this is where this were about to go from fun to bad. The night before the grand feast I started to get ready not knowing how much work this was going to be, and I had also forgotten the fact that up to this point I had never attempted to cook something this large on my own or at all.

There were pies to make a turkey to stuff cranberry sauce to make yams to be peeled and mashed. I was going to be the host with the most, but at this point I was the host who had no clue where to start. When it came to cooking I was no Gordon Ramsay, but I could do well enough to get by. My biggest prom was that my family may have always been known for their great feast when the big day arrived, but we also were known for old time traditions. It may seem slightly outdated and old school however it was the one time of the year were the woman cooked and us men watched the football. It was this old family tradition that I was now lamenting I was in over my head and had no way of saving myself. With tears in my eyes I broke down and called my mother and confessed to her I needed help. to my surprise the whole family showed up this time however we broke tradition there was no football on the television just a good old family cooking session. That year I learned not only how to cook a good thanksgiving meal, but learned that it is ok to ask for help when needed. The food turned out as good if not better then ever, and my new home was blessed that day.

So this ends my wonderful tale of the thanksgiving that almost didn't happen. So this year take the time to be with your loved ones, turn that tv or internet off and share some time in the kitchen with your family. It's never too late to start a new tradition and you may just learn something new in the process.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.