Feast logo

The Dinner Party of Time

When you have all the time in the world

By Alex BonillaPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

Until now, I’ve never thought of having a dinner party. I enjoy regular dinners with my close friends and go out of my way to avoid parties. My social meter isn’t huge, so I thought, “If I am going to throw a dinner party, I have to make my guest list count.”

In true introvert fashion, I set the guest list to just five people. Naturally, since I don’t know how to take breaks from pursuing work… having a fun party isn’t at the top of my to-do list. I'm throwing this party because I have a mission. Fun can come later.

I’m a man of simple taste. A small dinner party in a modern style room equipped with a multitude of whiteboards as the main accessory. That's all I need. Why all the whiteboards, you may ask? That will be abundantly clear after I introduce my guest list.

Before having the party, I’ll be sure to send my best friends a note of apology along with food. They didn’t make the cut. *Shrugs unapologetically* Seeing the possible topics of conversation I hope to have, I'm sure they’ll thank me later.

On the menu: A mix of Korean and Japanese food.

I’m a massive fan of both. The versatility of Bibimbap. The spiciness of Kimchi. Not to mention all the different noodle dishes. I would be impossible for me to focus on just one. Just send it all over.

Japanese food, I could say the same, but I want to focus on their desserts.

Mochi ice cream

Daifuku

Anmitsu.

There are so many more I could name. As a matcha enthusiast, I’d be remiss if I didn’t include a matcha crepe cake.

This cake is perfection in its purest form.

I understand that not everyone may be a fan of Korean or Japanese food, but I value it not just for the taste. It is perfect for a party. The presentation allows the ability to share and forges a bond between those who enjoy the meal together.

That is what this party is about. Fostering collaboration and creativity for all those in attendance.

Let me get back on topic. As important as food is at a party, the main focus should be on the guests.

So without further ado and in no particular order, let me introduce you to my guest list.

First off, we have:

Albert Einstein

Ironic I included him first because he would likely show up last. I’m perfectly fine with that as long as he shows up. Since I was younger, Einstein has been one of my heroes. His personality, humility, and tenacity to find the answers to all questions. His drive to learn everything there is to know has inspired me to always ask questions and seek the solution regardless of how difficult. Without a doubt, his performative personality will keep everyone entertained.

Second, we have:

Elon Musk

I’ve come to realize over the years, that Musk is someone that you either hate or love. There is no in-between. While I admit Musk gets himself in precarious situations and has close to zero filter, I hold him in the highest regard. Problematic nature aside, I believe he is one of the greatest minds of our time. So naturally…. Of course, he can come to my party. He has the brains, and with the scheme I am trying to pull off, aka why I would have a party in the first place, I’m sure he would be interested.

Third-party guest:

Stephen Hawking

Inspirational doesn’t even begin to describe Hawking. Similarly to Einstein, his curiosity and ability to seek the truth is what drove me deeply believe in the work he’s done for the scientific community. Without the contributions he had made within the community, the world wouldn’t know what it does today. I will always be grateful for that.

Forth party guest:

Kurisu Makise

We can invite fictional characters, right? This queen, party or not is always welcomed to visit. For those unfamiliar with Makise, she is from one of the best anime of the last 10 years(Stein’s Gate). I’m 100% biased, but don’t take my word for it; check out the show. She’s a gifted neuroscientist, with knowledge beyond her years and the personality of a true Tsundere. Sarcastic, logical, and a heart of gold which has earned her a spot in my top 5 for anime heroines.

Last guest:

The 10th Doctor

Of all the Doctors, I didn’t pick this one because he is my favorite incarnation but instead has some of the best moments throughout 3 seasons. His outgoing and dynamic personality made him that much more memorable. Anytime I rewatch episodes of Doctor Who, it’s usually with the 10th Doctor.

With 6 people joining the party, 5 of us are introverts. That makes for a tough time in itself. Seeing I would never hold a party for the sole purpose of meeting everyone, I have a purpose. If you know a little about each member of the party, you’ll realize why we are gathered.

Remember the whiteboards I mentioned earlier?

The theme of the party.

Time Travel.

Each member has something valuable to add. Einstein’s theory of relativity helped set the stage to think about time travel. Musk is worth over 80 billion, and I’m sure it would be okay trying something crazy. Hawking’s black hole theory, among other ideas, defined how we view quantum physics today. Makise came up with the calculations, which eventually lead to Rintarou being able to travel throughout time. Last, why would I invite the 10th Doctor? He time travels for a living and has a working time machine. Yes, that probably is cheating..... But I'll take all the help I can get.

My goal is to have all these great minds meet to create and solve one of the biggest questions in the world. Is time travel possible?

I enjoy my alone time, but this opportunity would be too good to pass up.

When all is said in done. The food is gone. (most likely because I finished it) The dead and fictional fade out of the mortal realm, and the time machine created, I'd have accomplished my goal.

I’d be able to live the most important day of my life over and over again.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Alex Bonilla

Work in tech but spend all my time thinking about anime and music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.