Feast logo

The Diamond in the Rough

Comfort Cafe in Gulfport, Florida

By Shanon NormanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Front Window and Outside Table at Comfort Cafe

Today (Wednesday) was payday for me and I wanted to celebrate and splurge because I made it through another month without having to pawn anything. That's a joke, but if you live check to check like I do, then you know that a little splurge can surely do wonders for cheering up the spirit. I asked my husband if we could do a "memory lane" stroll through my favorite town in Pinellas County: Gulfport. He agreed and we chatted as I gave praise to all the beautiful houses there as we drove up main street. I saw some new buildings and businesses, remembered the places I stayed when I was getting to know the town, and then had him drive off the beaten path to see if the old "greasy spoon" was where I used to dine with my mom. It is, but it's no longer a greasy spoon. It has been updated and given a face lift. The outside has fresh paint and stylish tables, the inside is cleaner and has a new look, and it is now called "Comfort Cafe" with the little French chef logo. It's absolutely charming and we had a lovely lunch there.

We sat outside at the balcony table so that I could smoke and enjoy the view of the beautiful park and pond across the parking lot. A gathering of cranes were there enjoying the breeze and the view with me. The fountains in the pond came on (to both our our surprises) after we were in the middle of chatting and I took some lovely photos.

The amiable waitress came with our menus and gave us ample time to make a selection after she told us that today's special was the Patty Melt. I was excited to see the Chicken Cordon Bleu on the menu and knew right away that's what I wanted. My husband wasn't sure what to order, so I guided him towards one of his favorites: the Philly. He agreed and we placed our order. Then we sipped on our beverages and chatted about the peaceful and serene ambiance of a quaint, out of the way cafe.

The food came quickly and was hot and fresh. My chicken cordon bleu was delicious. I would have liked them to add a sauce of some kind, but they served it plain. Still, I enjoyed every bite. My husband's Philly was very good in my opinion, however he felt like the marinade was a bit too spicy. I love a good spicy marinade, but my husband is a Velveeta cheese lover so you know how it is. I probably should have gotten the Philly and he probably should have gotten the Chicken Cordon Bleu to satisfy what we both like. Still, it was good enough for us to clean our plates. We did not leave hungry.

The waitress brought the check and they accept Visa and Mastercard and debit which I was thankful for because I didn't have enough cash on me.

I took a few photos for my photo album, as this cafe is still going to remain in my memory as one of the hidden treasures of Gulfport and Pinellas County. If you haven't been to Gulfport, there is a lot to see there. It's a wonderful town, a lot like Safety Harbor, but with it's own flavor. There is a bay beach with parks, showers, and public restrooms, a spa, lots of dog lover shops, cafes and bars and tourist shops. It makes for a great place to vacation or just a great day trip. If you don't like crowds and noise, then get off the main street and head over to the far side of town where you will find the diamond in the rough known as Comfort Cafe. The locals know about it and love it because they don't always want to hang out with the tourists. I highly recommend this precious town and this delightful cafe.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.