Feast logo

Thai Coconut Pancakes

A floating market, insane heat and some itty bitty pancakes that I'll never forget.

By Entirely EllaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Thai coconut pancakes from a riverboat at a floating market outside of Bangkok.

It's a strange feeling, eating something you know you will never be able to replicate. That's exactly how I felt while I was strolling down a dock at a floating market outside of Bangkok, Thailand.

May in Thailand is HOT. It was about 110 degrees fahrenheit which was a bit much for this Wisconsin girl. The idea of a floating market on a river sounded like the perfect start to the day. There were boats lining the river and each one was full of different types of food and handmade goods. It was overwhelming to try and decide what to try first. Due to the heat, I wasn't really seeking out warm foods, in an effort to keep my body as cool as possible. That all changed when I passed by one specific boat.

There was an elderly woman in the long and narrow boat, crouched down by a tiny appliance resembling a grill. On one side of her, she had a stack of handmade little bowls made from some type of leaf. The other side, she had a massive bowl of batter. And on the grill, well that is where the magic was. She was cooking what looked like mini pancakes, but the smell was something brand new to me. The air around me smelled like cake, but with more of a coconut scent. And I had no idea how, but it smelled thick. It was almost as if you could smell how rich and luxurious they were going to taste.

So obviously I had to give these little cakes a try. I held the leaf bowl in one hand and the wooden pick in another and put the first pancake in my mouth. It was light and fluffy but melted in my mouth. The coconut taste was perfection, not too strong but still very present. As an American I am so used to things being overwhelmingly sweet, so this swap for more flavor instead of straight sugar was welcomed. I gobbled them all down but still made sure to thoroughly savor each one.

I asked the person next to me, and they told me that these were Thai coconut pancakes made with coconut sugar. They pointed me towards another boat on the river that was selling pucks of coconut sugar that was used to make them. Of course I went and bought a small pack of the sugar pucks to take home with me.

The floating market

I didn't realize it then, but this experience change the way I look at food. I realized that just because certain ingredients are common where I live, doesn't mean that's what I have to use. As someone who has always enjoyed baking, I felt inspired to try swapping out typical ingredients for ones that would bring more flavor to the dish, or make it a bit healthier.

Not only did those itty bitty pancakes inspire me to get out of my comfort zone with baking, but it also started my love affair with coconut. Today in my kitchen you can always find coconut oil, sugar and flour, among any other form that I can get my hands on.

I've never been able to recreate the coconut cakes I had that day at the floating market. But I think there is something beautiful in knowing that I can't just whip a batch up whenever I'd like. It reminds me that part of every food experience is the time and place you enjoy that food and who you are surrounded by. Those are some of the most important ingredients, and they are one of a kind & irreplaceable.

travel
5

About the Creator

Entirely Ella

Change Seeker

Tea Enthusiast

Zillennial

Wife, Sister, Dog Mom

---

Trying to find my passions, voice and life's most meaningful moments.

---

Insta: @ilovebeingella

(striving to love myself unconditionally, even though that isn't always reality)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.