Feast logo

My Cooking Journey

How I Went from Ugh to Yay!

By Amethyst ChampagnePublished 2 years ago Updated 7 months ago 3 min read
My Cooking Journey
Photo by Alyson McPhee on Unsplash

Cooking.

What an awesome and tedious activity to undergo every day.

We have to make food in order to feed our bodies, but many of us either don’t know how to or dread stepping into that kitchen.

I used to be one of those who didn’t really like or appreciate cooking, although I liked cooking shows and knew everything about food safety, mainly because my mom is a baker and cook.

And I didn’t enjoy making food with her.

Why I Didn’t Enjoy Cooking

By Taylor Kiser on Unsplash

You see, she’s a type A personality and a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to cooking or baking, so it made it hard for me to have fun in the kitchen with her.

And even when I cooked independently, the recipes were sometimes hard to read. If you’ve read a cookbook or been on Pinterest, you know how compressed the directions and confusing the formats can be.

And don’t get me started on watching cooking videos on YouTube, which my stepdad does quite often when it’s his turn to cook.

How Things Changed In 2020

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

It was like this for a long time until our lives were turned upside down in 2020.

During this time, things happened that made it harder for us to eat larger quantities as a family. So, my mom started looking for a way to reduce food waste.

Hungryroot

The first was Hungryroot, a food delivery service that brings you weekly meals and snacks. And it caters to alternate eating styles, which is a great idea.

And I did enjoy the snacks since it’s more challenging to find tasty paleo or gluten-free snacks in stores. Yes, I have a gluten intolerance, so I feel blech when I eat too much wheat.

But for some reason, Mom wasn’t a big fan. Maybe because there wasn’t much cooking involved. Or because all the veggies were pre-cut. I’m just not sure.

Imperfect Foods

She also tried Imperfect Foods, which sells grocery store items that didn’t make the cut look-wise. But she couldn’t control the frequency in which we got deliveries, becoming a no-go for us.

So she continued searching for a service.

Hellofresh

The next one was Hellofresh, which is similar, but there’s more prep, cooking, and no snacks provided.

It lets you choose what you want for your weekly meals, how many days of meals you have per week, and how many portions per meal. It also allows for some side dishes.

Then, you get your box with all the meals and recipe cards. And you won’t have to buy anything for your dinners; Hellofresh provides you with everything you’ll need, aside from sugar, salt, and pepper, since everyone has those.

But how the recipes are formatted is genius!

They show you pictures of the steps while telling you what to do below. And that isn’t like most cookbooks, which just show the finished dish.

So, in other words, Hellofresh breaks down recipes for those who don’t have much experience with cooking to make it quick, easy, and, dare I say, fun for them.

Or for those, like me, who have a harder time following recipes due to certain formatting styles.

It Finally Clicked!

By AbsolutVision on Unsplash

It was like an ah-ha moment for me in terms of cooking. Since I didn’t have to worry about the meal planning portion, I could just focus on the cooking aspect.

And I actually started enjoying the activity, even when we stopped using the service.

I really started to pay attention to directions on recipes since I admit I was a bit of a skimmer when it came to reading them, which didn’t help me very much.

Although, I still stand by the fact that some formatting is terrible for cooking.

I also got more invested in cooking shows, some of which Mom just can’t stand, hehe. But I enjoy them and try to learn something along the way, so she doesn’t complain too much.

Not to mention scrolling through Pinterest to find healthier alternatives to foods we enjoy, such as ice cream and making them.

Some of my meals are hits, while others are duds. But that’s okay. That’s to be expected. I’m still learning my strengths and weaknesses and how to go with instinct.

I’ve even been considering creating a Hellofresh-inspired cookbook for beginners, having pictures for every step for each dish. Of course, I will probably need to buy a professional camera and clear some space first, but I’ll figure it out.

So someday, you might find a cookbook with my face and name.

Don’t Give Up

By Brett Jordan on Unsplash

So, it’s okay if you’re at the start of your cooking journey and don’t know where to go first. You will get there. Just don’t compare yourself to anyone. And don’t forget to have fun along the way.

Good luck!

***

Thank you for reading! I hope you enjoyed it. Subscribe for more content!

humanity

About the Creator

Amethyst Champagne

I create fiction, short stories, poetry, and more!

Subscribe to The Life of a Gem and The Writer's Corner for exclusive content!

And visit my website if you need help editing your fantastic story!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Wow, Hellofresh seems perfect! Thank you for sharing this!

Amethyst ChampagneWritten by Amethyst Champagne

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.