Feast logo

Mrs Huston's Family Coobook

Introduction

By Pyxy HustonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo Courtesy of https://www.pexels.com/@inspiredimages

I never met my mother in law in person. We chatted briefly through Facetime a handful of times. Sadly, she passed before we were able to meet face to face. But, nonetheless, when she passed, I got her cookbook collection.

And, what a collection it was! She, by all accounts, was a wonderful cook. My partner assures me that I am a good cook as well. And, they have never complained about my cooking, but, I tend to be on the lazy side when it comes to cooking.

I <3 <3 <3 my Instapot. And, I would be lost without my slow-cooker, and toaster oven as well. To be honest, I rarely use the actual stove. I have Celiac and am allergic to a few other foods as well and live in a house with a shared kitchen so I tend to stick to my own appliances. When I do use the stove, I have to make sure to tent with foil to prevent any cross-contamination from non-gluten-free foods that have been cooked in the oven.

When I find a new recipe, if I cant find a way to make it in one of the above, it might never be made by me. There are many recipes I would love to try. Thinking back to my dorm room days, we were not allowed to have microwaves in our rooms, and other than hard-boiled eggs and coffee, there were no options for me in the cafeteria. I had to make my own food and actually used to cook my own food in an easy-bake oven. It took forever but at least I was not constantly sick. It was either that or live on the meager selection at the cafeteria. Can you imagine what my breath would have smelled like after a semester of living off coffee and hardboiled eggs?

With my newly acquired cookbook collection, I knew that many of the recipes might never be made by me - one of the cookbooks might as well be named "The Joy of Wheat!" so that one might find it's way over to a thrift store. But, I wanted to honour her by sharing her favorites and always wanted to start a blog but could never settle on what to blog about. I have started blogs in the past, made a few posts, and then lost all interest.

But this one is more personal. It's not just mine - the current "Mrs. Huston" but it belongs to her as well. Also in this time of Covid-19, I have a TON of time on my hands and you can only watch so much Netflix.

So I will be posting her recipes, adapted to my digestive issues, and maybe some musings. I am currently on a gluten-free diet but have been looking into the AIP diet as I am finding more things I react to and am thinking I need to cut out more than just gluten.

At the time when my Mother in law passed, we were very sad. But, she passed almost a year before the Corona Virus hit; before the world went into lock-down. And the building she lived in has been hit hard. As a woman in her late 90's she more than likely would have been infected and would not have gone peacefully but suffering and possibly on a ventilator with no one allowed to visit her to say goodbye. That would have been so much harder on her and her family.

Everyone calls me Pyxy. Welcome to my blog - Mrs. Huston's Family Cookbook.

Wish me luck and see you later. I will be back :)

humanity
1

About the Creator

Pyxy Huston

Canadian Graphic Designer, Young adult novelist and gluten free recipe developer from Canada

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.