Feast logo

Is it worth it?

I'm a Professional Chef and I like to eat

By Wayne BrooksPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Have you ever been out and you tell yourself I'm gonna order burger today, so I was at work today and i read an article that Burger King had the big king sandwich which is equivalent to McDonald's Big Mac, so my girlfriend our daughter and me were out and about so my daughter wanted Popeyes and I'm going to be honest it was the most pleasant customer service, I had experienced, so I looked at my girl and said I hope we get the same energy at Burger King, We get to Burger King, its 8;30 PM and we are at the drive through, no response for about five minutes so we pull up to the window and I see the cashier and she ask me if I ordered so I sad no, she looks at someone in the back and they tell her we closed, I had this blank look like WTF but it was the look, so I said I will hit another Burger King, I was very interested in that Big King Sandwich, so we get to another Burger King, we order and we go to the window, and get our food, we do our bag check she got her whopper she pulls my big king out and I'm like what the F**k is that so i ask the cashier is this the big king she said yea with confidence it look like a double cheeseburger from the $1 menu at McDonalds. That was the moment I decided that no one cares about food anymore the romance in food has become the crack era, as a chef I do not want to have to leave work and come home and make dinner we not at least everyday, but some days I just want to grab a bite to eat and relax, which brought me to this place of venting but telling a story.

So I am not going to take up much of your time, My name is Wayne, I have been a Professional chef for maybe 30 plus years on a high level, casual level, catering gigs, hotels, colleges, shit I've done it all, but here is the crazy part to this shit, at 51 I think I hate this shit, don't get me wrong I have made a great living being a chef, I have met some of the greatest people during my journey and i have met some fucked up people, and some I am great friends with.

So what has me at this place in my life where I want to walk away from something that brings joy to people's stomach?. Some say its ‘Mid life crises” or “you need a change of pace” shit this is the best one “aww man you just need a break” Its really me. I always say at 50 as a chef in a high octane kitchen where the demands are high, mentally we are there but physically we are not the same when we were in our twenties or thirties, so you start evaluating what's next!!!

It's not easy at times

So as of today I'm a chef de Cuisine in Philadelphia PA its a cool gig, right now its slow so business for me is dragging< I am grateful for it even though I have only been employed for a month there, but prior to that i spent almost three years at a shit show that had me want out of the business completely, “That will be in a story down the road", but anyway I ended up walking away and rested a month just building my confidence back and having time to think about what was next.

Well I have had time to think about what's next, one thing I struggled with when I own a personal chef business was marketing yourself and really putting yourself out there, I am a firm believer word of mouth might have been the shit back in the days but today na your marketing got to be on point, but seriously what personal chef really has time to figure out analytic and google ads and has time to to write content and take really great pictures.

That's funny I'm taking a digital marketing class, have a strong photography background and a creative writing background,

So this where Burger King gave me the courage to write my first Vocal story, don' worry all my stories wont be me have a bad experience at a food establishment.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Wayne Brooks

Chef/Part-Time Gamer/Podcasters Yo Thatfelladachef the extraterritorial time traveler. I used to be a vegan and I love tennis. Black Panther was the dopiest movie ever. I wish John Amos would adopt me. PSI am a Chef and I do my own Stunts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.