Feast logo

I'm not a coffee snob

Be satisfied with little and be grateful when bounty comes

By Jessica FreebornPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
7
I'm not a coffee snob
Photo by Fahmi Fakhrudin on Unsplash

"I'm not a coffee snob," I tell myself as I pour the beans into the coffee grinder.

"I'm not a coffee snob," I say again as I heat the water and prepare the coffee dripper.

Yeah, so not a snob, as I pour the water over the grounds, just enough to wet them, wait a moment, and then continue to pour over the grounds until I have a full, rich cup of coffee.

At this moment, there isn't much to differentiate me from a coffee snob, and the evidence of me being one seems pretty solid. But this is where I confess that I'm house-sitting, and I just happen to be house-sitting for someone who really likes coffee. Someone who just happens to have all the tools to make a high-quality cup of coffee. I love high-quality coffee, but I'm not a coffee snob.

It's hard to believe that less than ten years ago I didn't drink coffee at all.

The beginning of the coffee life

I didn't start drinking coffee until I got to college. Demanding work and limited sleep made it feel almost like a necessity. But I think what really got me hooked was my meal plan. I had a certain amount in my meal plan that I could spend at the coffee shop in the student leadership center. Since it was already paid for, why not indulge a bit?

From there, it spiraled. Bit by bit, I discovered which of my friends were coffee snobs, and I started to learn things. I learned how to make French press coffee from my friends in China. Another friend taught me how to use the pour-over method. And I learned about different types of coffee and realized how many opportunities there are to create something unique.

Yes, I love coffee, but I'm not a coffee snob.

I will drink any type of coffee.

I am easily satisfied in the coffee realm. Meaning that I will drink awful coffee if that is what is available. And trust me, I've had some bad coffee. Night shift at the hospital? It can't get much worse than that. Strong in a bad sort of way and had probably been sitting out for a solid hour before I actually had any time to drink it.

But I drank it and was grateful for it. Thankful that it could help me stay awake. I am grateful that it brought me together with other nurses during our limited breaks.

Set the cup in front of me, and I will take it with a smile. Thankful for the coffee of the moment. A watered-down cup that's part of a batch you made for a massive quantity of people? Sure, I'll take some. A cappuccino you made from beans that you roasted yourself and flavored with local maple syrup? Oh, yeah, totally.

It's not that I don't taste the difference because I do. It's just that I'm easily satisfied. And that's what separates me from the coffee snob. Because I won't turn my nose up and say, "I'm better than this coffee. There's no way I could drink THAT." Rather, I seek to be thankful for what I have at the moment.

Be satisfied but enjoy what is good.

I look to God as the giver all good gifts in my life. Because I am His child, I can be content in all circumstances and know that it will be okay in the end because He is in control. This belief percolates down to everything in my life. It's okay to accept the lousy coffee. And it is good to give thanks for the good coffee.

It's not that I want bad coffee; it's that I strive to be thankful no matter what. And this attitude allows me to enjoy the good gifts that come my way.

So, as I use the coffee dripper this week, I am thankful for the opportunity. Because let's face it, the pour-over method is fantastic. But I understand there will be days when I don't have this. Days when I need to go without. And that's okay too. I can still be thankful. Content. Satisfied. And that is an excellent way to be in the realm of coffee and in life.

"I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well-fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through Him who gives me strength." - Philippians 4: 11b-13

By Jessica Lewis on Unsplash

Thanks for reading. If you liked what you read, consider subscribing, leaving a heart, pledging, or giving a tip. If you would like to receive regular updates on my work, please email me at [email protected] and ask to be added to my email list.

You can also follow me on Medium here.

humanity
7

About the Creator

Jessica Freeborn

Passionate writer that is enthusiastic about writing engaging, compelling content. Excels in breaking down complex concepts into simple terms and connecting with readers through sharing stories and personal experience.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.