Feast logo

How living on your own changes the food you eat

There's nothing more freeing than living on your own, saying pizza and ice-cream for breakfast, and then turning your life around to making smoothies and having eggs for breakfast

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How living on your own changes the food you eat
Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

One of the most exciting parts of moving away from living at home was the idea that I could eat what I want, when I want. And to some extent this is true. I figure out what my budget is after each of my bills is paid and I curate my meals based on that.

If all I have left is $5, then its a ramen night and I find whatever I can to spice it up. Sometimes it's just hot sauce and some dried red pepper flakes, other times it's egg, kale or spinach, and some chicken to go along.

Coming from the girl who used to microwave string cheese for 45 seconds just to eat melted, salty cheese, living on my own has opened a whole new world of culinary possibilities.

Some days are baking days, making banana bread from scratch or using a pre-packaged mix for a cake or muffins. I'll never forget the first time I baked without using a recipe or guide. I was staying with my sister and her roommates over the break from school, I, for some strange reason, wanted cobbler. I never want cobbler. And to top it off I wasn't going to waste time with an oven. No, no, I was going straight for cobbler in a mug, 2 minutes in the microwave and then sweet heaven.

By Michaela Baum on Unsplash

It was the most exciting thing I'd ever done because it made me feel close to people I had never met, back before following recipes was a thing, our grandmothers just put things together and if it turned out good, great, if not, treat it as a learning process, what to do differently, add less flour, more sugar, more salt, etc.

Savory meals are fun too. Grilled or baked chicken, sides of veggies. My favorite is potatoes and kale with parmesan cheese sprinkled on top. When I moved away from home the first couple of years I didn't have to worry about cooking for myself. I had my meal plan for school and it was buffet style 3 meals a day, 7 days a week. Great options for eating options, not so great for the waistline when you're an emotional eater.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

After, moving back home to Texas, I got an apartment with roommates of my own, I used the potato in as many dishes as I could, Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden (thank you internet for recipes), baked potato soup with bacon bites, baked potato straight up, mashed potatoes, beef stew, you name it. It's a versatile vegetable that can be so simple yet goes with so much.

It's no surprise that cooking for yourself changes how you feel. Like I said, thank you internet, without you I would not have dabbled in recipes for my favorite Thai cuisine or found recipes that are health conscious.

That's not to say my parents did not have us eating healthy alternatives. As far as sugary cereal goes, Raisin Bran and Frosted Mini Wheats were a treat in our household. But, we still managed to be over weight in our family and that always bothered me. I promised myself that if I moved out and lived on my own that things would change, and now, 5 years later they have.

By biggest piece of advice, that I learned from watching an ex-boyfriend cook, is to not be afraid when you get into the kitchen. Look at the ingredients you have, and throw them together. Use your basics, think back to what you parents have made for you in the past and what you really enjoyed. I'll never forget the lobster omelet he put together fearlessly or the pan fried chicken I would have never thought to of made or the simple baked chicken with canned mushroom soup.

By Keriliwi on Unsplash

Don't be afraid to replace items either. The first time I ever made spaghetti tacos, which I have seen a few others make recently, I was in my first apartment, and in desperate need of spaghetti but mostly the garlic bread. Oh how I love garlic bread. I didn't have any bread, only flour tortilla's from the last taco night I had had or was planning on having. I buttered and seasoned the tortillas like it was garlic bread, put it in the oven with the broiler on for about 1-2 minutes, cooked up my spaghetti and put it all together.

I enjoy art and culinary art for the simple fact that the possibilities are endless, if you just want simple go simple, if you want to create the greatest 5 course meal of your life, do that. Like everything in life, have fun with what you do, explore new recipes, utilize what you didn't even know you had learned from your parents up till being on your own, and make something wonderful!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.