Feast logo

Eat In With M

Meijer's dine in

By Pearl ThomasPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cheers

There’s nothing to do. I am getting bored after playing a lot of scrabble or solitaire. I glanced out my window......

The weather seemed welcoming: Hot Sun, noonday rain and a cool breeze. I hesitated to leave home. People began to walk past your house when you decide maybe to take a scroll. I usually jog down to the corner store. Italian food is a favorite.

Suddenly, I exit on foot to a neighbors house. I needed a ride. Somewhere. Anywhere. I like to cruise around choosing the best place to relax. I have not eaten therefore I chose a store quite a distance from us. It’s about 40 miles. The ride will do us good.

7:05 pm

We scampered in the three of us girls wearing shorts of a kind: Blue jean, knickers and gym shortees. Two heads of hair are dyed with neither complementing the other. Her hair is red, someone’s else is copper brown and mine is silver blonde. Anyway, I hope no one would notice us laid back. People socially dress like us all the time, you know.

We headed to the eating section attempting not to buy any gadgets or shoes or toys at all. Hunger being more important, we desired chicken tenders, tamales, Wingdings, fries, macaroni with cheese alongside Waldorf salad. If unwritten on a menu, they didn’t have that, we will be satisfied by pizza and Greek salads. Olives are my favorite.

Before selecting an order, a young man approached the table. He studied us- appearances. He could be approximately no more than 22 years old. He made a comment.

“ You ladies must be out for a late afternoon snack. Will pizza do? We are having a special. All pizzas, salad or fries are five dollars tonight. Where are you from? Give me your order.....I’d like to take your order now. Or do you need more time to decide?”

The slender, tall young man wearing diner hat with an apron wore white shirt accented by khakis. He did seem to favor us. He didn’t judge us critically. Well, I made a joke to lighten things up. All of us are laughing having a good time for another ten to fifteen minutes. I concluded saying:

“ Good thing you have a menu here at M...We drove from another state...At least, it feels like it. Whatdoya have for a 40 mile chill?...Nachos, barbecue or do you sale tacos in this place? You can tell we’re hungry right? You would be too! ...Right.”

He dismissed with a large order. When he returned, Xavier’s food caused us to see double. Somehow, each one of us received their special that includes fries, a large pizza, two colas, 1 icee andeven a three pound bucket of salad. The condiments included macaroni that is free. We’re surprised except that will help on the way home. No one either works or working tomorrow. Later, I am going to sleep in until noonday.

We ate aplenty. Everyone waved to the waiter who served us, goodbye. We decided to split whatever is leftover from our trip. The attitudes changed the pace going home. Body language is calmer as feet pranced outside. In the car, no one barely talked because dinner left us quiet. I stared out window leaning onto the car seat sideways. I figured a seatbelt would still operate. Passing through, I looked at everything I could. Such as, a lost puppy sniffing about the grass, birds flying midair as well as various trees along with flower gardens.

10:00pm

By the time, I returned home. I rather give most of the food to my neighbor. I just contemplated a plate for in the morning. I hugged them heading to my house. I bathed crashing onto a sofa to watch Jeopardy. Due to a dismay,I fell asleep. I don’t have more energy. So with sounds in my ear from the television game show, I closed thine eyes.

6:00am

I cannot wait to call someone to tell them about the adventure.

The End.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.