Feast logo

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker

Owner Of The Twist In Columbia

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker, restaurant owner of The Twist in Columbia, SC. Chef Walker will be partnering with area farmers to give back to families in need. Mr. Walker plans to honor the surrounding community and a new year in the restaurant business just in time for Thanksgiving with a free buffet of fresh vegetables for the families to create their favorite dishes. The overall plan is for November 21st to be a very special day in the midland area of Columbia, SC for families who stop by The Twist.

The Twist is a family restaurant that has become a regional sensation in Columbia. The restaurant has been open for three years. A normal day at the Twist consists of lines outside of the door on any given weekend with people of all ages and backgrounds. Walker, in turn, greets all with a smile to fulfill his mission of customer fulfillment as a chef.

Notable Achievements

National Food Truck Winner

Thomas Breakfast Battle Grand Champ

1st National Food Title in SC

Guinness World Record's Most Expensive Crab

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker

Tammy Reese:

What intrigued you to become a chef?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

My mom used to cook ordinary foods but with a Twist. One of my favorites was her cinnamon-flavored chicken tenders. From there I saw that I could use my vast imagination to create whatever I desired.

Tammy Reese:

What unique specialty sets you apart from other chefs?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

One unique specialty that I have on my side is my imagination and love of researching. I get inspired by so many things that aren't even related to food. I take the normal and find a way to make it unbelievable.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about your career?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

What I love most about my career is the ability to make people come together through food. Some great conversations and even opportunities can happen over a shared meal. I also love the fact that it allows me to give jobs to others in my company.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

The pandemic has definitely changed life but it hasn't been bad. It has actually brought more awareness to our restaurant and we have had some great giving back events.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

Some of the most memorable moments in my career would definitely have to be winning a national food truck award in 2016 beating all 50 states, Winning a Guinness World Record for my $310 Platinum Crab Cake. I was also a virtual guest in the Tamron Hall Show. I was recently on GGG on Food Network.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about the launch party.

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

The launch party is for my 2nd App(my baby). It gives you a sense of augmented reality with a taste of 3-D imagery. I plan to have a soft launch at my restaurant for local entrepreneurs to network using virtual business cards.

Tammy Reese:

How are you making an impact on your community?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

Every year I allow the local girl scouts to set up in front of the store. I held a voting drive this year. I also do a shoe drive for the less fortunate every December. I'm in the process of working on a free produce drive in November.

Tammy Reese:

What is some valuable advice you have for anyone who wants to become a chef?

Chef Lazarius "Ken" Walker:

I would definitely have to say research your craft in its entirety. Food is only part of it. Study the financial side, customer service, and marketing.

Be sure to follow Chef Lazarius Ken Walker on Instagram.

You can also follow The Twist on Instagram.

interview
1

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.