Feast logo

Antonio Phillips

Celebrity Chef

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Chef Phill (Photo Credit: Macula Vision Media, LLC.)

Celebrity Chef Antonio Phillips

Chef Phill discovered his passion for Culinary Arts after having what many may consider a "successful" career path. After high school he enrolled in the military and proudly served in Operation Iraqi Freedom. After his service he obtained a job with the United States Postal Service. He enjoyed his job but he knew something was missing. He decided to try something different and began looking into a second career. Interested in cooking and impressed with his father's well established career in restaurant management, he felt right at home while studying Culinary Arts at the renowned Le Cordon Bleu School of Culinary Arts. He obtained his certification in Culinary Arts in 2011. Chef Phill journey into culinary arts has lead to to be named, "One of Atlanta's Hottest's Newest Chef's" by Travel Noire. Chef Phill has been featured on WE TV's Braxton Family Values, in "Keys to the City" shown on BET Networks. He has been featured in many magazines and is extremely grateful for his success.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Chef Phill (Photo Credit: Macula Vision Media, LLC.)

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into Culinary Arts?

Chef Phill:

While working at the Post Office I was interested in going back to school and I decided to try Culinary Arts because I thought it would be a good second career option. This was a natural choice for me due to my family being full of great cooks.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Chef Phill:

I love that it gives me the opportunity to work independently and I really love seeing my clients happy with the meals that I prepared.

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Chef Phill:

One of the most memorable moments in my career has been cooking with my friend Chef Joe for Diddy’s Super Bowl party in Atlanta. So many celebrities were there that night, it was surreal.

Tammy Reese:

Thank you for your service!

How do you use your military experience in the work that you do today?

Chef Phill:

I still try to implement the core values in my service to my clients. Loyalty. Duty. Respect. Honor. Integrity. Selfless Service. Personal Courage.

Tammy Reese:

What was your experience like being featured on Braxton Family Values?

Chef Phill:

Being featured on the Braxton’s was dope! That was my first time being featured on a major network. The Braxton family was down to earth and they made me feel right at home in the kitchen and on the set.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Chef Phill:

The biggest change and blessings has been that I get more time home with my family. I also have had more time to work on new recipes. I also started doing more virtual cooking classes and couple date nights via Zoom.

Tammy Reese:

How did Fearless Life Magazine come about?

Chef Phill:

I am a contributing writer for His Favor Magazine and the Founder, Shenee Woodson offered my wife, Teneshia and I the opportunity to start a new magazine under His Favor Publishing.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Chef Phill:

I am planning to expand my brand by adding more merchandise that will be helpful for my clients in their at home Chef-ish journeys.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Chef Phill:

My cookbook and more cooking classes from Chef Phill University.

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would give to anyone who aspires to become a Celebrity Chef?

Chef Phill:

Do not give up on the craft. Get out and network with new people. I would also tell them to don’t be afraid to leave their comfort zone to go after their dreams and if it’s God’s plan it will happen!

Be on the look out for Fearless Life Magazine. The go-to faith-based magazine that enlightens individuals on how to live an empowered life. Debuting January 2021.

interview
2

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.