Feast logo

A Foodies Guide To International Vegetarian/Vegan Cuisine

Five of the greatest internatioanl vegetarian restaurants that I recommend you to visit in the Greater Toronto Area

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
7

Are you currently a vegetarian or vegan? Do you have friends and family who are vegetarians or vegans? Are you on the path to becoming a vegetarian or vegan but don't know where to begin? If so, I have the best solution to your problem!

Over the years, vegetarian and vegan cuisine has become a natural part of our family, even if we did not perceive ourselves as authentic vegetarians or vegans. My mom was not so fond of vegetarian and vegan cuisine, so my dad used to take my brother and I to various types of vegetarian restaurants in the city. For religious reasons, my dad did not consume meat that was not kosher but was confident with eating anything else. After my dad divorced my mother and lived on his own, he became more flexible with his diet. He started to feel comfortable going into unkosher restaurants, as long as he did not consume meat or dairy dishes that contained any type of meat or shellfish. At one point, he started to have a passion for vegetarian cuisine and introduced my brother and I to international and western vegetarian cuisine, which I found fulfilling and pleasant. In addition to enjoying and savouring vegetarian dishes from asian countries such as China and Vietnam, we also had the opportunity to explore other vegetarian restaurants from around the world such as India.

Since Toronto is a vast and multicultural city with lots of things to do and enjoy, there are heaps of international restaurants that serve non-vegetarian, vegetarian and vegan dishes in various Toronto neighbourhoods such as Chinatown and Little India. Many of the vegetarian restaurants that my dad used to take my brother and I were situated in the Kensington Market neighbourhood since it was only a short drive from his house. As I got older, my love for vegetarian and vegan food increased, making me more open to cooking and eating more vegetarian dishes such as Potato Masala, Daal, and Veggie Duck. The constant exposure to vegetarian and vegan cuisine also regained my desire to eat beans, develop a passion for the new-age and the Indian cultures and lifestyles.

Take a look at my top 5 favourite vegetarian and vegan restaurants to plan your next dinner date, night for take-out and delivery in the Greater Toronto Area!

1. Annapurna- Downtown Toronto

Annapurna was the first Indian vegetarian restaurant I visited with my mom and grandmother in the summer of 2007. My grandmother and my mom didn't typically eat Indian food, whether it was vegetarian or not. However, this place happened to be an exception for them after my mom was the first to discover this place. Until my brother and I were teenagers, my mom did not consume meat that was not kosher, which made her open more doors to visiting local vegetarian and vegan eateries for lunch or dinner. Annapurna is an extremely welcoming atmosphere with new age music in the background, bright plants and metaphysical illustrations that soundproof the restaurant, friendly and outgoing staff and colorful walls that create an enchanted look inside. One of my favourite dishes here was the Potato Masala, which I recommend ordering during your meal at Annapurna. If you are the type of person that adores Indian cuisine but doesn't necessarily consume meat or dairy for whatever reason, Annapurna is the place to visit!

Address: 1085 Bathurst Street, Toronto, ON M5R 3G8

Phone #: 416-537-8513

2. King's Cafe in Kensington Market, Toronto

This place brings me back to memory lane. King's Cafe was the very first Asian vegetarian restaurant that I dined-in with my dad and brother in June 2007. The first time I entered King's Cafe, I was in heaven; the atmosphere was super calming, the staff were very polite, the place was very clean and hygienic and the food was scrumptious and addictive. I have been to King's Cafe multiple times during the youth and my family never had a problem. Nothing about the atmosphere and culture has changed, except for when it was renovated at one point, creating a more modern feel to the restaurant. My dad did not live far from Kensington Market, so this was one of our go-to places for when we were craving vegetarian food. If you happen to be in Kensington Market and are craving some good vegetarian food, come to King's Cafe. You will want to come back after your first visit.

Address: 192 Augusta Avenue, Toronto, ON M5T 2L6

Phone #: 416-591-1340

3. Udupi Palace in Downtown, Toronto

Udupi Palace is another childhood treasure of mine. This was the second Indian vegetarian restaurant that I visited with my dad and his good friend in July 2007. What I liked most about this spot were the statues that stood in front of the windows, the shopping centre-like resemblance, the caring and friendly waiters and best of all, the great food cooked by talented and likeable chefs! It was more like entering a large Indian temple and a food court built in as opposed to a restaurant, because the place was spacious and very holy. The murals, the statues, the style of seating, the white tile floors gave it a spiritual ambience. Regarding the food, there were only a few dishes that I considered my favourites because I did not like spicy food. Whenever I attempted to try spicy food, I always had to wash it down with water because my mouth would be hot as flames. I loved the Potato Masala and the Dosas, which are the two main dishes that I recommend for people that don't like spicy food. Udupi Palace is an ideal restaurant to visit with your friends, family and even by yourself for a satisfying and delectable Indian vegetarian meal.

Address: 1460 Gerrard Street East, Toronto, ON M4L 2A3

Phone #: 416-405-8189

4. The Graceful Vegetarian in Scarborough, Ontario

During my first trip to the Pacific Mall in the spring of 2009, this was the second Chinese vegetarian restaurant that I visited with my brother and my father. My brother was the first one to discover and suggest the Pacific Mall, so we drove to the Pacific Mall to shop around and enjoy a meatless dinner out. The second time I visited was with my dad's girlfriend, her family, my dad, my brother and I for dinner before my dad, my brother and I left for a short-trip to New York for a few days during the holidays. Although I haven't been here as often as I desired, I speak and think very highly of this place. The atmosphere is elegant and exquisite, and the food is delicious and great for people that love both Chinese and vegetarian food. I do not remember exactly what the staff were like, but I don't ever recall having a problem with the staff or overall place every time I visited. Whether you live in the area or are day-tripping to the Pacific Mall, it is worth coming to Graceful Vegetarian restaurant for a pleasant meal out with family and friends.

Address: 4675 Steeles Avenue East, Scarborough, ON M1V 0B7

Phone #: 905-479- 8381

5. Buddha's Vegetarian in Downtown, Toronto

Can't you believe this restaurant has been operating since 1991?! Buddha's Vegan Restaurant came to life five-seven years before my brother and I were born. Although this may not be the most welcoming environment for some people, this Chinese vegetarian joint in the downtown Toronto area is worth visiting. My dad and I visited here regularly for dinner and we have never had issues. My dad lived very closed to this eatery, so it was convenient for him and I to occasionally drive here. I loved most of their mock meat entrees, the sticky rice and soup dishes such as the Wonton Soup and the Veggie Duck which are considered two of my favourite to order at Buddha's Vegan Restaurant. The dishes are enough for two people, so you can either share the food with your family and friends or take the leftovers home. It's been a long time since I have visited Buddha's Vegan Restaurant, however the staff here are reasonable and the atmosphere is calming and less chaotic. I don't mind the atmosphere being more like a Chinese take-out joint, even if some people don't favour that kind of atmosphere. If you want to dine-in or take out but want somewhere casual and convenient, Buddha's Vegan Restaurant is your best bet.

Address: 666 Dundas Street West, Toronto, ON M5T 1H9

Phone #: 416-603-3811

As an adult, I continue to visit multiple vegetarian restaurants in the Greater Toronto Area with friends, family or even by myself when I am not in the mood to cook some nights. Thankfully, I have the chance to enjoy vegetarian and vegan cuisine in Thornhill, now that there are many more vegetarian and vegan eateries compared to when I was younger. I even cook vegetarian and vegan food at home, now that I stock up on tofu, beans and Yve's meatless cold cuts. My diet mainly consists of vegetarian, pescetarian or vegan dishes, except for special occasions or when I get my weekly take-out, meals out or delivery from local restaurants.

I suggest reading this blog for whenever you need some recommendations on good, local and convenient vegetarian restaurants to visit. Don't forget to send a tip, like, share this blog and follow me on Instagram @naturalbibliophile22 to connect with me outside of Vocal! Visit my public profile to read more of my Vocal stories and stay tuned for more awesome stories! Cheers and namaste to all of my friends around the world!

By Damir Spanic on Unsplash

vegetarian
7

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.