Feast logo

A European Food Tour Without the Meat

you don't have to be stuck with the same nasty options trust me

By HollyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Being a Vegetarian/Vegan or having any sort of dietary restrictions while travelling can be a bit of a challenge honestly. Places like Europe tend to be pretty good with non-meat based options but it can still be hard to find things while "on-the-go" all the time. Depending on how you like to travel.

These are just some of the foods I found while exploring Europe that I genuinely enjoyed as an extremely picky Vegetarian who really doesn't like most things. Sounds boring, I know, but I'm still proud of what I found and have grown overly fond of.

I honestly can't describe this dish fairly. When I saw it for the first time, I was extremely skeptical as a naturally picky eater but I had no choice as the restaurant only had one vegetarian option. I built up the courage to try it and I can say that it was a worthwhile experience.

I've found that things like croquettes and stews can actually be a great change to the amalgamation of vegetarian options that you will encounter during your travels. The whole dish made me feel a lot healthier surprisingly considering the main fried aspect - but I was eating tons of vegetables so I can't complain. (This was taken in Stockholm, Sweden)

Of course wherever you go you will be able to find the staples for all vegetarians. Bread, pasta, etc. There's not a lot of variety while travelling anywhere to be frank. So this may be appealing or off-putting as usual but this pasta dish got me through a rough night of finding nothing I could eat in a Dutch hotel.

While it's hard to recommend since I got the meal in a hotel restaurant at midnight, I would still like to say that something so simple can be a huge asset in your mildly unhealthy travel diet. Just throw some vegetables on some noodles and you're honestly set. (This was taken in Amsterdam, Netherlands)

This is definitely one of my favourite things I found in Europe. Rather than getting the normal Döner that is pretty much all meat and bread, I found that the same concept - substituted with falafel - is way better. You can pretty much add whatever you want (I had close to nothing but there are tons of sauces and vegetables) and it is still iconic German cuisine.

You can find this sort of thing anywhere in Germany - among many other places - and the quality is always reminiscent of a good drunk 2 AM comfort food on the street kinda night. (This was taken in Berlin, Germany)

Now this isn't exactly a "meal" in my opinion but it was pretty much a meal. The simple combination of coffee and a Danish Danish can really tie together a great/tiring day of walking and sightseeing for hours. Not in the healthiest way of course, but who cares.

I have no clue where this came from or who made it but it was pretty damn good to say the least. I saw a lot of this kind of things travelling in Scandinavia honestly. I don't really understand the 'cake at noon' concept but I would like to adopt that into my own culture. (This was taken in a cafe in Copenhagen, Denmark)

Considering how hard it can be sometimes as a Vegetarian/Vegan (also being someone as picky as I am) to find meals in different countries or new places in general, I'd say this kind of thing is fairly substantial for breakfast or mid-afternoon. This croissant was actually one of my favourite things I found in Amsterdam just because of the quality and simplicity honestly.

The Dutch really know their stuff. Not to mention how kind and welcoming most stores and restaurants feel when walking in as a foreigner. Plus, most people were able to communicate in English despite how much I wanted to learn their languages.

It's a pastry with butter and jam, how could you go wrong with that? (This was taken in Amsterdam, Netherlands)

While it doesn't look like much, this Russian meal (most likely Americanized considering how English friendly the place was but I won't judge) included some sort of dried herb bread that I can't for the life of me explain. I can just say that it was delicious in the strangest way. The entire meal was made up of various appetizers which is quite typical for vegetarians/vegans travelling abroad. This is only a sample of the spread that isn't shown here.

Tons of bread, vegetable mixes and things that can't be described well enough in English. Confusing yet absolutely worth it. (This is a restaurant located in Saint Petersburg, Russia)

As promised, this absolute delicacy - Currywurst - can be enjoyed by all since it is actually Vegan. You can find Vegan Wurst all over Germany and I'd say it is probably just as good as the original (I know that's not entirely accurate since I've never tried the original but trust me, it's very very good).

The whole composition of the meal is the same except for the Vegan sausage replacement - also paired with the usual thick a** fries with ketchup and mayo. "Currywurst mit Pommes rot-weiss."

If you're ever in Berlin - go to Dom Curry and just have yourself a day. (This was taken in Berlin, Germany)

travel
Like

About the Creator

Holly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.