Families logo

Your Child During Quarantine

How to keep them entertained

By Virginia ShefcykPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is a scary time for all of us. We worry for our family, our friends, and ourselves. This time can be scary for not only us, but for our children. Everything has changed so quickly in their lives. They have gone from a steady and consistent routine, to uncertainty in their lives. What we do as parents can really help how our children are effected during this time. As a parent myself, I have seen how much these sudden changes have changed my child and his behavior.

I decided that I would compile a list of things my child would enjoy doing so that we could continue to stimulate his mind(minus the obvious homeschooling), and some new things that he might enjoy doing. So I got him involved in the planning. I asked him what he would like to do and gave him some suggestions as well. This is what we came up with.

Playground: Now I know the playground seems like somewhere you'd want to avoid, but I feel that if you and your child wear a mask, they can still have fun and enjoy the time that they have there. I have seen plenty of parents doing this and it is a place that your child probably feels most comfortable. When I took my son to his favorite playground, I saw some excitement in him that I haven't seen in a while. He was bouncing in his seat and kept saying how bad he wanted to go on the slide. He got his wish and not only did it make his day better, but he also had a much better nighttime routine.

Hiking: Yes, you can take your child or children hiking. It doesn't have to be a really big and crazy hike. There are a lot of hiking trails that are kid friendly, you just have to look for them. I have taken my son hiking in the past, we haven't done it yet this year, but its always a fun time. He most enjoys the waterfall at the end of the trail. This is great for kids because it gives them an opportunity to be in nature, to explore, and to get some much needed Vitamin D. As always, make sure to check you and your family for ticks after completing the trail.

Cooking/baking: This is a super fun and educational idea. I love finding new recipes to do and really enjoy seeing how excited it gets my son. You can find recipes on search engines such as Google and Bing, or you can look on apps such as Pinterest, Tasty, and Delish. I would highly recommend using Tasty. They always have very clear and descriptive instructions as well as video. Cooking and baking is a great way to teach your child about measurements!

At home "movie theater": For the rainy days, or the days you just don't feel up to going outside(we all have those days), you can do an at home movie theater. All you need to do for this one is pick a movie or a few movies, get out your favorite movie snacks(popcorn, candy, juice), and set the room. I recommend putting the snacks in an old shoe box or basket to really make it fun. The plus side in this, is you can pause for bathroom breaks(we all know it will happen, haha).

The most important thing to remember in all of this, is that we will get through it. Things will slowly return to normal, and we will get back into our normal routines. All that matters right now is that we protect ourselves and our family. There are a lot more ideas of fun ways to get out, or stay in, with the kids. Finding more ideas is easy, you can search online, ask a friend, or come up with some things in the house that can keep them entertained(like counting buttons and putting them in a jar). I hope this helps some of you, be safe and stay well.

children
Like

About the Creator

Virginia Shefcyk

Hello! I am a mom to a little boy and a girl, an avid reader, and a lover of all things that make myself and others happy. Writing is the best way to express my feelings on life, love, and anything I'm passionate about. Hope you enjoy!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.