Families logo

Young, Pregnant and Injured During Covid-19

My story

By Em EmPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I am 19 years old and just over a month ago I found out that I am expecting. My partner and I married when I was 18 years old, but we were not planning a child for another few years. We are both post-secondary school students, work part-time jobs and rent a small one-bedroom space.

I was five weeks into my pregnancy when I found out. My partner wanted some wine one night, I didn’t feel like having any, just the thought of having a glass made me feel ill. I am not a big drinker, but I would enjoy a glass once in a while. I felt that something was not right about my body. I was sure that my menstrual cycle was simply a few days late this month. I decided to do a quick pregnancy test to confirm. When I saw the positive result on the test I began to tremble from shock, I went to show it to my partner. I had no words, he began to tremble as well, we hugged and kissed. I wasn’t sure to cry from happiness or fear, I wasn’t sure what to feel or do. The next few days we were both stressed. How will we tell our parents? Sure we are married but they wouldn’t think that we will have a child this early on. How will we afford a bigger space? How about children’s belongings? Can we continue our education?

A few days go by and our emotions drastically change from fear to excitement. When we transitioned to looking forward to having a child, our energy level shifted. We became more active and start planning ways to strengthen ourselves mentally and financially.

We were at first not planning to share our news with our parents right away. We originally planned to first figure “everything” out (such as finance, place to live, school, job, etc.) Life clearly doesn’t go as planned.

A week later I went on a bike ride. It so happened that I fell off it. It wasn’t a light fall. My two younger siblings were with me, they didn’t know the news yet. I couldn’t get up to my feet, my foot was pain. I was in panic, I was crying so hard that I could barely breathe. My sisters were confused “Your foot hurts that much?” They asked. Yes, the pain I had in my foot felt beyond just a twist or strong hit. But hat was not why I was crying. I called my partner, he was at work. I told him that I fell off my bike, my foot is probably broken, I would need an x-ray but I can’t get an x-ray and I am worried that my hard fall hurt our baby. He did not understand half of what I said, because as I mentioned, I was in panic mode (talking and crying at the same time). All he heard apparently was I fell, needed x-ray, the baby…

My partner arrived from work to where I was in less than half the time it usually takes him to do so. He carried me to the car. My sisters were confused why all this panic over a broken foot. My partner took me to the hospital. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic I had to go into the ER alone. I forgot my phone at home, I was in the ER for over two hours. I did not want to risk it by getting an x-ray. The doctor said that I might have a fracture or it might even be broken. He put me in an air boot which I am to wear for a total of two months. Thankfully the baby was fine.

My mom was concerned why I didn’t get an x-ray, I told her the truth. We told his parents shortly after. Both sides took the news a bit better than expected.

I work as a bus girl at a restaurant. Most restaurants require non-slip safety boots to work. The air boot does not meet the requirement. Which means I will be off work for some time.

During my first ultrasound my husband wasn't allowed into the room. These are unstable times.

Everything is happening so fast. Some days I feel overwhelmed, there is a lot to figure out. At the end I know and keep reminding myself that even though things are tough right now and will get tougher, at the end all that matters is that my child will be happy and healthy. We are working towards staying strong for our baby next Spring.

Like what you read? Please consider leaving a like, sharing with family and leaving a tip! A little bit goes a long way and is highly appreciated.

Check out my other stories about my life!

Jackpot On Dating Site

An Unpopular Opinion From A Married Teenager

We Survived To The Six Month Milestone Of Our Young Marriage

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Em Em

She is Canadian, young and dramatic.

Em’s work is inspired by her life.

She writes whatever comes to mind.

Find her on Instagram @em.em.hehe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.